We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for a one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Ranked #20 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
nottingham, england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“OK for a one night stay”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My Aunt had booked us all in for a nights stay on our recent visit to Niagara, and the location of this Howard Johnson was great for all our needs, within easy walking distance of all the attractions. We had balcony rooms which made the rooms feel more airy and spacious and gave great views especially at night, of all the lights.
The rooms were fine, clean and functional; and spacious enough for us and our Son. However, we were woken at 3am by a rowdy bunch of girls running around the corridors!!
It was a shame we didn't have time to make use of the pool, as the weather was glorious...but it was a lovely added extra.
We had breakfast in the Dennys next door, which was extremely busy, noisy, and very much more expensive than the Dennys we use in the USA. But the service was fine.
As were the staff on reception at the Howard Johnson, very friendly and efficient.
No real complaints about this hotel, it was just ok for our nights stay- but if Im honest, if we ever come back to Niagara again, we would probably stay somewhere a little more upmarket.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for providing your perspective on your recent stay, we are pleased to hear that you and your aunt found the property great for all of your needs.. I am sorry to hear that some of our guests did not respect the privacy of other guests. If there is an issue please don't hesitate to contact the front desk and we will try to rectify the situation at the time. I am sorry to hear that you might choose a more expensive upmarket hotel, if we can provide for your needs on the next trip we would be happy to have you as a guest again. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    857
    488
    130
    162
See reviews for
957
927
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Howard Johnson the first week of September as a kind of Getaway before university started up again. We were in the deluxe whirlpool suite with the fireplace for 4 nights, and were really pleased with both the size and the cleanliness of the room. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, and we found the hotel to be very economical on a university student's budget. The location is excellent, a two minute walk to Clifton hill and the falls. The Denny's is delicious, but I would recommend sharing a meal if you don't eat a ton of breakfast as the portions are very large! All in all I had an excellent stay, and will definitely be going back if I have the opportunity! Also there is a great restaurant call Taco'N'Tequila a couple minute walk down the street with the best Mexican food and sangria I've had!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGagnon325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
It is always a pleasure to hear that the hotel has exceeded the guest expectations and they have had a positive exprience. Thank you for the kind compliments and we are happy to have you back again on your next trip to the Falls. Thank you for making Howard Johnson your choice of accomodation while in Niagara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtice
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The stay was ok and I would have been fine with the property, but I called the Front Desk Manager upon our return to ask for a call back due to something being left at the hotel. We forgot our daughters pillow and I called the same day we checked out figuring there would be a chance that they would still have it. I never recieved a call back from the hotel, which only leads me to believe that our business is valued while we're there, but once payment is recieved the relationship is finished. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am sorry if there was an issue with lost and found. Every guest is important to us and if there is an issue we do try to resolve it. If it is still an issue please contact the hotel and ask for the housekeeping manager as they are in charge of lost and found. If we have the item they will make arrangements with you to return the item. I do apologize for the inconvenience and the lack of response. Thank you for letting us know where we may improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

At check in we asked if there was a deposit and were told no. Then they charged us $100 over the cost of parking. When were told the manager would contact us for resolution, which of course never happened. Previous occupant's trash was left in our room by housekeeping, and the pool (indoor) was filled with leaves and dirt. Location was great, room was great, but the service was a huge disappointment.

Room Tip: Room 626 is the "honeymoon suite"... red heart jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am not sure who you would have spoken to but I can assure you that it is standard practice to verify availability of funds for all guests including a deposit to cover incidentals and or damages. The pre authorization is only a hold taken at check in in the event there are outstanding charges. If it is not used it is released by most credit card companies within 3-5 business days. I am sorry to hear you had a housekeeping issue - if we are made aware of an issue we try to resolve it right away. I am truly sorry that we did not measure up to your expectations regarding service. We would hope that you might consider returning that we may redeem our service and provide you with a more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a hockey tourney "Garden City Early Bird Tournament" in St Catherines but decided to stay at the Howard Johnson by the Falls to keep the boys busy in between games. The hotel is located near all the attractions at Clifton Hill and the Falls. It was awesome as we could just walk out of our hotel and get to the attractions, restaurants and the falls. We were greeted upon arrival and provided some information on package deals for the attractions and/or flyers for local attractions. This hotel also has a mini food court attached with included pizza, Baskin Robbins ice cream and KFC; this was great for the boys to indulge in an ice cream after their games. Many of the boys also did the haunted house tours and had a blast. A Denny's is located right next door to his hotel. The rooms were clean, bigger than I thought and had everything you needed. We had read not so good reviews on this hotel but we were happy with our stay. It's also 20 minutes away to all the wineries in St Catherines so that was a plus. Our team stayed on the 3rd floor and used one of the rooms as 'a party/get together' room in order to ensure the noise wasn't going to be loud for other guests. The boys kept busy with the attractions around the hotel versus hanging around in the halls. The only negative about this hotel was the parking. It's awfully small and tight spaces especially when you are trying to park an SUV, plus it seemed every night they would run out of parking (especially the Friday and Saturday night). Other than that, it was a good spot to stay at.

Room Tip: Room 320 seemed to be larger than the other rooms as it's a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Howard Johnson and the team had a good stay. Overnight parking is limited in the area and most hotels charge for this reason, the spots are a standard parking spots and it can get busy when we are full house. We trust that we will see you again on your next visit to the Falls and thank you for making Howard Johnson your hotel of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#14 of 129 in Niagara Falls
778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near the Falls
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near th...
#33 of 129 in Niagara Falls
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Niagara Falls Hotel by the Falls
Travelodge Niagara Falls Hotel b...
#38 of 129 in Niagara Falls
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Niagara Falls
Courtyard Niagara Falls
#10 of 129 in Niagara Falls
1,816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#22 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one short block to the Top 10 best Clifton Hill Attractions and the mighty water Falls itself and just steps away from the Great Canadian Midway. The Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls is superbly located in the center of the Niagara Falls/Clifton Hill tourist district offering you an incredible selection of restaurants and shopping adventures. The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing