We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls
Ranked #28 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed May 12, 2007

We just spend one night in Niagara Falls.

We arrived early are were allowed to park for free in the hotel parking lot - which was a bonus.

We booked a non-smoking king bed suite.

When we checked in we were given a room with a double bed.

When we called down to the front desk they were rude to us saying that there were no non-smoking king rooms and that we would have to either "deal with what we were given" or take the smoking room.

We took the kind bed with the smoking room. The room was really large - larger than expected. I agree with some of the other reviews that the rooms are dated. Our bath tub faucets didnt completly work. They also leaked.

The morning breakfast was a lot more than we expected.

The only thing about the loby area were the tropical birds in the lobby. They were messy - bird seed all over the ground - and noisy. Because of the high ceilings the sound echoed.

Overall - I would not stay in this hotel again. I would spend the extra money for an updated property.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,488 - 1,494 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2007

There was a small group of us that stayed here for a small wedding in April 2007. As far as location, we thought it was wonderful. We parked the car when we got there, and never got in it until the day we left. For some people that is a big bonus. AS parking any where in Niagara can be very expensive-up to 25/day. This hotel offered free parking.

It was literally about a 5 minute walk to Clifton Hill. Beds are terrific here, and the breakfast was a great touch. Enough to get you going in the morning. The Atrium area is quite nice, with a small pool. The rooms overall were tired, and were of need of some updating, but we found we were not in the room that much to worry about it. We did have a small issue with water though. The morning we were all getting ready for the wedding, there was no Hot water. We had to do some very creative showering. That was not the greatest, but the hotel did give a bit of a discount.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay in Niagara Falls, and would definitley go back to this hotel. We are planning a 1 year anniversary party already!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank YZR_TA_CWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2007

From check in to check out, this place was Great. The Jacuzzi in room was wonderful. The Bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on. The price was definatly fair and on par with other quality hotels in the area. No real view, but unique layout and tropical lobby. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank 666Brampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2007

We (3) were in Niagara Falls area for hockey tournament. Hotel was o.k. for our purposes. Not your typical image of a Hampton Inn. Dated! Our room was small, but clean. We were off the atrium which got noisy in the evening(sometimes until midnight). Breakfast was o.k. - typical continental, but there were some hot items each day. Pool was very small and uninviting. Stayed at Sheraton on the Falls last year and thought Hampton Inn was a better value - free breakfast and free parking! Would stay again - but only for a hockey tournament!

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mary Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2006

Anyone that does complain about this hotel either just experienced bad luck or views themself as royalty and want a brand new 5 star hotel. The location is 5 minutes from the famed Clifton Hill tourist area. and for less then $300 during the Christmas holidays, we received 2 night stay in a jacuzzi suite (the room was very large with a balcony looking onto the atrium/lobby) a bottle of wine, cheese, free parking, free hot breakfast (would have been a decent meal even if it was $5-8) and a $50 voucher for a 5star meal at either the restaurants at Brock Plaza or Sheraton Fallsview, both of which are gorgeous restaurants. Although I have read some complaints from this hotel on travel sites, I can't imagine why, it was such great value, i've stayed in probably 20 hotels in Niagara, and really who goes to Niagara to sit in the hotel room the entire time anyways? you shouldn't be disappointed with a room here but if you are a snob like some of the reviewers, stick to places like sheraton and hilton.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank jmckee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2006

We stayed at the hotel over Christmas. I 100% agree with other posts that the hotel is extremely dated and the carpets have more stains than clean spots. The maintenance is badly lackingas well (things falling apart). The pool is TINY. never even bothered going in. "Full hot breakfast" a joke the only hot items were waffles and sausages which there never were any.

There were 2 good things about the hotel. The beds were very comfortable. And, the customer service was amazing when we complained about the problems and they lived up to their satisfaction promise.

We booked the Waterpark package. The waterpark was great but a drag having to walk in the cold weather. If you want the waterpark stay at one of the connected hotels since there are only tiny lockers and you have to take your coats in with you. The price of food at the park was very reasonable compared to the other inflated places nearby (ie, Perkins). The hotel is a good 20 minute walk to the water.

Must DO in Niagara Falls: The Sky Wheel. Well worth the money ($10/person). There is a Family rest. on Clifton Hill (can't remember the exact name). We didn't eat there but the prices looked reasonable and the people coming out seemed happy.

DON'T DO: Hampton Inn at the Falls. Spend a few more bucks and go to a newer hotel. It's well worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joyjoy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2006

Staying often at the chain (and at Hiltons worldwide) I expected the typical Hampton Inn experience. Not this one here, though - the property is a uniquely themed motel with a pool in its atrium and a number of rooms with private balconies (yes!) facing the atrium. A bird cage added another exotic touch to the place. Location just a short walk away from Clifton Hill main tourist drag, and the place was dead when I arrived early evening - mid-week before Christmas, very few people at Niagara Falls and I had the town on my own.

Check-in swift as always, friendly and professional. Was upgraded to a jacuzzi suite, which was great: large room, super-comfy Hampton Inn king with more cushions than fingers on my hand that all sleeps you like a baby! If you need a downside: there were no bubbles to go with the jacuzzi but guess the shampoo can do the job, too.

Breakfast plentiful with large and comfortable area next to pool in atrium, including hot items (sausage patties), but nothing extraordinary/pretty much standard.

Probably more family-oriented rather than geared exclusively towards business travellers, however, large desk and ample lighting comforted my work needs easily. Loved the un-typical Hampton Inn setting though fully up to the chain's standards, enjoyed a great stay would return immediately!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank OnTheM0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
#33 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Niagara Falls, ON
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#14 of 128 in Niagara Falls
888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls

Address: 5591 Victoria Ave, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L4, Canada (Formerly Hampton Inn by Hilton at the Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#19 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $74 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton Victoria Inn At The Falls located on the Falls Avenue Resort, is within a block of Niagara Falls and the Clifton Hill tourist district. The hotel also sits directly across from Casino Niagara and the Fallsview Indoor Waterpark. The Clifton Victoria Inn has long been a family favorite thanks to exceptional complimentary services and amenities, such as complimentary hot/cold breakfast buffet, 100% smoke free facilities, free wireless internet access and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton At The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn At The Falls
Niagara Falls Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing