We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
Ranked #32 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed July 20, 2008

I was skeptical at first, but wanted to save money so I chose Skyline Inn. What a good choice. Yes, there is no view, but the rooms, bathroom and hotel staff was terrific. Don't bother with a terrace room (balcony) unless you want to simply sit outside as there is no view. The courtyard is an indoor area - very nice, but still no view. Regardless, this is a very nice hotel. No pool, but you can use roughly 4 pools at the other nearby hotels at no charge. The only real downside is that you have to walk an extra block to get to the sites/action, but for the cost savings, I consider this a very small price to pay. Everything is in walking distance, or a short walk to the bus system which takes you anywhere you need to go along the main drag. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone that likes nice accomodations at an attractive price. If you want to save some money and still stay in a very nice hotel, this is the place to seriously consider. When we come back, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank dmorche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,302 - 1,308 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2008

The Skyline Inn was a very nice place to stay if you are looking for something that was affordable and if you are on a budget. Staff at the front desk were very courteous and helpful in answering all of our questions about the Falls and the local attractions. Rooms were very clean and they even put up a movie for the kids in the courtyard at night. I must say though that the Falls View Water Park that was adjacent to the Skyline, with there nice causeway from the Inn to the park, was Fabulous! A big hit with the kids. The jungle gym that had water coming out of every pipe and the 1000 gallon tipping bucket was incredible. I could not get my son off of it and it's slides until we tried the Canadian Plunge Bowl on the other side. It was literally a giant human tolit bowl to flush people down the drain. Now I know how that mouse felt like in Flushed Away. After two days, we were exhausted from all the stairs we did to ride the 4 tube slides and the two mat and body slides. Food was good at the Beach House, little arcade was nice and breakfast at the Perkins Family Restaurant and Bakery was delicious. You have to buy there muffins as when you buy 3, you get 3 for free. For my family and for someone who has never seen the falls, it was a trip that we will never forget!

Sincerely,

Satisfied American

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank twinturbos_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

I was a bit weary when booking this hotel, as there had been some harsh reviews! However, they were proved wrong as soon as we stepped into the hotel. It was been re-decorated (or re-modelled as they say there!) and has nice leather chairs and dark wood in the reception. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was massive with 2 (yes 2!!) double beds! The room had also been re-decorated in neutral tones and was clean and very functional. The bathroom was small, but had everything we needed. It was modern too and very clean.

The setup of the internal courtyard was a bit strange, but quirky! Plus they have film nights and everyone takes along pillows and blankets and they have a big screen, which was really good for families!

I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank scotlass99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

**First of all, U.S citizens, be sure to have VALID identification for crossing the border. They mean serious business! 2 of us had current passports and one of us had an OFFICIAL birth certificate copy and valid and current driver's license. The taxi driver told us that he has people all the time who think they have what they need and they get stopped for hours at the border and then sent back. Currently you can cross by land (not air) over the border with an official (not photocopy) birth certificate AND driver's license, but that law is due to change next year so that you must have a passport.**

The hotel was nice enough for the economically minded family. It was in a safe area. Average size rooms which were clean and quiet. No view of the falls, but we were hardly in the room and the lower hotel cost let us enjoy more activities at the falls themselves. The hotel was right next door to a Perkins Restaurant (mm-mmm, try the pancakes or country style potatoes!). Or there were plenty of other restaurants within convenient walking distance. The hotel was also connected to a waterpark at the Brock Hotel. Friendly front desk service. Note: We had already paid for our room via Travelocity but when we arrived the front desk told us that they hold a $50 deposit against your card for any additional charges that might be incurred during your stay. They didn't tell us that they actually charge your card and then credit your card back within 3? days after your stay. On the positive side, we arrived 4 hours early and they allowed us to check-in and they also held our luggage for us when we checked out the next day so that we could keep sightseeing. I would stay at this hotel again.

You could walk easily to a great tourist shopping and amusement district and the falls were within walking distance for the mildly physically fit (about 20-25 minute walk to get all the way to the Canadian falls). The walk is enjoyable as it takes you by the shopping district, a beautiful park with koi ponds and fountains, and then the falls.

The airport taxi driver told us that regulations stated that taxis are not allowed to wait for fares in the falls area so be prepared with a taxi service number if you don't want to walk. I didn't see any taxis that were waiting for customers, only taxis dropping customers off. Car rentals are expensive and parking is costly ($13-$20) and gas is $4.35 a gallon. Traffic is ridiculous and pedestrians are constantly running across the street. We read that Niagara receives 20-30 million visitors a year and the majority come July and August. I think they all arrived on July 4th when we were there!

As an aside, I was really looking forward to a spectacular fireworks display on the Fourth but it only lasted 10 minutes and left something to be desired. You could see a faraway fireworks show in Buffalo which seemed spectacular and lasted nearly 45 minutes.

Maid in the Mist boat ride (about $15 per adult) should be on your list, but the MUST DO is Journey Behind the Falls (about $13). Wow. As for the boat ride, I'd recommend that you position yourself on the top deck in the middle so you can get a panorama view. If you are behind taller people at the rails at the front of the boat you cannot see very well.

We purchased the buffet/observation deck combo at the Skylon and didn't feel it was worth the $35 + lots of tax (discounted early bird price) apiece. If you want to experience the view, just pay the $10 to ride to the observation deck (use the coupon). The buffet was average and not worth the price.

There is a botannical garden and greenhouse a few tenths of a mile past the Canadian falls if you like that kind of thing.

Be prepared for the HUGE Canadian taxes. It's their form of "free" healthcare. Prices for everything generally were higher than in the U.S. The whole area was like buying food inside Disney.

Don't be fooled by the lower temps that Niagara gets. The July weather was hot and sticky., especially with all the walking you have to do. Getting misted by the falls was a blessing. Or try one of the fruit slushies at the ice cream shop. I had watermelon one and boy was it good and cold. Bring your shades, sunscreen and walking shoes!

Air Traveler Tip: We flew into Buffalo. At the airport, our options for getting to Niagara were to either rent a car (most were sold out for the Fourth) for about $80 a day, pay for gas, tolls, and parking and try to navigate traffic at the border and at Niagara, or pay $75 per person roundtrip for the shuttle service (this was the group rate for having more than 2) or pay $75 one way flat rate (for up to 5 passengers) for airport taxi service (and the taxi driver paid the road toll). You just have to do the math. I can't remember the name of the service we used, but it was the one at the Buffalo airport across from the car rental kiosks and they were very nice and helpful. I did read in some other blogs that there are other ways to get around quickly and more cheaply, even to Toronto via bus services and trains, so this might be something to research. I certainly will when I go back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank emsAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

I had really hard time to choose where I’ll go with my two kids for few days’ vacation. I wanted everybody in the family to be happy with my choice. Friend of mine recommended the indoor water park in Niagara Falls.
So to make the long story shorter, I booked in Skyline Inn. On the day we arrived our room was ready before the check in time, and the first impression of the room was, yes they renovate everything, the room was clean and we had small fridge for my kids’ favorite food. The room service for the time we stayed there was excellent, clean towels, coffee for early morning; they supply really good coffee for the coffee mat in the room.
And if you thing you’ll need fortune to spend for all the attractions in Niagara Falls, you won’t have time. You’ll be fully entertainment in the hotel and the water park so your kids won’t ask for anything else. The water park works all day long, and is really amazing. We had fun all the time, playing basketball in the outside pool, sliding on the slides, jumping on the waves in the wave pool, standing under the big barrel filled with water.
For lunch time we went in the restaurant attached to the hotel, the food is good, service is excellent and we had 10% discount as guests in the hotel. And again back in the water park after the lunch. When we come back in our room it was already time for the every night movie in the courtyard.
All the kids gathered together, watch different movies, and until the bed time everything was quiet.
If you have kids and they want to experience something incredibly enjoyable this is the place where you should go.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liliana_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We had a great time in Niagara Falls and very much enjoyed staying at the Skyline Inn. The staff were very friendly and courteous, with very efficient service. The restaurant was excellent and it was so convenient to be within walking distance of all the action!! Our kids especially enjoyed the Water Park. We will definitely recommend the Skyline Inn to our friends.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank CBSNewfoundland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

we stayed july 1 in skylin inn let me tell you this is a family place
with childrens my room was very clean nice queens size beds
no smells everything work perfect no complains location is
perfect for everything for everybody check in was very fast imagin
we check in three hour before our room was ready in my honnymoon I had to wait one houer it was five star hotel .if you are very fussy
don't waist your time here and there go to five star hotel .
things happen in every hotels. you and your lucks .Toronto scarbouro ..s.g

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sakOtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview
0.1 mi away
Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls
1.5 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#4 of 128 in Niagara Falls
6,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Hotel & Waterpark

Address: 4800 Bender Hill, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3K1, Canada (Formerly Skyline Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $80 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skyline Hotel & Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular choice for both families and couples alike. The spacious and comfortable hotel features a superior location and outstanding amenities that suit every style of guest. Located on the 20 acre Falls Avenue Resort, the Skyline Hotel & Waterpark is one block to the Falls and at the front doors of Casino Niagara. Skyline Hotel has been recognized with a Travelers Choice Award as one of the top hotels in Canada for family travel, thanks in part due to generous family suites including bunk bed suites that can accommodate up to six guests, spacious room sizes and refrigerators in each room. Recent upgrades include the addition of free wireless internet to all public spaces and guestrooms. Skyline Hotel & Waterpark features free family friendly movie nights in the indoor courtyard, Perkins Family Restaurant on site, and is directly connected via indoor walkway to the Fallsview Indoor Waterpark (The Travelers' Choice Award winner for top Amusement Park & Waterpark in Canada) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splitty, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Skyline Hotel & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing