We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent choice -- at the right price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Niagara Falls by the River
Ranked #32 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
896 reviews
484 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 951 helpful votes
“A decent choice -- at the right price”
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Found a deal here for $59, which made it significantly cheaper than other Niagara Falls motels of similar quality. For that price, I had no real complaints. That said, without a good discount, I'd probably choose to stay elsewhere.

First, you'll really need a car to stay here. Sure, there's some bus transport to the Falls and other sights along the river, but I can't imagine wanting to use public transportation here. You'd do much better staying right at the Falls. And you probably wouldn't want to walk to the Falls from here -- it would take a good 30 minutes.

But with a car, the location is fine. Most of the hotels near the falls are still a pretty good walk to the viewing area, so driving over from this Hampton Inn isn't a bad alternative. BTW, if you're willing to walk 10 minutes, you can find free parking in the residential neighborhoods about 2 blocks north of the large Casino. The location along the river north the Falls also gives easy access for a drive up the Parkway to the very pleasant (and winery-filled) town of Niagara-on-the-Lake.

I found my room to be very large and the furnishings reasonably up to date. The beds and linens were excellent, much better than a typical motel. My rooms was away from the elevator which seemed good, since the elevator was noisy.

The pool/sauna area is nicely located with a view across the river to the American side (you'd be hard pressed to actually see the river though). Unfortunately, the pool is very shallow and relatively small, so more suited to kids than a more "serious" swim.

The hotel almost lost it's 4-stars because breakfast wasn't particularly good. Previous reviews spoke of sausages, but no meat was served on my breakfast. Just over-cooked eggs, under-cooked hash browns, and your usual assortment of mediocre bread products and cereals. I ate it because it was there and free, not because it was particularly tasty.

One final warning I'd give to Americans right now is that they might do better staying on the US side because the Canadian dollar is "over-valued" when the two currencies trade at near equal value. Add in the expensive sales tax and there are no bargains to be had in Canada. Most everything will be 25% or more cheaper on the American side.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    499
    273
    105
    65
See reviews for
621
547
50
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

This place is not that bad. When you check in request to stay away from the elevator. The hotel is dated but for the price you cant really complain. I stayed here twice because of the low cost and ok location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnhayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Was not happy with the service when I arrived there. wasn't a "welcome to Hampton inn, how are you doing or how was your travelling here" nothing like that. We were on the 1st floor which not exciting and hoping the kids could look out view. Gave me one key and had to ask for another key. got into the room the tv doesn't work. we plugged it in and wouldn't turn in still. My husband said he could smell burntz circuits so we called front desk and had sent someone right away to fix it which was good. Later that night went swimming was fine and kids had fun. My son and went back to our room get change because he was getting tired and was cold. Key doesn't work so had to go to front desk to get a new one this wasn't the first time, all together three or four times. was getting mad because had to go back to front desk to get them to fix the problem. Ones before was my husband couldn't get in and myself as well. beds were comfortable which was nice, shower had good water pressure and was hot. breakfast was good lots of varities to choose from which was good for our family. overall wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddydeuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Paid for a room with whirlpool tub, the Tub was disgusting and lecked. There was a noise that you could here 24-7, The shower was very very small, The advertise hot breakfast which they did not have, all they had was coffee. Call Hilton about the stay, it took like a year to be compted for the bad stay. I no longger will stay at any Hilton Family hotel.

Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nightgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2009

Friendly staff, nice room, bathroom accessories, comfortable bed, green, substantial breakfast included, parking included...about a mile from the falls is the only downside, perhaps.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

Check in was quick and painless. Stayed in 419, at the other end of the hall from the elevator- still heard it though until late at night. Room was clean (2 Queen beds), limited channels. Indoor pool was okay, nothing fancy. BTW, towels for the pool must be picked up at the front desk.
Breakfast was okay. Toast, cereal, juice, sausage, eggs, french toast- coffee not so good, but oh well.
The free shuttle starts running at 10 am until about midnight I believe, once an hour with two excepections due to the drivers lunch/dinner break. This required us to stick to a schedule. Hotel is NOT within walking distance to the falls, it really felt longer than 1.5 miles, but I might be wrong. Internet worked fine for us.
Front desk clerks were friendly if approached, but didn't seem too outgoing. This place worked for us though, as we were not planning on spending much time there. If you are looking for luxury, this place definitely is not it. BTW, they offer military discount.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizzswiss14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

This place was full of school groups - running around the hallways at all hours and at breakfast.
Rooms were of reasonable size, but felt tired. The elevators are noisy (although only one was working), so essential to avoid rooms near them. We were several rooms away and could still hear them.
Free internet didn't work and the hotel were not interested in getting it back up and running.
Free breakfast was of poor quality, especially for a Hampton Inn. Orange juice was actually orange drink,. Clearly they were catering for the large school groups.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneSavvyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Niagara Falls Fallsview
2.0 mi away
Ramada Niagara Falls/Fallsview
Ramada Niagara Falls/Fallsview
#42 of 128 in Niagara Falls
2,927 reviews
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Niagara Falls by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Niagara Falls by the River

Property: Ramada Niagara Falls by the River
Address: 4357 River Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3E8, Canada (Formerly Hampton Inn by Hilton Niagara Falls-North Of The Falls)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#9 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Niagara Falls by the River 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy proximity to one of the world's natural wonders when you stay at our Ramada Niagara Falls by the River. Located on the Niagara Parkway, we are the closest property to the Gale Centre sporting facility, directly across from the Great Gorge Adventure and steps from the WEGO Stop - which offers direct access to The Falls and many local sites. We are just minutes from Casino Niagara, Niagara Hornblower Cruises and Clifton Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Niagara Falls by the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Niagara Falls-North Of The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing