We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it in the winter”
Review of Niagara Falls

Niagara Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$142.22*
and up
Half-Day Canadian Side Sightseeing Tour of Niagara Falls with Cruise and...
More Info
$109.95*
and up
Classic All Canadian Tour of Niagara Falls
More Info
$136.83*
and up
Gems of Niagara Falls Small-Group Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Three magnificent falls, two American and one Canadian, mark the point at which the Niagara River rumbles over the Niagara Escarpment.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“Love it in the winter”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Feb 2/3 was the perfect time to be done, had some snow, everything covered and looking georgous. A nature beauty that we never get tired of visiting and always so much to do in town.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Whiteknight_013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24,873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20,393
    3,508
    755
    143
    74
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What's not to like??”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was our third visit to the Canadian side of the falls, and we would happily go back again and again. Our visit this time was in August and the temps were in the mid-thirties, but the mist and breeze from the Falls made us feel very comfortable. The sun created many rainbows sparkling in the mist, making the whole experience magical.

The power and roar of the water was breath taking, and we could happily stand and watch for hours. One place the visitors can stand is only a couple of yards from the brink of the falls - you could literally almost reach out and touch them. Eating places are plentiful and not expensive. Parking was not a problem: despite there being many thousands of tourists there that day we got parked about 5 minute walk away. Woud love to visit in the winter!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank happyholidays673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A vue that cut my breath away”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The falls are just to gorgous in a way absolutly gorgous. My son was impress by the largest of the falls with the light for the show at night its grandiose. Niagara is ready for you traveler they have everything ready for us to play, enjoy gastronomic experience, Good Spa all the goodies we need on vacation but its EXTREMLY EXPENSIVE so get ready and empty your pocket in just few day. Is it worth it Yes but only one time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank natasha d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW JERSEY
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“wonderful locale. A trip to repeat over and over”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

WE have been lucky enough to visit the falls in winter, fall and spring. Each has its own particular charm. This January the view from the Canadian side was truly spectacular with ice-crystals from the falls spray covering trees, bushes, escarpments, literally everything. Quite the winter wonderland.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank STEPHENCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Parking Ticket”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I stopped over in Niagara Falls on our way south. We first tried to park on the street around the corner from Mama Mia's Restaurant, a long-time favourite of ours. I put a toonie in the parking meter. It was ejected. When I tried again, the meter simply swallowed it without giving me the require tag for my car.
We went around the corner to a city-run lot.
The meter again kept rejecting the toonie.
We were hungry and frustrated, so we went to eat.
When we came out, there was a $20 ticket on our windshield.
This is a pretty lousy way for the city of Niagara Falls to treat people who are willing to come to
visit in the middle of the week, in the middle of winter. As we already had hotel
reservations, we had no choice but to stay.

Our next trip south will definitely include by-passing Niagara Falls.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Herb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niagara Falls also viewed

 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing