We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel was everything I imagined and the staff were very friendly and helpful and it is pet friendly

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank BILL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for the very kind compliments. We are pleased to hear that we met and exceeded your expectations in providing a memorale experience. We hope to have you as our guest again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,115 - 2,121 of 2,507 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

all in all our experience was wonderful. however people staying with children need to supervise more and more hall checks after 11 pm. Arcade needs updating. Overall great experience, we will be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank happyguestDelhi_on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for providing your perspective on parental control. We are happy to heard that overall your stay was pleasant and you did enjoy yourselves. We await the opprtunity of having you as our guest again soon. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is very dirty and worn, walls and door are paper thin. Very noisy, bed blankets had stains, carpet was disgusting, furniture worn out, TV from the 80's. Internet reception was poor -intermittent. Over priced, but even if it was offered free I wouldn't stay here ever again. Worst part of our holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank CAROLYN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. The hotel underwent renovations in the past two years including carpets,wallpaper,and linens. As the trend is slowly changing many Hotels still have the older style TVs, there are plans to upgrade the TVs in the near future. If there was an issue with the rooms and you were so concerned you should not hesitate to advise the management that we may try to resolve the situation during you stay. I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is in a great location close to the action. Rooms are dated. We booked a room with a balcony but didn't get one... because of the inconvenience a small discount was given but it wasn't what we were expecting. We've stayed here before and we'll likely go back...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jessica Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for advising us of the unfortunate circumstances. I am sorry that you did not receive what you had reserved. Please accept our apologies as the discounted rate was compensation for not being able to provide the balcony room when you did have it reserved. We are happy to hear that you would consider to return and offer us the opportunity to redeem ourselves. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

HoJo Hotel in Niagara Falls, ON, was basic and for us more importantly pet friendly. Seems many hotel in Niagara have dropped pets as guests.... Nothing spectacular here, but good location in center of town, clean and very pleasant staff. Was a little surprised as seniors having a $100 "security fee" put on the initial charges as a hold on the credit card. Guess there is a first time for everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up to avoid some street noise... and a room at the hotel front.. back rooms fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for the compliments to our team. We are one of a select few Hotels left that choose to allow pets staying with the owners. The deposit is taken to cover incidental charges such as telephones, movies or damages - most hotels as a standard do take some form of coverage whether they advise the guest or not. We hope you had an enjoyable stay in the Falls and look forward to the opportubity of having you as our guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Rooms were quite small and the chairs were very uncomfortable. There is no room in the bathroom to place your personal belongings and the balcony is quite narrow. For the price we are paying, refrigs. and parking should be included in the fee.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that the Hotel did not meet your expectations. Overnight parking in the area is very limited and most hotels post a fee for parking. We do provide an option for the guest if they require a fridge and we do advise of the cost. We appreciate you providing your perspective and hope the rest of your stay was pleasant. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We found this hotel to be excellent. It was pet friendly, close to attractions, and with a shuttle to the Falls. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Front desk staff were very helpful at all times.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for the compliments of our property and our team. I am happy to hear that we were able to provide you with a positive and memorable experience. Thank you and come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.5 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls

Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#22 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $55 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one short block to the Top 10 best Clifton Hill Attractions and the mighty water Falls itself and just steps away from the Great Canadian Midway. The Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls is superbly located in the center of the Niagara Falls/Clifton Hill tourist district offering you an incredible selection of restaurants and shopping adventures. The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing