We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were married in Niagara-on-the-Lake on July 23rd and wanted a hotel that was walking distance to Napoli Ristaurante where we had our wedding reception dinner and to everything else the Falls has to offer. Hojo by the Falls was exactly that. Rooms were spacious, clean and bright. The staff were very courteous, prompt and helpful with all our requests. Jennifer from group sales was amazing and helped put my mind to ease that our guests would be taken care of. The kids loved the pool and that Baskin Robbins, Pizza Hut and KFC were in the front lobby. Special thank you to whoever the guests were beside us for putting up with our little party in our room Saturday night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

Thank you for all of your very kind comments - I will be pleased to pass them onto our staff. We are happy to hear that the Hotel could meet you needs for this very special occasion and your stay was memorable. We wish you many happy returns for the future and hope you would continue to visit with us during your future stays in Niagara. Thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,328 - 2,334 of 2,610 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

I was meeting family who were going to be in town and were staying at the Hampton Inn down the street. I'd stayed here a couple of years back and the price was super reasonable compared to the Hampton which was double the price, so stayed here. The location is great and easy walk to meet family and for all the Clifton Hill/Falls stuff.

The staff at check in were friendly and helpful throughout the entire stay. The room was clean and comfortable, The recent renovation has made a big difference as it had sort of an 80s feel to it before. There's nothing super fancy but the beds were comfortable and the bathroom had been recently updated. Housekeeping did a great job as well. The free wifi had a few hiccups but worked great for the most part.

We were there during an extreme heat wave and the indoor/outdoor pool was a life saver. My niece and nephew spent the majority of their stay with me in the pool and had a blast. There's not too many properties with a decent outdoor pool in the falls area and this one the best. Because of the heat it was busy in the pool but never overcrowded. There's a lot to do in the falls and it can really add up, having a fantastic outdoor pool to go back to was a huge benefit for a July visit.

This place will be my goto when staying in the summer months in the falls.. My sister who was staying down the street was shocked when learning of the rate I paid and said they were staying here next time too.

Parking is $8 a night which is fairly reasonable for the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abigllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

Welcome back, thank you for choosing to return to stay with us. We are pleased to hear that the Hotel ammenities and staff were able to provide you with an enjoyable stay. We would be happy to be the "go to" hotel for you and your friends on future visits to the Falls. Thank you for staying with us and many happy returns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Great price, service, and location! Very clean room, recently renovated.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelshelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

Thank you for your compliments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and approved of our recent renovations as well as our service provided. We hope to have you back soon and welcome your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights for our 10th Anniversary. It was our first time being in Canada and being at Niagra Falls. The stay was wonderful and we absolutely loved our hotel room. Our room was one with a King size bed and 2-person jacuzzi. The bed was super comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. The house-keeping service was exceptional! We didn't get up early any of the days that we were there, yet they always straightened our room, brought clean towels, and made the bed.

The only complaints that we had at all were: 1, the remote to the TV didn't seem to work very well; and 2, the bathroom light wasn't very bright. Other than that it's a great hotel, and I would definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: Very good hotel for the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2011

Thank you for choosing to spend this special milestone with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Thank you for the information as to how we may improve our services, We wish you the best and hopefully another 10 great years of celebration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights. We had a very comfortable stay. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The kids loved the pool and the location was perfect for us. It was close to everything and was within a short walking distance to all the tourist attractions of Niagra Falls. We had a wonderful stay here and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Thank you for your very kind comments. I am pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. We look forward to providing you and your friends the same quality of stay on your next visit. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed about 12 years ago for a week, and all was good. I Honestly can't remember why we didn't go back, unless it was because of the poor conditions at OTHER Howard Johnsons. This place is nice and clean, and the amenities are great! Pool, Sauna ans Hot tub were great! I recommended that a couple friends come with their kids, and they put us three doors apart, fantastic! I don't know why the gentleman had trouble with the internet, but mine worked flawlessly on my laptop. The price was very good for the location. I wasn't overjoyed about paying for parking, but at least it was only 8 bucks. $90. all in for that kind of hotel right in the heart of the falls is a great deal. I'll be back in a couple weeks!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevieb4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Thank you for your continued patronage of Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls. We are happy to hear that you are pleased with the return stay and we hope to see you back again soon. Thank you for the information as well where we may improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My friend and I got the "family fun" package for our 2 night stay. It came with so many vouchers we didn't even have time to squeeze everything in.

The hotel itself was very nice. Everything is pretty much newly renovated and our room was very, very clean. The location is just great. It's less than a 5 minute walk to Clifton Hill and about 10 minutes walking to the Falls. We didn't have to drive anywhere. Everything we needed or wanted was super close. We got free shuttle bus passes but we only ended up using them once and it was only because we had already been walking all day.

The staff was wonderful. We pestered them with many questions about the area and they always had an answer for us.

The pool area is well kept but it is kind of small...which was fine considering we were the only ones using it at the time!


The only issue we had was that our a/c was broken. When we realized it we informed the staff and by the time we got back from our dinner and more fun on Clifton Hill, the a/c had been replaced and left on for us =)

We will most definitely be going back to this hotel. You just can't get a better deal while staying in Niagara Falls. Absolutely wonderful stay and I'll be telling others to stay there as well.

Thanks for the wonderful time!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mufintop_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2011

Thank you for the very kind comments. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was so wonderful. We look forward to the opportunity of having you as our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Niagara Falls, ON
0.7 mi away
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls

Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#22 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $47 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one short block to the Top 10 best Clifton Hill Attractions and the mighty water Falls itself and just steps away from the Great Canadian Midway. The Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls is superbly located in the center of the Niagara Falls/Clifton Hill tourist district offering you an incredible selection of restaurants and shopping adventures. The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing