We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“It was a great one night getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Ranked #29 of 135 Hotels in Niagara Falls
1 review
“It was a great one night getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I would recommend to all my friends and family to stay at the Oakes overlooking the falls hotel.
The room was clean and had a very excellent view of the falls. The staff was courteous and friendly. Checkout was easy and quick.
My fiancé and I enjoyed our night very much

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    1,094
    623
    366
    365
See reviews for
874
1,822
53
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (911)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We got a promo offer online to stay 2 nights at The Oakes Overlooking the Falls and the description said stay was in a room overlooking the falls. We were checked in the 5th Floor which had a view of the falls but not a good one. All you see is a glimpse or shadow of the falls because trees covered the sight. The TV set is an old one which doesn't work properly. The furniture set and lamps are outdated, no outlets available to plug in and the heater is noisy, as well the smell is not pleasant. The towels are a little worn-out and there is no microwave. The package included free wifi but it was not easy to get connected. Calls through 1 800 number are charged. m

This is far cry from my expectations and I was really disappointed. I don't think I would like to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you book a room that says overlooking the falls, be sure to ask which floor because they might ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melba621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just got back from staying at the Oakes hotel in Niagara Falls for my 10 year annaversary, check in was good, and view from our room was amazing. Once in the room we turned on the heater and it made so much noise while running, used the toilet and flushed it made so much noise I woke up my wife during the night, I had to help my wife get into and out of the jacuzzi tub because of the horrible design of it, took a shower in the morning and half way threw it I had to stop because the water was not draining properly and was starting to leak out of the shower. Once I checked out I was waiting at the front desk for 5 mins while the staff was outside having a smoke break. Once I told her about the room problems she didn't care or apologies for it. I will never stay here again. I have stayed at many hotels in Niagara Falls and this has been the worst I will never go back there!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Macardaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here in july. This hotel had everything. The rooms were nice, the staff was friendly and the pool and location was great! You have to pay $10 for parking which is expected in NF. This is not a five star however a nice hotel for families. Views of the falls are nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State of Confusion
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

While we were situated on the 2nd floor, our view of the falls wasn't as lovely as it would have been on a higher floor. We asked to move to a higher floor the next day and the hotel was ready to accommodate us but we ended up just staying on the second floor. The hotel is definitely dated and could use an overall freshening up. The pool was fine, the hot tub was fine, the sauna...well, that was really small and a bit creepy looking. We lucked out with parking for the most part. I find most hotel linens to be suspect. The linens here were of no great surprise. The bed, however, was very comfortable.
When we checked in, the staff was wonderful and accommodating. Checking out, the gentleman who was there to answer our questions was brusque and not very pleasant. Thankfully, there was another lady there who could help us.
We had purchased a voucher through travelzoo and didn't plan on staying in our room for very long so it met our needs. Our stay included breakfast at Applebees, dinner at Remingtons, four wine tasting flights at different wineries and Seneca Casino credit. Overall, it was a wonderful package.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OwlTrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I enjoy a frequent weekend getaway in Niagara Falls/Niagara-On-The-Lake. We normally book a package at the Hilton, but we received a gift card for The Oakes so were somewhat forced to stray from our traditional getaway hotel. We were very disappointed with the quality of the hotel almost as soon as we arrived. The woman who checked us in had a terrible attitude. The room was really outdated. No hotels are using the bedding that The Oakes had in the rooms, which indicates they haven't changed the bedding since the 80's...gross! The carpet was old and worn out and they haven't updated their TV's to flat screens yet...It does look like they've put some work into the bathrooms somewhat recently, but could still use better lighting for those of us trying to apply makeup. The room had an interesting layout, but was somewhat a wasteful use of space. The gym was a joke...5 pieces of 20 year old cardio equipment? No thanks. All of these things added together just indicate the property doesn't invest any money in keeping up-to-date. Just an overall icky feeling in there.

The deal was not that great either. We could have paid $50 more and had an additional night at the Hilton with credits for their amazing restaurants. Not to mention that the entire hotel was awoken by the fire alarm going off twice between 3 & 4AM with no gesture or apology to the guests whose sleep was interrupted. Poor customer relations!

It offered a great view of the falls...but is not attached to the casino so you have to walk outside in the mist (not a huge issue since you're right next door but the mist is cold any other time of year but summer). ...The Hilton is attached to the casino :)

We ate at their property-owned restaurant as part of our package, Remingtons. Below-average food in a cheesy atmosphere with singing servers. Yikes.

Hilton, we miss you and can't wait to book our next weekend getaway there. If we receive another gift card for The Oakes we will be looking to get rid of it somehow rather than using it again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TOAdventureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Purchased a travel voucher through Travelzoo. Was excited to getaway from the kids for a weekend. Upon check in, had to park in unsecure parking around back, not many spaces there. The room was outdated, extremely dirty including stained carpet and comforter. Carpet was shredded in a couple of places and may be the original. Bathtub fawcet leaked and was incredibly annyoing when trying to sleep. HOtel smelled too!!!! Beds are old and saggy and not comfortable to sleep in. To top it off, FIREALARM at 3:20 am and had to vacate for 30 min into the misty rain of the falls.

However, the beauty of the falls was great. Too bad the Oakes really doesn't get credit for the natural beauty.

Don't stay here. Pay a bit more and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frazandtina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#12 of 135 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Property: Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 135 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing