We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the hotel was in a good location and the staff was friendly...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Ranked #20 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    864
    489
    130
    164
See reviews for
963
932
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stayner
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great Location. Covered parking. Very hot hot tub! Pool warm. Staff friendly. Food close by very expensive, but you can take your car! Otherwise, you can walk the main strip and to the falls if you like.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank ButterlyLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for the compliments, we hope you enjoyed you stay and look forward to the opportunity of having you stay with us again in the future. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I called the hotel and they said the packages need to be booked online. I found the hotel after doing a search of - Howard Johnson's Romantic Packages -. There were good reviews on the website regarding the hotel (great service, nice staff, problems fixed ...) I called the number that was listed as I was having trouble with getting all the information about what was included. After talking to the customer care guy who convinced me of the 'great deal', I booked a room (at this hotel) that was supposed to have included a heart shaped hot tub. There was no indication that this was anything other than an agent working for Howard Johnson's. The cost that I paid was obviously more than a standard room, but this was for a special anniversary and an early Valentine's Day celebration. Customer care was having difficulty added the 'package' part and told me I could just add it at the hotel with no trouble. I was told that parking was free, that there were two breakfast vouchers and dinner vouchers (one each per day), passes for the transportation system and a basket with wine, chocolates.... with the room with the heart shaped jacuzzi and the total cost was $195.00. First of all, the hotel is not THAT close to the Falls (try a 40 min walk, 10 min car ride). When we arrived the hotel had us down for a 'standard' room. I spent over two hours on the phone trying to straighten this out, wasting time and putting a bad start on our 'romantic stay' at Hojo's. This is something I would expect the hotel to take care of rather than the guest doing so. In all my years as a host with a hotel in a major tourist area in Eastern Canada, I would never have allowed a guest to have this happen, instead, we would have just upgraded the room and worked it out later. There were probably no more than a dozen rooms in use (due to the season) and it would have cost the hotel nothing to fix the mistake. The fellow at the desk had us pay (a bit more than the promise amount) to add the romantic portion of the package. Customer care said that they could reimburse the money (within 7 days) if we wanted to pay the extra for the room we were supposed to receive, but seeing as I had already paid for it and now was being asked to pay for it again, (plus paying for the ;'free' parking and a hundred dollar deposit that was never mentioned anywhere on any site or by any person) and the fact that the vouchers don't really cover the cost of the meals, only help towards it, we did not have the extra money to pay for the room upgrade. It was clear that we had paid an extra amount and when you book this way you're supposed to be getting a better price, so there is no question about what our room should have been. We figured the hotel manager would do the right thing the next day and just move us to the room I booked. The room we were given, 633, (which is not even the same room that is on the hotel receipt that I have in my hand, the receipt says we were in room 626) had a bad smell and overnight there was no heat. [It seems now from other reviews on here, that that is a problem there]. When we spoke to Kevin the next day, he was not helpful in anyway. He blamed everything on the booking agent (who was working for Hojo's you would think seeing as they have them book rooms for them) and told us we were lucky that they were willing to sell us the package. Hey, they charged us more for the package than we were told it cost, so the end result is that they got more money than they should have. And when does a business turn down a customer paying to upgrade. My fiance told him he would post this all in a review and that he shouldn't be working as a manager. When we called Howard Johnson's head office, they called Kevin to ask if he would do something to resolve this, and he REFUSED. They said they would work on it over the next few days (too late for our once a year special getaway) and would get back to us. This, almost two weeks later, is still not resolved, and the person at head office (Polly) is now trying to say that we got what we booked even when I pointed out that we were charged a higher rate than a standard would cost. When we went for dinner at The Keg at The Marriot, we were chatting with the desk manager there. We gave him an overview of what had happened. He said 'of course, the room should be upgraed to the one that was booked' He would have done so without all the hassle... and he said that at this time of year, when none of the hotels are very busy that there should have been no problem doing so. Two final things... They never did fix the heat (even though they said they had, so we had a second cold night) and as we were checking out, Kevin (the manager?) made a comment about how packed the trunk of the car was and wise cracked about 'women' and how his wife packs way too much too, Nice attitude Kevin. We are STILL waiting for Howard Johnson's to resolve this. And I would regard the recent 'glowing report' of this location as a fabrication of a hotel employee. Yes, Raul and other desk people are nice, so is the housekeeper.. she was very friendly, but if you have an overseeing manager who has this kind of attitude, their hands are tied. I will consider updating or removing this review if the hotel steps up to the plate and RESOLVES this issue. Please feel free to send an email to see whether it gets done BEFORE you ever consider booking into this (or any) Howard Johnson's hotel. (Oh, and watch for the response from Kevin who will try to pretend that it is our fault.... and that he woked so hard to fix things rather than actually fixing it).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aweekendaway2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for offering your perspective on your recent stay as I can see that you posted your opinion twice now with regards to your recent visit and your Expedia reservation that you had made in error, Please understand that both ourselves and Expedia worked very diligently on this situation at that time to provide you with many reasonable and satisfying solutions to your situation which would ultimately have allowed you to enjoy your special trip and in the end would have cost you nothing more than what you had previously committed to in your original reservation that was made directly with Expedia and not the hotel directly. When rare situations like this do arise we do in fact work very closely with companies such as Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com to name a few as they are in fact travel agents for most of the hotel properties worldwide and we typically get them on the phone while the guest is still right in front of us to ensure that the situation gets handled promptly and is in the guest best interest much the same way we did upon your own visit to the property. What I do find concerning is that you claim that you work in a hotel industry as a host, well then you should know well enough how all these business relationships work with these types of companies such as Expedia in which you booked directly with.
Again thank-you for your perspective and we had truly hoped that you would have been more receptive to the very reasonable offers put forth from both us as well as Expedia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

First of all, I accidentally booked the wrong date. I called the hotel when they sent me an email telling me they missed me (because I booked the day that I reserved). I spoke with Kevin, the manager. They had charged my credit card for a no-show. He gave us a room for the dates we were actually going be there and gave us the credit that they had already charged my credit card. We were given vouchers for dinner, lunch and breakfast for 2 mornings. We also wanted to go behind the falls and could purchase a pass which gave us entrance to 2 other places, the Butterfly Conservatory and Niagara's Fury. We had just been to a Butterfly Conservatory so we're not interested in that, however we would have liked to do Niagara's Fury, which was under construction and closed. The hotel did not inform us of this closure. The dinner voucher for TGI Fridays was great. Service there was good. The vouchers provided for Denny's are not worthwhile....only covered half of our breakfast plate and coffee, nothing special.....bacon, eggs, toast and homefries. Guess the HoJo doesn't care if you're happy with the restaurant they are partnering with.....we had the same experience here over 10 years ago. Our room was average, the furniture showed signs of wear/age. The tv remote didn't work well so we took it to the front desk and they sent a tech up to fix it. Worked great after that. Staff was friendly. We didn't use the pool. Tv's are old but work. Tub for two was a nice feature but to view the tv you had to be sitting up straight.....half out of the tub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joroo_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your perspective on your recent stay. We are happy the you did come back to stay with us again. Your compliments of the staff are greatly appreciated. I am sorry to hear that you had some issues but that we were able to rectify them upon your letting us know. We do appreciate hearing from the guest regarding our partners in the packages as it helps us to determine the guest expectations, I will forward your comments on to my superiors for consideration. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#14 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near the Falls
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near th...
#32 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Niagara Falls Hotel by the Falls
Travelodge Niagara Falls Hotel b...
#38 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Niagara Falls
Courtyard Niagara Falls
#10 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#22 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one short block to the Top 10 best Clifton Hill Attractions and the mighty water Falls itself and just steps away from the Great Canadian Midway. The Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls is superbly located in the center of the Niagara Falls/Clifton Hill tourist district offering you an incredible selection of restaurants and shopping adventures. The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing