We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Howard Johnson is not that pet friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Ranked #16 of 127 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have a small blind dog who needs medication so we decided to bring her with us on our trip for my birthday. We chose the howard johnson because it's supposedly pet friendly. We got into our room with no problem other than the front desk wanted to see the dog before check in to prove that she was less than 20 pounds. We had to pay $20 a day for her ( don't really understand why as she wasn't taking up any extra room and she was in a room we were already paying for, seems like a money grab to me) We got into the room and the TV was fuzzy for the video games. We tried to call the front desk about this and no one answered twice. We decided to go out for the evening and when we returned at about 1 am I dropped a glass on the floor and the glass went everywhere. My boyfriend went down to the front desk to have someone come up to clean or get a vacuum at the very least ( we tried to call but again no one answered) after a little while of him not returning i called down and finally got someone and i was rudely told (and interrupted mid sentence) that it was being taken care of. A few minutes later my boyfriend came in with a broom. A broom for cleaning up glass on a carpet. At this point i went down to the front desk to tell them they needed to do better than that. The guy behind the desk could not have cared less about our situation or the fact that we had a small dog. Obviously glass on the floor is a hazard to us and our dog. we kept asking him for a vacuum to clean up the mess, even saying that we would clean it up (most hotels i have stayed in send someone up when anything like that happens) and he just kept telling us that it was against hotel policy to run a vacuum at that time even thought it was a friday night and there was no one staying in the room below us. I then asked him how he would feel if there was broken glass behind the desk and he had to walk on that all night, and he said he would have the police escort me out as if i was threatening him. He then told us to keep the dog on the bed for the rest of the night. In my opinion that was not fixing the situation as we would have had to keep walking around with the glass everywhere and i don't sleep with shoes on. What if it was a small child and not a dog? Would we have still been treated with a rude nonchalant attitude about the situation? After i became extremely upset he finally said he would move our room. Which I suppose fixed the problem, however we had to pack up everything at 1 am and move

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank 22Carly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We do appreciate hearing from our guests on their perspective how we may improve service. In this case the issue pertains to an incident that you admit responsibility for. Very few hotels are pet friendly and there are costs to ensuring the rooms are properly attended to when a pet is involved hence there is a charge. At the time of the incident staffing is limited as in many hotels and housekeeping would not be on at that hour. When we did receive the information the staff did act accordingly as to offer a broom due to the timing of the incident - we would not be disturbing other guests surrounding you by running a vaccuum at that time of night. You negleceted to mention that both parties were intoxicated at the time and the staff did what they could given the limited cooperation. You were offered a second option based upon your concerns but again there is a cost to relocating as it is your choice and two rooms would now have been utilized. I am sorry that you do not agree with Hotel policy but we must look after the interests of all of our guests and how it would affect them as well as the guest we are dealing with at the time. If your perception of the manner in which the staff dealt with the situation appeared rude then I apologize as I am certain that was not the intention, they did act accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,127 - 2,133 of 2,634 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here this past weekend. The staff was very helpful and prompt. The room was spotless and the location was great! I appreciated the 12 o'clock checkout as opposed to the usual 11 o'clock. Overall this hotel made our stay wonderful and I would suggest it to anybody! Will definately be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovethescene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

It is always nice to hear our guests had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the facilities. We appreciate your compliments and look forward to the opportunity of having you as our guest again. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

No issues checking in, front desk staff (Thanks Kevin) has an awesome personality and made us feel very welcomed!! The room was a little dated but very clean (the tvs suck lol) No issues checking out (thanls Jeremy) Hotel is very close to Clifton Hill (bout a 5 min walk) and the falls and very reasonably priced! We will definatly stay here again :) p.s Kevin, we tried to stick the bed to the ceiling, but it was too damn heavy :p

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for the compliments it is always a pleasure to hear the guest had an awsome stay. It was our pleasure to assist you in having a memorable experience and we hope to see you back on your next visit to the Falls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed at the HOJO By the Falls January 1-January 3, 2013. We always stay there when visiting Niagara but not after this trip. First we were not advised on the $100 hold on our credit card. We had forgotten about it and the staff did not inform us of it. We had to find out by checking our bank account. That was the minor issue.
We put our valuables (money, cameras, and PASSPORTS) in the safe as directed when we left the room. We had run to get dinner and then swim. After swimming (pool was very cloudy and hot tub way too hot) we got cleaned up and dressed up for a night on the town. The safe would not open. Any key pressed resulted in SEr showing. I called the desk clerk who said "Oh Gee, never heard of that one". Was told we would have to wait until housekeeping came in in morning, which I stated was unacceptable. Clerk called "district manager" who said to call in maintenance. We were told maintenance was sent home early since they were not busy. Then told maintenance supervisor was on vacation 3 days. Then they were not answering their phone to come in. We were stuck. wasted 1 full night and morning of a 2 night trip. Lost out on carriage ride, casino night, etc. Manager came in at 8 am, we went down at 8:30 and he didn't know maintenance wasn't due in til 10 until clerk informed him. He tried calling in maintenance early but we had to wait until 10 a.m. Maintenance told us he was sorry he could not come in night before but his truck had problems, so yet another story. We had been given conflicting stories all night. We were lucky to have already eaten dinner or else we would have been without food, which with medical conditions I cannot be. Luckily did not place medications in there. The camera issue kept us from sightseeing. The money issue kept us from doing anything but watching TV. The Passport issue was the most upsetting. Had we needed to get home in an emergency (we have children) we would have been stuck. Most places it is illegal to hold someone's passport from them.
The staff was unapologetic. They were "flat" as far as attitude towards our problem. Asking each "new" clerk and manager about if they knew of the problem we would get "Your having some trouble with the safe, right?" Only after my husband demanded some sort of compensation did they say they would "check" with the district manager to see if it was okay to comp 1 night's fee. It was $53, definitely not worth our lost night. I planned this trip for over 6 months and to have it ruined over a safe and the inability of a hotel to staff the correct people.
Also we paid $9 a day for parking and yet there was a sign for general parking for $5 a day for non-guests.
This was the worst stay we have ever had, and to think, this was the same hotel a few years ago we had written a glowing review for an anniversary trip. This hotel has gone downhill.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

I am very sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced during your stay as it was not our intention as some types of electronic equipment do create certain new challenges from time to time. I do sincerely apologize as unfortunately the issue came at an awkward time as we had very limited staff scheduled on due to it being the holiday season as we typically allow some of our staff to spend this time with their families to celebrate the holidays. We are however pleased that none of the scenarios you mentioned in this commentary were relevant at any time but rather an inconvenience to both you and your companion. We did acknowledge that improvements needed to be made to our procedures as to prevent any similar issues like this from occurring in the future thus the reason for our very generous compensation not accurately mentioned in this commentary. The additional amount held on your credit card is common practice for hotel operations as it is a safe and seamless way of ensuring that there are sufficient funds on a guest credit card to cover the cost of the room as well as any incidentals such as movies, phone calls, etc that the guest may have incurred during their stay. The unused portion of funds are then released back into the guests account by our credit card processor within 2-4 business days after check-out depending on the guest’s financial institution, this is explained in great detail to each and every guest at check-in and only presents issues when the sufficient funds required are not readily available on the credit card. Our pool is maintained constantly at 84 degrees and the hot tub at 103 degrees and is inspected every 4 hours as per Health Department guidelines and we have no records or guest comments to the contrary of any water quality or temperature issues during your entire stay.
Again, thank you for choosing our Howard Johnson property and allowing us the opportunity to improve our operations to better serve our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Kerri R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Morganvdh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Krys2012
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Niagara Falls, ON
0.7 mi away
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls

Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#22 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $55 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one short block to the Top 10 best Clifton Hill Attractions and the mighty water Falls itself and just steps away from the Great Canadian Midway. The Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls is superbly located in the center of the Niagara Falls/Clifton Hill tourist district offering you an incredible selection of restaurants and shopping adventures. The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing