We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Ranked #20 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Not bad for the price”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Room was very clean. The bathroom looked like it had been recently renovated. Only complaint was that the room should have been aired out before we arrived. I believe the room was previously a smoking room because it was a little stuffy when we opened the door. Couldn't open the window but leaving the door open to the hall for a while helped. Great location and front desk staff were very nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrock72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Thank you for your perspective of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that your stay overall was a positve one. We are a non-smoking hotel but unfortunately not all people respect this standard causing inconvenience to our future guests. The windows are secured for safety reasons so that items are not thrown out causing possible injury. We hope to see you back again soon as our guest. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    864
    489
    130
    164
See reviews for
963
932
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We just stayed here for six nights. We had originally book five nights but we loved it so much we stayed another nite. Got great rates directly from their hotel web site hojobythefalls.com. It was the perfect time of the year to go because it wasn't too crowded. Room was clean, spacy and comfortable. Seemed recently updated. Bathroom was recently redone. I read about old red showers.. These seemed new and were white. Beds were comfortable and carpets seemed new too. Staff very friendly. Maids also very nice. Used the hottub by the pool two nites. Was relaxing. Didn't use the pool as we were always out and about during the day sightseeing. We would stay here again and probably will make an annual trip of this hotel. Was the perfect area. Very close to Clifton Hill but far enough from the craziness. Less than a 5 min walk to the heart of the hill. Can't say enough good things about this place. Free wifi a plus. Parking 8 bucks a night but reasonable considering the low rate per night. They have 10% off for AAA MEMBERS also.
We feel like we found a gem!!! Thanks hojobythefalls!

Room Tip: Top floor quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Thank you for your kind praises, we are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to the opportunity of having having you as our guest again. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The hotel is relatively clean, even though our kids said the bed comforters smelled like urine. We were there on a weeknight, and it seemed like it might be noisier on a weekend (judging from the signs all over the hotel). There is no breakfast, so they try to send you to the attached Denny's. Keep in mind, however, that things are more expensive in Canada AND the U.S. exchange rate is weak, so breakfast would be pricey. We stopped at Tim Horton's for good inexpensive breakfast food.

However, the KEY problem with this hotel for us is the internet. There are 12 access points, and they all fade in and out. Even if you can lock your computer into one AP, the internet works about 1-2% of the time. This means I was able to load about 4 pages in 20 minutes and then gave up. It is unfortunate, because it is nice to check weather, local attractions, etc.

Bottom line: I do not recommend this hotel if you need any internet access.

However, location is decent and the pool is not too bad, although the water slide is a joke.

Room Tip: Don't come here if you need internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhaan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Thank you for your perspective regarding your recent stay. The internet is complimentary for our guests and is a secured access. I am not sure what you were trying to download but the guest access is set up for surfing not downloading large files. Many of our guests find the service to be a great benefit. Thank you for your input, we always appreciate hearing from our guests as it helps to improve our services for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

If you are looking for a clean hotel with the BEST staff in the world, you'd better stay here! Fernado, Kevin and their crew are very friendly, most helpful and hardworking people. In my opinion, they maintain an above average place. They recognize us when we arrive making us feel VERY welcome. I can't say enough about the room either. The whirlpool tub was so relaxing! Reasonably priced. Check them out for yourself and see, you too will return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franh52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful compliments. We are happy to be your home away from home and that you enjoyed your stay again. We are always pleased to hear that our staff meets or exceeds the expectations of our guests and we look forward to the next opportunity to have you back with us again. Thank you for your continued patronage of Howard Johnson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Ontario
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We booked a 2 day get away package at the HoJo's on Victoria Avenue. Perfect location to all attractions, room was great, king bed very comfortable. Great deal on the package with breakfast for 2 days and dinner for one night.. Indoor and outdoor pool, hottub. Hotel very clean, but most important..STAFF were amazing! Everyone was friendly and really seemed to care that you were enjoying your stay..this included the housekeeping staff and the maintenance guys. No complaints.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TREDLindsay_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We booked the King bed/Whirlpool room WITH the Family Fun Package for a 2 night vacay.
The package was great for the two of us and we were able to do a little bit of everything over the 3 days we spent in Niagara. It included about 5 different rides and attractions, and 15 tokens for games at the arcade on Clifton hill (the "pass" that they give you says 5 tokens, but when you redeem it, you get the full fifteen as advertised).
We also received food vouchers, and ended up saving more than we calculated. We did end up buying two small lunches though, just because we toured around a bit on the third day (after checkout).

Now, when we checked in, the front desk clerks were very friendly and courtious, and actually very honest about everything. We asked if there are any hidden costs or extras that we would be charged for. They mentioned that if we had a microwave or fridge in our room, we would be charged for it, at 10 dollars a day, but neither was in our room because we didn't order it, and therefore we would not be charged.
Now, the reason why I gave this hotel a 3 is because as soon as we opened the door to our corner room, we were hit with the scent of DOG...MOLD, not sure what it was. Mind you, the room was spotless and very orderly, BUT the odour didn't leave for our two night stay. We put on the vents, we sprayed the room, but nothing would help. Also, we couldn't open the window (family room), so we were stuck. Also, the tub mat was yellowed. We weren't comfortable using it, so we took it out of the tub. These things, we didn't talk to the front desk clerks about.

Other than that, checking and check out were smooth. Room service was on point. The little workout room, looked ok, but we didn't get to check out the pool.

I willstay here the next time I visit Niagara on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camii2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
Thank you for your very kind compliments of the staff, I will be happy to pass along your praise. We are glad to hear that your enjoyed you stay overall. If there is an issue of concern during your stay please do not hesitate to contact the desk as we would rather rectify the issue than let it go unresolved. We look forward to the opportunity of having you as a guest again and maybe getting the chance to try the pool. Thank you for your correspondance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Hotel is pet friendly, for smaller dogs. Which is good for those traveling with their 4 legged friends. My room had a red heart shaped jacuzzi in it. Kinda reminded me on a honeymoon motel at first. But the room was clean, the staff was friendly, and it is well located to the action. I travel often and would rate this as "average". I did not have a chance to check out the pool area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatguy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Thank you for your insights regarding our Hotel, we always appreciate hearing from our guests. We would look forward to opportunity to provide a more positive outcome (not just average) on your next stay. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#13 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near the Falls
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near th...
#31 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Niagara Falls Hotel by the Falls
Travelodge Niagara Falls Hotel b...
#38 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Niagara Falls
Courtyard Niagara Falls
#10 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#22 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one short block to the Top 10 best Clifton Hill Attractions and the mighty water Falls itself and just steps away from the Great Canadian Midway. The Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls is superbly located in the center of the Niagara Falls/Clifton Hill tourist district offering you an incredible selection of restaurants and shopping adventures. The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing