We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Niagara Falls by the River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramada Niagara Falls by the River
Ranked #27 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
sterling,va
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

This hotel is beautiful. It has free breakfast and a pool with a fitness center. Big rooms. Close enough to Niagara falls.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pieeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    480
    243
    97
    55
See reviews for
588
510
47
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

I have stayed here in the past and it was good. Now it is poor. The room was not vacumed duirng the 2 day stay and the bath floor had hair on it when we arrived. Towels were not changed. We got mosquito bites during the night.TV reception is poor. The price was $50 more for the 4th of July (why..it's not in the USA!). One receptionist was nearly nasty when I asked about the price. I have never stayed in a Hampton without a guest computer in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank epola73922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

If you want to stay away from hustle-bustle of the Las Vegas kind of environment, this is right kind of budget hotel to stay at. It is about 2 miles from all the crowded area in nice quiet location. It is right across from one of the attraction of Niagara Falls in Canada. White Water walk is just across the street. So you can buy the Niagara Falls pass from there. Also stops for Niagara Falls trolleys are next to the hotel. So no worry about driving your car and paying parking fees. Just hop on the trolley and you can reach all major attractions.

Room we got was spacious with additional sofa bed. It was clean and facing Chinese Temple. Another quiet place near the hotel. Rooms were clean and equipped with all items that generally you would expect. No smells. No rubbish. We arrived quite late at the hotel. But front desk person was very welcoming. Provided us with all useful information to plan our next day trip.

Free breakfast was highlight of our stay. Breakfast bar with freshly cooked pastries, make your own waffle machine, fresh fruit and many other item itself covered for the cost of the room. Two young ladies at the breakfast room made sure everything was available in sufficient quantities for the guests who kept on pouring till last minute.

Overall the stay was very comfortable and relaxing. My wife has already requested for reservation for next year at same hotel.

Your money can't stretch beyond this... Must stay at this hotel if you like quiet place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoBestWestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
240 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

We spent 2 nights here before we travelled across the border to America. We were allocated a large room with 2 queen beds which were extremely comfortable, I have stayed in better hotels and the beds haven't been as nice. It would have been nice to have had a fridge, air con was great. Yes, it is not near the Falls, but I think that is reflected in the price. We walked there 1 fine morning, and it was a very pleasant half hour walk. We went outside on the deck as it was hot when we were there, but were disappointed to find 2 out of the 3 sun beds broken. I think these should have been checked by the staff. Breakfast was more than adequate.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
687 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 835 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

We drove in from the states along with other families and friends. We had mostly younger children in each family. The hotel had ample and safe parking spaces. The location was too far to walk from the falls and their complimentary shuttle service starts at 3 pm and ends at 10:40 pm. I would recommend getting the Adventure Pass as it comes with 2 days of transportation starting at 10 am until 6 pm. You can start with the Adventure Pass bus and end with the hotel shuttle after the 10 pm fireworks at the falls. The hotel is also right in front of the White Water Walk attraction which is part of the Adventure Pass package.

The rooms are medium sized, with a small closet, 2 queen beds, a desk with wireless internet access and 2 chairs. There are 2 weak bedside lamps, 1 desk lamp, an old TV set with minimal amount of cable channels ( no Disney channel for the kids) and no DVD player. There is no small refrigerator and no microwave oven. The shower was clean and simple, wide enough shower sink. The walls appeared to be thin and you may hear the next room neighbors if they have rowdy kids.

They have an icemaker machine and vending machine at the end of each floor.Their small gym consists of about 3 treadmills and 1 TV set. The swimming pool in the 2nd floor is medium sized with a separate small hot tub at the far end. They serve regular continental breakfast along with 2 hot entrees (small omelet/scrambled eggs and sausage patties/bacon).

The breakfast was enough to jump start your day, they have enough safe parking spots, the rooms are quiet enough ( on the left of the hotel is an abandoned building and on the right is a chinese temple which is empty at night), they have bus stops right across the street and the kids in our group enjoyed the pool at the end of tiring day.

The hotel is not within walking distance of any fast food place. The nearest restaurant (Frontier Grill House) a few blocks away had inadequate service (we basically refilled our own drinks), mediocre food, long wait times and expensive prices. You are better off going to Niagara On the Lake and eating at the restaurants over there. They may be expensive but at least they will satisfy your palate.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Big_bro_1_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
860 reviews
476 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 938 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

Found a deal here for $59, which made it significantly cheaper than other Niagara Falls motels of similar quality. For that price, I had no real complaints. That said, without a good discount, I'd probably choose to stay elsewhere.

First, you'll really need a car to stay here. Sure, there's some bus transport to the Falls and other sights along the river, but I can't imagine wanting to use public transportation here. You'd do much better staying right at the Falls. And you probably wouldn't want to walk to the Falls from here -- it would take a good 30 minutes.

But with a car, the location is fine. Most of the hotels near the falls are still a pretty good walk to the viewing area, so driving over from this Hampton Inn isn't a bad alternative. BTW, if you're willing to walk 10 minutes, you can find free parking in the residential neighborhoods about 2 blocks north of the large Casino. The location along the river north the Falls also gives easy access for a drive up the Parkway to the very pleasant (and winery-filled) town of Niagara-on-the-Lake.

I found my room to be very large and the furnishings reasonably up to date. The beds and linens were excellent, much better than a typical motel. My rooms was away from the elevator which seemed good, since the elevator was noisy.

The pool/sauna area is nicely located with a view across the river to the American side (you'd be hard pressed to actually see the river though). Unfortunately, the pool is very shallow and relatively small, so more suited to kids than a more "serious" swim.

The hotel almost lost it's 4-stars because breakfast wasn't particularly good. Previous reviews spoke of sausages, but no meat was served on my breakfast. Just over-cooked eggs, under-cooked hash browns, and your usual assortment of mediocre bread products and cereals. I ate it because it was there and free, not because it was particularly tasty.

One final warning I'd give to Americans right now is that they might do better staying on the US side because the Canadian dollar is "over-valued" when the two currencies trade at near equal value. Add in the expensive sales tax and there are no bargains to be had in Canada. Most everything will be 25% or more cheaper on the American side.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

This place is not that bad. When you check in request to stay away from the elevator. The hotel is dated but for the price you cant really complain. I stayed here twice because of the low cost and ok location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pnhayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
2.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#13 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Niagara Falls Fallsview
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cairn Croft Hotel
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Niagara Falls by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Niagara Falls by the River

Property: Ramada Niagara Falls by the River
Address: 4357 River Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3E8, Canada (Formerly Hampton Inn by Hilton Niagara Falls-North Of The Falls)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#9 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Niagara Falls by the River 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy proximity to one of the world's natural wonders when you stay at our Ramada Niagara Falls by the River. Located on the Niagara Parkway, we are the closest property to the Gale Centre sporting facility, directly across from the Great Gorge Adventure and steps from the WEGO Stop - which offers direct access to The Falls and many local sites. We are just minutes from Casino Niagara, Niagara Hornblower Cruises and Clifton Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Niagara Falls by the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Niagara Falls-North Of The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing