We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Waterpark Deal for your Money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Ranked #24 of 135 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
oshawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Waterpark Deal for your Money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is by far the best "bang for your buck" deal for the Waterpark in Niagara Falls. The two night stay was great. The Pizza Hut coupon comes in handy for a "lunch break" and nap from the Waterpark on your second day. The TGI Fridays across the road from the hotel is stellar and accomodates children nicely. Fernando (the front desk mgr) is the best in the business and Howard Johnson is very lucky to have him.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are rather noisy. Ask for a room on the East side of the hotel for a great view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ackerblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for the compliments. We are happy to hear that you had waves of fun with our waterpark package. I will be pleased to pass on your compliments as we hold the young man in high regard as well. We await the opportunity to have you as a guest again, thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    754
    437
    114
    146
See reviews for
847
803
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GUELPH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was our first time staying at a Howard Johnson hotel, and we will definately be back. Staff was very friendly, hotel very clean, hotel was quiet. Our room was very spacious. It was a jacuzzi suite. It even had a love seat and chairs so that you didn't have to sit in bed at all times. Location is prime. Close to Clifton Hill, the Falls, restaurants, everything that you need. We can only compain about a couple of things. The TV. New ones are needed. The convertor didn't work the best. The parking charge of $9.00 wasn't fair in our eyes. Yes, it's cheaper than other hotels, but there is a sign out front charging $5.00 for all day parking. It should be the other way around. Hotel guests should be cheaper. Other than that, everything was superb. Thanks again Howard Johnson Hotel. As I said, we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us and hope to see you for many more. Parking is a set fee for overnight guests and can fluctuate for daily parking from $5.00 up depending on availabilty - day parking is only for a few hours. We appreciate the compliments and look forward to the opprtunity of having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. They went above and beyond their minimum duty.

Nice hotel. Got a good price, lower than other other comparable hotels.

Beds were comfortable and pool is nice.

Room Tip: Might be a little quieter on the back side / back street. Definitely avoid the front / main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meaning-of-life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Our thanks for your compliments of the staff. We are pleased to hear that you had a positive experience during your stay at Howard Johnson. We look forward to the opportunity of having you as our guest again on your next visit to Niagara Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#15 of 135 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near the Falls
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near th...
#33 of 135 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cairn Croft Hotel
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Niagara Falls
Courtyard Niagara Falls
#10 of 135 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 1,639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Niagara Falls by the Falls
Travelodge Hotel Niagara Falls b...
#36 of 135 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#22 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one short block to the Top 10 best Clifton Hill Attractions and the mighty water Falls itself and just steps away from the Great Canadian Midway. The Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls is superbly located in the center of the Niagara Falls/Clifton Hill tourist district offering you an incredible selection of restaurants and shopping adventures. The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing