We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Niagara Falls by the River
Ranked #27 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed there for two night during the Labor Day weekend. My main problem was very strong smell in our room -- possibly a combination of mildew and various chemicals. When we complained to the front desk they said that they could send someone with a spray -- exactly what we didn't want! The dining room gets very crowded (at least it did when we were there) towards the end of breakfast (which is from 6 to 10) -- some people had to eat standing.

Other than that, no other complaints. It's a few files north of the falls, but there are buses that stop near the hotel (if you don't want to drive).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Potown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    485
    253
    100
    56
See reviews for
602
518
47
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Erie, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Quick review:
Hampton Inn standard hotel, about 2km from Clifton Hill in Niagara Falls, lot's of FREE parking, very pictuesque area, scenic, highly reccomend.
And rates after Labour Day drop significantly.

Do not hesitate to book this Hampton Inn when travelling to Niagara Falls, Ontario.

Room Tip: Gorge view offers a fantastic view of the Niagara Gorge ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bflojim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
336 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Hampton North of the Falls is a bit off the beaten track, so it offers bargain rates, especially off season. I was driving home to Toronto yesterday, from the New York metropolitan area, through hours of drenching downpours with almost zero visibility and was exhausted by the time I got to the border. The beacon I was aiming for was this Hampton--I have stayed here many times and it does not disappoint. First, the Hampton Inn on River Road can not be rivaled for value for the money--all the wonderful Hampton amenities (fabulous bedding package, pool and hot tub, 24 hour coffee, tea and hot chocolate, free upscale hot breakfast with make your own waffles and fresh fruit salad, as well as many other choices, computer access, friendly and helpful staff) and I only paid fifty three dollars plus taxes with my CARP discount--the price goes down after Labor Day.
One can upgrade to a room with a lovely heart shaped two person whirlpool.
The one disadvantage is that even the most upscale room at this motel does not have either a fridge or microwave. I have learned to work with this arrangement by bringing any food I want to heat to the microwave in the breakfast area and eating there. I generally travel with coolers of food packed in blue ice--in the cooler months, I leave the coolers in the car overnight--sometimes, I bring the ice inside and the staff puts it in the freezer for me. Last night, I employed my summer plan--I wheeled the two entire coolers into the walk in breakfast fridge at the motel and left them there overnight.
The staff is a pleasure to work with at this hotel.
One thing the motel does need to attend to is the seals on the windows. I was in room 511 and a pretty large section of the carpeting below the window and extending to the bed, was sopping wet, even though the window was apparently closed. One does need to step into this area to draw the drapes at night. So, if it has been raining, you might want to pretest that area before striding into it in socks.
The breakfast is awesome. There is a free trolley to the Falls every hour or one can walk the mile and a half along the Niagara river, which is a nice, scenic stroll. There is free parking at this Hampton (not so at its sister properties Embassy Suites and the Hilton, where valet parking is very pricey) and here is a neat tip--if you park at the casino and walk down the hill to the Falls, it only costs five bucks.
And, if one has a Nexus card, the Whirlpool Bridge has practically no waiting line to cross the border and deposits you onto River Road, mere feet from this Hampton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShifraToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here with family of 4 (2 adults, 9yr, 2yr). The room was clean, comfortable beds, has free wifi, nice complimentary sit-down breakfast. Go early for breakfast (before 8am) to avoid hotel crowds. Microwave available in dining area. No refrigerator in the room, so we used ice buckets to keep milk cold. Hotel has an indoor swimming pool but it's not heated and too cold to swim. Beverage vending machine and ice available on each floor. Highly recommend bringing bottled water and pop to save $$. Closeby to all Niagara attractions without the noise and crowd.

Room Tip: We booked through priceline.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax,VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was a lovely and convenient place to stay. The room was clean, beds comfortable, and the complimentary breakfast was good. We enjoyed the convenience of this hotel. This was only a 1.5 mile walk to Niagara Falls and to the downtown area, no need to bring the car. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChefKFairfax_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

All the tripadvisor reviews were I read dead on. Clean rooms and hotel, breakfast was delicious but need a larger room to accomadate all summer guests. Wi-Fi was free but I would rather pay a fee for faster service, reminded me of dial up connection.
Al in all would recommend and probably go back.

Room Tip: Rooms with Jacuzzi are very large, lots of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were a family group that had 3 rooms for 5 days at this hotel. The facility is older and certainly showing wear. My bathroom had a drain leak in the ceiling that caused water to pour from the fan when the occupants above me showered. It took several days to resolve the problem - with no offer of another room or discounted rate. Don't look under the bed! In one room retrieving our child's toy revealed old food from previous occupants under the bed. Don't expect customer service. Asking the front desk about fast food menus at the front desk yielded a reply "look in the yellow pages." Asking about cost of laundry services (prices not listed in room) resulted in the reply "I don't really know. I'm sure it's about $3 or so." We sent 4 items and were charged $41.41. They were sorry for the misinformation, but again no type of compensation. Breakfast was very crowded and they had difficulty keeping food items stocked - including coffee. We made the decision to stay here based on the slightly lower rate for most days because the location was just a bit out of the main tourist areas. It wasn't worth it. I wouldn't do it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cairn Croft Hotel
2.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#14 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Niagara Falls Fallsview
2.0 mi away
Ramada Niagara Falls/Fallsview
Ramada Niagara Falls/Fallsview
#42 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Niagara Falls by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Niagara Falls by the River

Property: Ramada Niagara Falls by the River
Address: 4357 River Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3E8, Canada (Formerly Hampton Inn by Hilton Niagara Falls-North Of The Falls)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#9 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Niagara Falls by the River 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy proximity to one of the world's natural wonders when you stay at our Ramada Niagara Falls by the River. Located on the Niagara Parkway, we are the closest property to the Gale Centre sporting facility, directly across from the Great Gorge Adventure and steps from the WEGO Stop - which offers direct access to The Falls and many local sites. We are just minutes from Casino Niagara, Niagara Hornblower Cruises and Clifton Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Groupon, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Niagara Falls by the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Niagara Falls-North Of The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing