We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The view was better than we could have hoped for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Ranked #34 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Alabaster, Alabama
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The view was better than we could have hoped for!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Okay, we did our research on Trip Advisor and yes there are good reviews and bad reviews for everything. We looked at staying at one of the more expensive hotels right on the falls and the price would have been double what we paid for at the Oakes. So we made reservations. (After reading the reviews I had my own reservations, but we were talking about saving about $500!) On the way up to Canada my husband and I both were afraid of what we were going to walk into but wouldn't say it aloud to get the other more apprehensive. We were too early for check in so the lady at the desk "Pre;checked" us in, gave us a paking pass and asked us to come back in a couple of hours. I requested a room as high as we could get and she said "I'll try my best" - I remembered reading from other post to make sure you get a "Fallsview" not Falls side" and up as high as possible.- So....we come back after driving around and looking at the scenery and ....We got our room keys and went up to our 19th floor room, on the corner with windows and both sides! It was a King suite (I have lived in town homes smaller than this!) which had a seperate living room with TV and a sofa that makes out into a bed. Then you turn the corner (which would be great if you had little ones because it gives you a little bit more privacy at night (sadly for our daughter she had to stay home - this was "our time") Then you see a large bathroom with a two person whirlpool and separate shower. There were even swans made out of towels like when you are on cruise! When you walk into the main bedroom you have a small fridge and a king size bed and two walls of windows with a panoramic view of both the US and Canadain falls. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. yes it did not have the newest bedspread pattern. But that is not what we came here for - we came for the view and convienence - and we got more than we could have hoped for!
P.S. Megan and Ted at the front desk were extremely helpful and nice!

Room Tip: Make usre you get "Fallsview" and not "falls side" Get up as high as possible t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rposey6844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    1,376
    854
    505
    512
See reviews for
1,269
2,368
62
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,002)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights despite the fact that everyone gives it a thumbs down. I guess you all just had a really bad timing and a bad choice of paying less for what you expect. I took a King Premier fallsview Jacuzzi suite and made a request to be placed on a higher floor.. guess what? they placed me on 1716 which is a corner room where the view is fantastic!! the room was clean and the staff were very friendly and thoughtful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
343 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The upper floors have a view of the Falls surpassed by none. Then consider the rate of $239 per night including all taxes plus one breakfeast and one steak dinner and you can't go wrong with the hotel. It is within walking distance of the falls as well as the casino.

Room Tip: Look for the special on floors 14 and above which has falls view + king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garnett h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had the Gourmet Getaway Package (thru Living Social) and it was all so nice. The Oaks is clean, quiet and in a super location. All of the employees were very helpful. We arrived early, but they let us park the car and gave us our vouchers for our wine and chocolate tour's / tasting's. Dinner at Remington's was excellent and the view of the lighted falls from the observation floor was so relaxing afterwards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariettaOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Staff at the Oaks are very well professionaland well informed. The parking is a little expensive however everything else makes up for it. Renningtons is a great place to dine, Applebees food and selection makes the visit very enjoyable. The staff at Fallsview Casino are very pleasant and helpful. Determine your limit before you go and great fun is virtually quaranteed. The 3-4 walk to the Casino is a treat. We will be enjoying our third two night stay in the near future.

Room Tip: Fallsview side is a must! Even lower rooms have a satisfactory view. The lounge area on the 14th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We saw the deal on Living social and based on the reviews we booked it. We will NEVER stay here again. We notified them that we would be a late check in because of the travel time from Wisconsin, and it seemed like no problem. When we arrived, BIG problem. We had to find someone to help us because no one was at the front desk. She was out back smoking and talking to friends on her phone. After signing all the paperwork and getting our packet of information we were checked in. I specifically asked how the living social deal worked and the response I got was it's all in the packet and she turned and walked into the office. I wanted to know if we needed to go eat now because our meal ticket was only good for certain nights. Come to find out later, after they closed, it was only good for that night and we could have made it if she had given us more information.

There are enough elevators even when it's super busy. The hallway was discussing with a big black marker writing on the wall and visible dirt on the windows, carpet and shelf. The room was ok, the "view of the falls" was a JOKE. We were on the 7th floor and couldn't see the falls at all. We saw the lights of the falls but that's about it. The beds were somewhat hard, but all in all, it's a room to sleep and that's it.

The next morning we walked over to Rosie's to have breakfast (according to our voucher), and all the doors were locked and signs were off but the times clearly said from 9am to 11am on our info packet and on their business sign. We asked the hotel staff located next to Rosie's and they were very helpful in calling the business and our hotel. According to Rosie's they close when they don't have enough people, even if it's not closing time yet. The hotel staff at The oaks acted like we were idiots and said "well of course they're going to close if no people are coming in." I was livid and asked what the point of having vouchers and a meal plan if everything is closed or they don't work. No apology what's so ever, they just said that we could use it at Applebee's instead for an extra fee. Heck no! So that was it, I had enough. We threatened to give bad reviews to living social and trip advisor and even with that they didn't care. Finally a "manager" came out and called over to Applebee's to have them use our voucher but still no apology.

What was supposed to be a fun mother/daughter trip turned into lots of fighting with the staff.

Room Tip: Stay at the casino instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smilesunshine57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Tuscany
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Tired decor. Nice views of the Falls but only from the upper floors (which they charge more for).

Hideous bedspreads. Slow lifts. Mediocre staff.

And nasty, nasty built-in plastic bathroom (last seen in motels around late Seventies!)

Good breakfast in Applebee's next door tho'...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CupletBalsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Property: Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing