We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a total revamp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Ranked #37 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Needs a total revamp”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Falls are amazing and this hotel is in a great location but that is the only positive comment I can make. We were on a tour and this was definately the worst hotel of the three we stayed in.
The reception looks very nondescript, none of the staff are in uniform, the corridor carpet is awful, dirty and tatty, the rooms are very shabby, bedcover had a hole in it, one of the lamps was hanging off. The view of the falls is only visible from the higher floors, otherwise you have to make do with the car park view. The ice making machine was outside our room and made a terrible racket as the door to that room was missing. We mentioned it to the staff who turned the machine off but then we realised there was also a generator outside making a racket so we were no better off. All the sound in the corridor echoed into the rooms. All in all a very noisy hotel, bought some earplugs to get some sleep. Would not reccomend to anyone.

Room Tip: As high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 41Dolly26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    1,473
    912
    542
    568
See reviews for
1,415
2,499
68
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,040)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just seen other reviews for this hotel and agree with them. Stayed 4 nights from Sept 1st. Room dark and drab. So were bedclothes and furniture which especially chairs and lampshades (which were also broken), were dirty. Carpet dirty and worn. Shower broken. Name spelt wrong on check in (despite making reservation online). Old dated small TV. No glasses for cold drinks only small flimsy plastic cups. Only powdered milk. Only small plastic sticks to stir drinks. They don't provide tea bags. Waited until late second day to get any coathangers despite 4 requests. Air con VERY noisy making it impossible to have on at night therefore sweated all night. Shower room very small making it awkward to get in. Windows in corridor cracked and carpets there dirty and worn. Spoke to duty manager on 1st morning but NOTHING was done.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterfinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

amazing views - paid extra to stay above level 15, well worth it, incredible. Rooms comfy, might be in need of a refresh, but with that view, who cares. Adjoining diner good, v packed at dinner, so popular! Had brekky there, good value. Hotel is well away from Clifton Hill tackiness and in a lovely part of town right above the welcome centre where you get your adventure pass and do the Niagaras Fury and Walk beneath the falls (former not really worth it, latter ecellent). Pass also included 48 hrs of local bus which was great to get to the Maid (great fun) and white water walk and around town, good idea.

Room Tip: pay the extra and stay up high, incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueemj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We checked in sept.26, so shocked to find the room so dirty and old and thefront desk staff so useless. This oakes hotel should undergo health inspection bec. It is so dirty and due for Demolition. Our room number is 629, I will not even use their bathroom and towels, we endedup checking in another hotel, we need to be refunded,they should stop giving those rooms to their guest. Mrs. Ng

Room Tip: I do not reccommend this hotel to anyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vilmanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Recently booked a room with my daughter as a little getaway and to see the falls. Specified that we would like a "falls view" as opposed to city view and paid the extra amount. Upon check in I had asked/requested the highest floor available.....as a treat to my seven year old. Was given a 7th floor room as that was the highest we can get for our price.
Nice view of the parking lot and if you look real hard you can see the far corner mist! Asked about perhaps moving to a higher floor, "yes but there will be an additional $50 cost"! Overall the room was fine, looked a little bit worn. Never used the pool but the chlorine smell was strong. My daughter loved the glass elevator, I think that was the highlight of the hotel for her!
Bottom line if you want to "see" the falls then book a much higher floor.

Room Tip: As high up as possible if you want to see the falls. At least 12 or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan11855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We arrived in the Falls on Monday with another couple. The staff was very accommodating and gave us neighboring rooms on the Falls side, however, we were only on the second floor. We had a view of the Falls but a better view of the parking lot. The price was reasonable but be prepared to pay $15 per night parking. It is at a great location just above the Welcome Center for the Falls and a short walk to a casino. They did offer a great package for 2 which included 2 breakfasts at Applebees (right next door), 2 dinners at a supper club (with shuttle),free WiFi for two nights, and a $50 voucher for a casino. The rooms were dated but seemed to be clean. The only problem was the extreme water pressure was more than the drain could take and ended up standing in about 5 inches of water when showering.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better view of the Falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myreed75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I would never expect to get to a hotel that I paid $212 for and be so disappointed. The second floor had the dirties carpet, old walls with holes and out dated EVERYTHING. The water was turned off for my toilet, which I turned on, the ice machine was so old it rattled the whole floor (no sleep), 1 lamp worked out of 3 and finally, the shower water hit the tile and got on the floor more than on my body (even after trying to move the head). The service at the front desk was great but that is as good as it gets at Oaks Hotel Niagara Falls! The owner really needs to lower price or fix up the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trisholiveira_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyCrisp, Guest Relations Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
At this time I would like to thank you for expressing your concern about your stay with us.

It is our Number One Priority to provide impeccable guest service along with comfortable accommodations. With that objective in mind, I would like to sincerely apologize once again for the inconvenience you experienced during your last visit.
Please contact me directly to further discuss
ashley@overlookingthefalls.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Property: Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, TravelUp, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing