We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful...stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Ranked #31 of 135 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
“Awful...stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Used shampoo bottles, tv did not work well, lack of amenities, and the shuttle that was advertised was only for the purposes of taking you to the restaurant, not the falls itself.

There was a fight in the room on our floor and no staff came to see what was happening.
The view was sketchy at best....please save yourself the heartache.

To add insult to injury because I booked through hotels.com, they claimed to be unable to help with the booking, since we had booked online....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    1,124
    657
    393
    391
See reviews for
956
1,866
54
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (920)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanticoke
Level Contributor
123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Booked direct with hotel using voucher from Travelzoo. Awesome deal! $139 for a Friday night stay. Included fabulous dinner at Remington's, breakfast at Applebee's,and $50 Seneca Casino credit. We upgraded for $30, and got a beautiful two room suite with jacuzzi tub. Our 19th corner suite gave us a perfect view of the fireworks at 9 pm.
We have stayed at most of the surrounding hotels, but this is by far the best!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nanticoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We took my in laws on this one night get away to the falls.. the rooms overlook the falls and on the 14th floor there is additional areas for taking photos.
One of the rooms was handicapped accessible and had the wheel in shower, bars to assist with getting up and down in the washroom and only 1 bed so the electric chair had room to maneuver.This room was very nice and up to date.
Our 2nd room was a regular room and it felt as if you walked right into the washroom when you came in the door. The room itself was average, but the falls view is spectacular and that is what is important.
Neither room had a mini fridge:(
The shuttles are not accessible, but we had no trouble finding our way around and the staff was very helpful.
We will return later this week in regular rooms and may be able to add more to this review.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel itself was very affordable considering the view and the size of the rooms.
However, the staff do not offer information unless you ask. I was only given a map of the area upon asking how to move around and was then informed there was a WE GO bus, which never stopped for us thrice, by the way. Useless service and we were standing at the stop but the driver just drove past so we walked to the attractions.

There are pamphlets next to the arcade and some offer you discounts off the attractions. Once again, we weren't informed of this and only discovered it after going for the attractions.

The only disappointment was we showered in cold water and thought the heater was spoilt. Upon asking, the front desk informed some part was being changed in the morning but the water was hot again. There was no prior information to avoid this period of using the shower and it was around 8am in the morning, so alot of people would probably have been up and getting ready. Besides that hiccup of the heater and the hesitant information, people were approachable and hotel was comfortable and beautiful from the Fallsview room

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Other than the great view of the falls i was very disappointed with my stay at this place, went for 2 nights and barely slept as the beds were not very comfortable and the sheets made me so itchy like they had used 6 gallons of bleach to clean them and the mini fridge kept making a high pitched sound every time it turned on, could not watch any of the pay per view movies as the tv was so fuzzy looking when you tried to use the on command channel..and also every time we flushed the toilet i would have to go back a minute later and take the lid of the toilet to stop it from running non stop as well as the coffee maker in the room not staying turned on by itself i would physically have to stand there and hold the button for 10 minutes while it brewed...and on top of all that the halls of the hotel were so cold you needed a coat when you left the room, the heater in the room would blow cold air every 3rd time it kicked on and i had to clean the jaccuzi tub before i could even use it because the first time i tried to fill it there was so much crap floating in the water that i was disgusted by it....i would not stay here again and would not recommend it to any one else, oh and did i mention that it was over $300 for two nights and $15 a night for parking that for some reason was not included in the price to stay there even though it was there own parking lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jheatherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyCrisp, Guest Relations Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We at the Oakes Hotel would like to apologize for the issues you had experienced during your last stay.
It is our Number One Priority to provide impeccable guest service along with comfortable accommodations. With that objective in mind, I would like to sincerely apologize for the maintenance and housekeeping issues you experienced during your last visit. It is never our intent to leave any guest feeling they have not received the service they expect or deserve. Please contact myself directly so we can address the issues appropriately.
My email is ashley@overlookingthefalls.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Loved this hotel! Went for our 5th anniversary and was not disappointed. The only complaint is the shower is super small and doesnt have enough room for your soap and shampoo. But everything else was fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alabama83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a voucher to stay at The Oakes Hotel in Niagara including dinner for two at Remington's, breakfast at Applebees, wine tours, chocolate factory tour; basically we got the room for free. Parking at the hotel is $15.00. This hotel needs to be updated badly BUT at the same time I can't complain as it was free. Its location is very convenient to Fallsview Casino (walking) right next door is Applebees. The pool area was very clean and in fact everything was very clean. Beautiful view of the Falls! The reception was amazing. Everything was organized and we didn't have a problem with anything. I strongly suggest if you should look at sites such as Jaunt.ca; Dealfind and others you will find this deal. There were 54 persons with the same deal. The dinner at Remington's was absolutely fantastic. I had the salmon and my spouse had the steak. Only setback is a glass of wine will cost you $13.00 cdn but the rest of the meal was free which was a $120.00 value. I go to Niagara Falls quite frequently to shop but rarely stay as we only live an hour away but this package far exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have a greater view of the Falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoltonInxtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#11 of 135 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
0.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Property: Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 135 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing