We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Ranked #20 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING HOTEL”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We had a amazing stay at the howard johnson. The room was clean and very big. The bed were so comfy and nice! The staff was super friendly and nice. The indoor out door pool was great. The hottub was so nice after a day of walking around. The hotel is located close to everything you could need when you are vacationing at the falls. They offer a great shuttle to area attractions. Our stay was great we will be back next time we are up to the falls!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We are pleased that we could provide such a positive experience for you. We look forward to the opportunity of providing you another positve experience on your return trip to the Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    864
    489
    130
    164
See reviews for
963
932
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2011

My husband and I choose this hotel by the pictures and prices for what you got. It was our 11th anniversary, and it seemed perfect for what we were looking for. We stayed July 19th thru the 22nd. After I made our reservations, I started reading some reviews. Some were good, but alot were not good reviews. I started getting nervous, thinking I had made a big mistake, but it was already a done deal, so I figured we would make the best of it. Well I have to say that this hotel was even better than I had hoped for. We stayed in the suite with the whirlpool tub and fireplace. It was very modern and spacious, and had everything we could ever hope for! The room was immaculate, the staff was very friendly and willing to accomadate you what ever your needs were. We were so happy that we chose this hotel. It was close to everything, and just a great place to stay. Who ever wrote bad reviews for this place is out of their mind!! We will definetely stay here again, without a doubt!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Thank you for choosing to spend this special occasion with us. We are pleased to hear that it was a memorable experience and hope to have you return for many more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I decided to book the family suite and it was a bit more expensive because of the high season but it was well worth it.

traveled with 2 small dogs? no problems plastic bags and dog dishes provided free of charge at the front desk. the room was big and perfect when traveling with the in laws the service was friendly and overall no complaints.

will go back in Sept once we hit the low season

Room Tip: if you book 2 nights you get 15% off and if you have a CAA membership that could be an extra 10% off
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salsamarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Thank you for your continued patronage of Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls. We are happy that we may provide you with the services that you require and that you have enjoyed them repeatedly. We look forward to providing you the same level of service on your return stay in September. Thank you for your support and recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

HOJO by the Falls is in the Clifton Hill tourist area. Actually, the word 'tourist' is insufficient - imagine every loud, garish midway and boardwalk concession possible crammed into a few blocks. You either love this stuff or hate it - we were appalled. The hotel itself, however, was a very pleasant surprise. We had a king suite with jacuzzi tub. The room was very large and, although the decor was the height of eighties chic, was very clean. We were pleased to find some amenities - iron and ironing board, hair dryer, in room safe - and surprised by others. An electric fireplace? An electric shoe polisher? Surprisingly, for a hotel that seems to cater to families, the room did not have a microwave or refrigerator, although I believe some rooms do have them. If important to you, be sure to ask.

The jacuzzi tub took a while to fill, but turned out to be a real treat after a day of walking around.

Did I mention the mirrored ceiling over the bed? Trust me, not the thing you want to see first thing in the morning.

The only real downside to the room itself was that the shower stall was small.

The hotel has an indoor/outdoor pool and large hot tub, as well as a sauna. The pool area was usually overrun with kids, although the hour from 10 to 11 pm is adult only.

This hotel seems to be very popular with families and groups, some of which were a bit loud. By accident or design, the very pleasant and efficient desk staff gave us a fairly isolated room and we weren't bothered a bit by outside noise.

WIFI is free - parking, some covered, is $8. a night.

We certainly would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, as long as you keep in mind the area around it. If you want to avoid the carnival aspect of Niagara Falls as much as possible, avoid the Clifton Hill area altogether.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOD56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you for the information and your perspective on the area. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall at the Hotel and look forward to having you visit again. Thank you for your patronage of Howard Johnson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

From check in to check out we had a great experience.The rooms we had were clean and had everything we needed.The pool was kept clean as well.The hotel is perfectly located to get anywhere by walking.Parking is 8 dollars a night per vehicle which is resonable.We would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flamep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you for your comments, we always appreciate hearing from our guests. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back on your next visit to Niagara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at the Hojo for our honeymoon at then end of July and loved it. We stayed in a room with a jacuzzi tub, king size bed and a sitting area for 3 nights. It was clean and the staff was friendly. I was a little disappointed that they did not give us an extra, like a bottle of wine, for our honeymoon but I really do not have any other complaints. The hotel is close to everything, walking distance, and we were given the privacy that you need in the busy area of Niagra Falls. I would suggest bringing bubble bath and wine glasses if you are planning a romantic trip, but for the price this hotel was great and we will def. stay there again.
A great price for a decent stay and the magic show is great...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katelittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Congratulations on your very special day, we are happy to hear that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us. We would hope that you would continue to return that we may provide more memorable experiences you. Thank you for the kind comments, I will be happy to let my staff know how pleased you were.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We had the family fun package which included the clifton hill fun passes etc. We stayed in a Balcony room which worked out great. We watched the fireworks from our balcony. We had fun watching the person across the street at Screamers house of Horors dressed up and scaring people. The Hotel is close enough to walk to clifton hill and the falls as well as the skylon tower and casinos. 10 to 20 minute walk depending on where you are going. Lots of restaurants around as well. The pool is is an indoor and outdoor pool combined. Staff is nice and rooms are clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: If you want to watch the fireworks from your room instead of walking down by the falls at 10pm. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dtyo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for your positive comments. We are pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable stay. We look forward to having you return as our guest again on your next visit to the Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#13 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near the Falls
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near th...
#31 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Niagara Falls Hotel by the Falls
Travelodge Niagara Falls Hotel b...
#38 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Niagara Falls
Courtyard Niagara Falls
#10 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#22 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one short block to the Top 10 best Clifton Hill Attractions and the mighty water Falls itself and just steps away from the Great Canadian Midway. The Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls is superbly located in the center of the Niagara Falls/Clifton Hill tourist district offering you an incredible selection of restaurants and shopping adventures. The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing