We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A substandard Duplex Suite with nice views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton on the Falls
Ranked #7 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 925 helpful votes
“A substandard Duplex Suite with nice views”
Reviewed January 15, 2007

An average Sheraton in an unbeatable location just steps from Clifton Avenue. The views on the higher floors are superb, but a bit far from the falls (compared to the Sheraton Fallsview with the Horseshoe Fall seemingly right below your nose). As we wanted to enjoy the Falls to the fullest, we happily decided on the highest priced room available on the website, which was a Duplex Falls View Suite on the top floor. We had expected a top quality room with unrivalled views from two-story windows. We were rather disappointed upon entering our suite. It was an old, dull and cheaply appointed suite with 3-star motel style furnishing. Worst of all, the two-story window was there but it was a very narrow window almost hidden away in the room's corner and further obstructed by a concrete slab ruuning across its center. So in effect, it wasn't a panoramic two-story window one would expect in a Duplex Suite facing the falls. We could not actually lounge in the living room and immerse the views as might be expected.

However, there was a very small balcony which one person (at a time) could stand on and fully enjoy the views below. Although the bathroom was large, it was dark and fell far below the standards of typical Sheraton properties. A very badly designed suite with every aspect deserving a major upgrade.

It in interesting to note that on the hotel website, we found some lovely pictures of various rooms, including one of a nice, bright bathroon actually overlooking the falls. We did inquire upon check-in if there was indeed a higher category room that the one we boked, i.e. Penthouse/ Presidential Suite, etc. of which were were willing to pay to upgrade our booking. The check-in staff firmly and confidently explained that the Duplex Falls View Suite was indeed the hotel's highest category and most expensive room (after seeing it, we found that hard to believe). We still wonder which room category that lovely bathroom with a beautiful view belonged to. All in all, none of the staff had been particularly helpful and we had an average stay. Nevertheless, we enjoyed the location and the hotel's good proximity to the Falls. Although we understand that there are no 5-star deluxe category accomodations within the immediatel area of the Falls, one should fare better at the Sheraton Falls View Hotel, which we stayed years ago and felt the views were considerably nicer (closer and more spectacular).

Not an entirely bad recommendation if looking for decent accomodations in a nice location offering lovely views. Just don't bother to waste your money on a fancy sounding "Duplex Falls View Suite". Regular Falls View Rooms appear to be moderately priced and can offer adequate views for the price charged.

  • Liked — The great location
  • Disliked — The substandard, run-down suite
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
40 Thank foodietraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,246
    2,058
    776
    340
    257
See reviews for
2,413
2,628
140
439
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,056)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

Only stayed one night to soak in the falls and area. Pretty tacky tacky area but great hotel to enjoy it in. I'm not a fan of families or kids, but this hotel made it possible to not be surrounded by them.

Very convenient, nice location to attractions, etc. Very comfortable bed.

Staff was extremely hospitable.

  • Liked — Comfortable, Convenient, and Friendly
  • Disliked — KIDS
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JimAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world travellers
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2006

Fantastic experience from the start. Stayed in a fallsview room on the 16th floor and words cant really describe the awesome views! The room had a whirlpool bath and the biggest, most comfortable bed ever. It is so easy and convenient to walk wherever you want to go - all the attractions up Clifton Hill, and along to the Falls themselves. The dinner buffet in the Penthouse Restaurant costs $34-95pp and was exceptional value & delicious. Considering what we paid for our stay it would have been nice to have breakfast included - it was quite high for room only.

  • Liked — The view; and convenient location to everything!
  • Disliked — That breakfast was not included in the price
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JimJam_LippyCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2006

My husband & I stayed at Sheraton on the Falls just after Boxing Day & we absolutely loved it. As Gold Starwood Preferred Guests, we received an automatic upgrade to a Fallsview King Jacuzzi room on the 17th floor. The room had a fireplace & a nice sitting area. There was even a small TV in the bathroom with a remote control so we could watch TV while enjoying the jacuzzi. I guessed they just renovated the room so everything looked pretty new and clean.

We didn't need to pay for parking as our Casino player cards offer free parking & it happened that Sheraton uses the same parking garage. So we didn't need to bring our jackets when visiting both the old and the new casinos. The newly-built waterpark, Brock Plaza Hotel, the old Casino, Hard Rock Cafe, Planet Hollywood & some of the Clifton Hills' games arcades are all linked with an indoor walkway. Staying so close to Clifton Hills was definitely a BIG PLUS.

Besides, our room offered a stunning view of both the American & Canadian falls. It was absolutely spectacular when we watched the fireworks for both nights of our stay. Fireworks were on every night at 9 p.m. for 5 minutes from Boxing Day to New Year's Eve.

The weather definitely helped make our visit to Niagara Falls even more enjoyable. We could walk from the American Falls to the Horseshoe Falls & back without feeling freezing cold in late December. The Festival of Lights were gorgeous, though the ones on Dufferin Island were almost the same every year. Our stay was so great and relaxing that we're planning on when we should go back again, just to stay at Sheraton on the Falls once more & enjoy a great room with an excellent value of less than $100 per night.

  • Liked — Its view & location
  • Disliked — Its slow elevators
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a fallsview room on higher floors above the pool on the 14th floor
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wismergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2006

This was the worst experience I have had in a hotel...ever. I have stayed in other Sheratons and never had a problem. The most disappointing thing was being deceived by the person who booked our trip and then having the manager use the standard, "but you agreed upon the rate". Long story short.... my friend looked on line and then called and spoke with a person from the hotel about the rates and packages (the waterpark). she was led to believe she was saving money. Once checked in I found out that you could buy park passes for 29.95 if bought at the hotel. I realized we were being charged over double what it would cost if we just booked a night and bought our waterpark passes when we arrived. If we bought the night (149.00) and the 3 passes needed ($90 if bought without a "package") we would have paid around $240...instead we were being charged $360! Not to mention we bought 2 night packages and noone told us that a one night pass was good for one day PLUS the next day until 3pm. Thankfully we cancelled the night at 360, but still were being charged $320 for the one night we kept as a package. After much discussion w/the manager who never admitted that we were being overcharged we were credited $50, bringing our one day package down to only $30 over what it would have been if we purchased it all separately. I have NEVER bought a package "deal" where you are actually paying MORE than if you didn't purchase the package. Lesson learned! I also should add that I did have a preferred starwood number...which didn't mean a thing the whole stay. I also had a smoke filled room (a NONsmoking room) which caused my eyes to be bright red. They did "ionize" the room which did help a little, but the smell remained in the curtains and my eyes burned the whole stay. It also would have helped if the window wasn't broken and I could air it out and if the room wasn't so dusty. I was told the window handles were "on order". The hotel is NOT conveniently located close to the Waterpark (the other two hotels connected are much closer). You have to walk through a game arcade, through the Hard Rock Restuarant, through The BROCK (another hotel that looked really nice) and up the elevator. Oh, parking is NOT convenient either. The Sheraton on the Falls is a disgrace to the Starwood chain.

  • Liked — Close to RainForest Cafe...only good restuarant nearby
  • Disliked — Being overcharged
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont purchase packages offered by Sheraton on the Falls
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank jdjennib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

Managed to upgrade to a Fallsview room - awesome. Nothing can beat the majesty of the Falls, they are simply breathtaking.
Hotel seems nothing more than a transit Hotel, a little impersonal and lacks atmosphere. All said, I would stay again purely for it's location & the stunning view. Penthouse Restaurant was well worth a visit, Dinner for 2 with a bottle of wine £70, with a perfect Falls view.
Also enjoyed a beer at the Hard Rock Cafe, entry from Hotel is easy. Clifton Hill, very, very tacky, did not like that part of Niagara at all.

  • Liked — Fallsview Room
  • Disliked — Looked a little tired in places
  • Tips/Secrets — Without a Fallsview room it's the same as any other Hotel
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Eastieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Va.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

Let me start off by saying some people are not happy unless they are complaining.
We had a wonderful stay, room (fallsview) was spacious and clean, elevators worked fine, the food was good, the hotel staff was friendly and helpful, In all, everything was great. The only complaint I have is, we requested a King Room and they had no listing of that, and we were give two doubles. I am very tall and require a king size bed.

Niagara Falls is extremely expensive and tax laden

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Very Expensive
  • Tips/Secrets — Take plenty of money
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaudet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.0 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
1.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Falls

Property: Sheraton on the Falls
Address: 5875 Falls Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#4 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#6 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#6 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton on the Falls 4*
Number of rooms: 669
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA/CAA 4-Diamond Sheraton on the Falls hotel offers the largest, most luxurious Fallsview accommodations in Niagara Falls, Canada. Located directly across from Niagara Falls and in the heart of the tourist district, the hotel features the best views of the Falls which are showcased by the floor to ceiling windows in all Fallsview rooms & suites. Sheraton is also home to outstanding guest services & amenities which include two new fallsview dining experiences; the 4-Diamond award winning Windows by Jamie Kennedy and the Fallsview Buffet. In addition, the hotel offers the breathtaking new Christienne Fallsview Spa, and indoor connections to the attractions, dining, and entertainment located on the 20 acre Falls Avenue Resort including Casino Niagara, and the Fallsview Indoor Waterpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton on the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Sheraton Hotel Niagara Falls
Sheraton Falls
Sheraton Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing