We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for walking to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Ranked #20 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect location for walking to everything”
Reviewed July 7, 2005

The hotel is located on one of the main blocks by Clifton Hill and it's only a 15 minute walk to the Falls. Short walk to both casinos, and easy walking access to all attractions. The hotel rooms are average, but I would skip the Jacuzzi Room as the jacuzzi was pretty cheap and low class looking - the next time we stay here we are just going for 1 large bed. Stay away from Denny's next door, it's 3 to 4 times the price of a standard Dennys ($12 US for a basic breakfast choice before taxes or drinks!), we walked right out after seeing everything so high priced on the menu. Next door to the hotel is Casa D'Oro, one of the most beautiful restaurants I have ever been in. You will pay a LOT to eat there but it's as high class as it can be (check out the lounge/pub in the back!) and the 18 oz. Lobster Tail was the best meal of my life. All that being said, this hotel is in the heart of the action with resonable prices, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay by all the action that Niagara has to offer - it's just one step out the door!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    864
    489
    130
    164
See reviews for
963
932
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2005

Howard Johnson by the Falls has a wonderful indoor water slide for the kids. They have two pools that are connected (one inside and one outside). The outside pool wasn't open yet however you can swim from one pool to the other.

Very clean and great front line staff.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rosyandmeesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2005

The lobby is nice. The pool area was alright, the pool was small, cold, and heavily chlorinated. Nice hot tub and sauna. The room was a decent size for 2 adults and 3 kids. Not the cleanest but not terrible. The TV had only about 10-15 channels. Parking cost an extra $8 a day. If you want a microwave in your room, and extra $10 a day. No refrigerator in the rooms. The location is pretty good, but a walk to the falls or casinos is about 15 minutes. This has nothing to do with this hotel, but if I could do it over, I'd stay on the US side and just drive over to visit the Candian side. Everything is very expensive in Canada.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bunks63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 29, 2005

We went to the falls on our honeymoon Easter weekend. We stayed at the Howard Johnsons Hotel on the American side. The hotel was close to the falls, within walking distance. The room clean and comfortable, a free continental breakfast. The air line was Northwest and good flights and weather. We had an excellent time and the falls were breathtaking and beautiful.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 27, 2005

We just returned from the Howard Johnson-By the Falls, and my kids had a wounderful time at the pool.
Good job to the front office.

Thanks

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2005

When we first got there the lobby look beutiful. There were no problems at check-in. When we got to the room the bathroom is very old and the bed is as hard as a rock. They have a safe, shoe polisher, and a big t.v. The pool was cold and it DID HAVE A WATERSLIDE. I would recomened this hotel to anyone. No problem at check-out. The staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wwe_j_b_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 22, 2005

My self and my wife we just got back from long trip, and I should say we had a great adventure for the Canadian March Break we are from New Jersey area and I should tell some this people how to run a hotel like yours.
Yes, maybe the Hotel needs some adjusting but all the hotels that I saw on that strip the hojo's was one them who caught my eye.
Big suites, pleasant staff, and very clean hotel.

Keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#14 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near the Falls
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near th...
#32 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Niagara Falls Hotel by the Falls
Travelodge Niagara Falls Hotel b...
#38 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Niagara Falls
Courtyard Niagara Falls
#10 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#22 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one short block to the Top 10 best Clifton Hill Attractions and the mighty water Falls itself and just steps away from the Great Canadian Midway. The Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls is superbly located in the center of the Niagara Falls/Clifton Hill tourist district offering you an incredible selection of restaurants and shopping adventures. The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing