We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some fabulous deals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Ranked #19 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“Some fabulous deals”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

With so many fancy hotels going up it is nice some of the older, average places are still going and offering deals.

When we stayed we did a couples romance two days, got wine, chocolate, heart shaped tub and mirrored ceiling...cheesy but a lot of fun....

The hotel is older but still well run and clean. Convenient for many restaurants, shopping and both casino's if you don't mind a little walk.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiteknight_013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for the compliments. We hope you enjoyed your package and would welcome the opportunity to provide you with another memorable stay in the Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    891
    503
    134
    165
See reviews for
1,003
963
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend with my son to 'do' the Falls, and was happy with my choice.

The Hotel is centraly located, within easy walking distance of many shops, restaurants and of course the famous Falls themselves.

The room was large and spacious, and very clean, as was the bathroom.

The staff we encountered were always friendly and helpful, check-in was speedy and smooth. We got a deal for two nights so price was very reasonable.Parking was chargeable, but was also reasonable, and less than I have previously paid for hotel parking.

All in all, a very enjoyable weekend- thank you HoJo's!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nootychoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
We are pleased to have been able to provide you with a positive experience and a great weekend. Thank you for your patronage of Howard Johnson and hope we can be of service on your next visit to the Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maple , ontario
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2011

i stayed at the Howard Johnson this past weekend, it was a family girls weekend and i have to say, the hotel staff was amazing. We must call called to the front desk when we first got there a hand full of times, and every time we called it was like the first time...they were funny and professional... a group of us were on the 4th floor and the other group were on the 6 floor, when we realized that wasnt working for us we called front desk to have the group on the 6th floor moved to the 4th floor next door to us.... they acomidated us... we were so happy and had a blast together... we will stay there again.. the rooms were clean and again the staff made the difference...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
We appreciate you letting us know that we could provide you with an Awsome stay and that our staff made such a positve impression upon you. Thank you for your continued patronage of Howard Johnson and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

This hotel is in the middle of it all. Its a 5min walk to both casinos and accross from multiple restaurants and all day breakfasts. The hotel also has a Indoor pool, outdoor pool, hot tube and sauna. The indoor pool was nice with a waterslide and in summer there is a option to swim to the outdoor pool. The room had 2 decent queen beds and and a pull out sofa bed. It wasn't a posterpedic or anything like that but good for what we paid for. Room was clean and washroom had all the necessary items.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for your perspective on the Hotel and your stay. We are happy to hear that our central location was a benefit to you and that your experience was positive one. We hope to see you back on your next visit to Niagara Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Recently I travelled to Niagara for the first time with a few close friends. When we checked into our room at HoJo's the first thing we noticed was a TERRIBLE smell. It was a hard smell to describe but something between burning and dirty socks. When we called the front desk to complain about the smell the staff was very unhelpful and unfriendly. They told us they would send someone up to investigate. We had to call down another 3 times over the course of several hours before they finally sent an employee to our room. All the employee did was spray the carpets. This did nothing to alleviate the smell! Now the room smelled like perfume, burning and dirty socks. We were never offered a new room or a discount. When we asked for a complete refund we were told that we would have to "speak to the manager after the long weekend." The whole experience was completely unexpected and unacceptable. I feel that HoJo's and it's staff cheated us out of our money and a good night. I will never trust this brand again in the future and I recommend that you don't either.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S_Angel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Dear Berniefox: We do appreciate hearing from our guests and what we can do to improve service for our guests. The events you are describing seem somewhat odd as our primary concern is our guests satisfaction and resolving a problem quickly. It is our policy that if there is a problem with a room that we do everything possible to resolve the issue up to and including a room change if possible or compensation if necessary. There is a duty manager on during the daytime, if the issue was brought to their attention it could have been resolved at the time of incident. We would invite you to contact the management that we may verify your information and stay at the hotel to determine a resolution to your concerns. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I'm surprised that Howard Johnson hasn't pulled there named from this hotel. A few of the things that went wrong with our weekend is the room smelt like something died in it, the pool was over treated couldn't even stand in the pool room, had to pay for parking room wasn't that clean, wifi What wifi ?????

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dixiechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
I am sorry to hear that you did not have a positive stay. The Hotel does receive a Gold Medal rating year over year from Howard Johnson regarding our product and we do receive many positive compliments and comments. If such issues were to have taken place we would expect to hear from the guest while staying here so that we may resolve them at the time. Parking is a cost as it is limited in the area and most Hotels do charge for it. Once again my apologies if your stay was not what you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My girlfriend and I recently took a vacation to Niagara Falls Canada. We stayed at Howard Johnson by the falls. Seemed clean when we checked in and the pool was very nice as well. Throughout the night my girlfriend kept complaining that it felt like something kept biting her and she was getting very itchy. I turned on the lights and pulled back the sheets and saw little black bugs scattering towards the underside of the mattress. The bugs sort of had the shape of and apple seed which I was told fits the description of “BED BUGS”. I was actually able to catch two of them and put them in a plastic bag (pictured above). I showed the hotel manager and they seemed to barely care saying “they would look into it” and took $50.00 off our nights stay……..wow really thanks a lot. The next week I had one of my professors confirm that the little bugs in the plastic bag were in fact Cimicidae otherwise known as “BED BUGS” It must be an ongoing problem because I have seen a bunch of other people write about the same thing on this site. Just wanted to warn everyone as I usually don’t write on these travel review sites. Next time I’ll look around before I stay in a dump like this. Happy Travelling.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Webster D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Webster D,
Reporting of any incidents of this nature are taken very seriously by both management and ownership of this hotel and the industry as a whole.We have very stringent protocols in place to safeguard against such incidents as you have inferred. If an incident does occur, or is reported, we utilize certified professional companies that specialize in the appropriate treatment,containment and eradication of any pests that may be found. If you could please contact us at the property immediately with regards to your allegation as we have no record or information regarding your visit to our property , nor any record of any discussions or refunds with any of my management team as you have also mentioned.We would certainly appreciate the opportunity to investigate and address your concerns properly and professionally, as the comfort and safety of our guest is paramount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.5 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Niagara Falls Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#22 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one short block to the Top 10 best Clifton Hill Attractions and the mighty water Falls itself and just steps away from the Great Canadian Midway. The Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls is superbly located in the center of the Niagara Falls/Clifton Hill tourist district offering you an incredible selection of restaurants and shopping adventures. The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing