We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condescending Manager Response from July 26, 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Ranked #19 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Condescending Manager Response from July 26, 2013”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I am responding to the HJ Manager response posted on July 26th to the review 'Service Issues with Manager' on July 22, 2013. Howard Johnson has lost a group of customers because of Kevin's refusal/inability to honor a group rate prior to the end of the agreed upon cutoff date. I called the hotel at 5:45pm and was put on hold for 15 minutes before someone could help me, Kevin the 'manager'. I do not consider 5:45pm as kevin stated in his respons, '...late in the evening on the release date for the group...'. Kevin said one thing correctly, 'it is a cutoff DATE' and I was still within the DATE, not a abitrary hour that Kevin decided to apply. Kevin, the 'manager' stated-'You managed to find a website which had not been closed properly...' was in fact the Howard Johnson Hotel website which allowed me to book and confirm a room 5 minutes after you told me they were not available. I do not consider this helpful and do not agree with your twisting of the facts. Stay away from this hotel as this staff member is inept/ignorant at booking rooms and will not honor agreements.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RHL168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for offering your perspective on your recent interaction with my Hotel Manager however contrary to your personal belief our property was in fact completely sold out of the particular guest room that was blocked for your group of 8 rooms weeks in advance in which coincidentally all your fellow group members had already previously reserved, within the proper time frame without incident and to our knowledge enjoyed their stays on July 19 and 20.

The issue you had encountered was in fact a computer glitch with Howard Johnson’s head office reservation system as it was still showing your particular groups room type available for our property when in fact we were completely sold out of that particular room type as all the rooms allocated for your group that were blocked and were not booked were released back into inventory and were immediately sold due to the high demand for the dates of your visit. I would be more than happy to have a representative from Howard Johnson’s corporate office contact you directly and verify that the information Kevin supplied you with is accurate.

However in the interest of customer service we did in fact offer you an alternative room style at a very similar discounted rate as to what was originally extended to your entire group however you were not receptive to any reasonable offers that were extended to you.

Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    885
    498
    132
    165
See reviews for
990
962
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel is quite basic, no breakfast included, but encouraged to go to Dennys next door. One of the other guests told me that this Dennys was more expensive than the one she uses in her home town! The room itself, although tidy had an usual smell, I couldn't decide whether milk had been spilled on the carpet and not cleaned properly or something else. I mentioned to the chamber maid the next day, but if she did do anything, I wouldn't know!! Wouldn't return here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
I am sorry that we could not measure up to your standards. The hotel is a family oriented hotel with many ammenities that people do find enjoyable. Because the is a 24Hour breakfast restaurant onsite we do not advertise a continental breakfast. If there is an issue with the rooms please contact the front desk that we may properly resolve the issue in a timely manner. We hope that you might reconsider and try returning for a more positive experience. Thank you for providing us with your insights and for choosing Howard Johnson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My family of 6 stayed here on our way to Cedar Point, Ohio. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We had two rooms that were adjoining which made it nice to be close to our family. The rooms and entire hotel were very clean. My grandson loved the pool and water slide, and ir was a nice spot to sit and relax. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jtart223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We are always pleased to hear a positive guest comment such as yours. Thank you for the compliments of the facilities and the staff. We do appreciate hearing that our guests had a positive experience. Thank you for making Howard Johnson your choice while in Niagara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
0.5 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Niagara Falls Fallsview
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Niagara Falls
Courtyard Niagara Falls
#10 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,876 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#22 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one short block to the Top 10 best Clifton Hill Attractions and the mighty water Falls itself and just steps away from the Great Canadian Midway. The Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls is superbly located in the center of the Niagara Falls/Clifton Hill tourist district offering you an incredible selection of restaurants and shopping adventures. The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing