We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and fallsview rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
Ranked #10 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location and fallsview rooms”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Gateway on July 31, 2013 on the 10th floor in a falls view room. The hotel is in a great location and the view of the falls really is spectacular. Parking is $20, not sure if it is per night or per stay, since we only stayed one night.

Positives:
-The lobby and dining areas are newly remodeled and very nice. Modern and welcoming.
-The falls view room in which we stayed had a great view.
-The lower floors also have a view of the falls from the elevator lobby.
-The concierge packages are convenient, although we did not use them, they were very informative and helpful.
-The lobby staff was very accommodating and friendly.
-The hotel breakfast was really nice. For the price of ~$20 per adult and $10 per child over 5, there is a juice bar, omlette station, waffle station, a la carte pastries and breads, that can be toasted at your leisure, a la carte fruit, yogurt, cold and hot cereals... Also hot teas, etc.
-The gym is really nice, good range of modern equipment and a nice open space altogether.
-The Niagra Falls circulator bus that takes you to the main attractions (WeGO) has a stop in front of the hotel.

Negatives:
-At least on our floor, the overall decor could use a serious update and the carpeting in the hall and in the room could definitely use a good cleaning or a complete replacement altogether. Stains on the carpeting were really visible.
-The room is a decent size, although a bit on the small size in my opinion. We had a room with 2 queen beds and our 2 young daughters roomed with us.
-The bathroom is TOO small and could use an update and a good cleaning. There was mold visible on some of the grout of the tiles. The bathtub was really dated, as well. The bathroom was so small that they literally cut a curve into the door so that it could pass the toilet.
-They charge for wi-fi! If you are a gold+ rewards member apparently this service is free, but based on the room rates, everyone should be able to access wi-fi in my opinion.

For me this hotel is a 3.5 because of all the negatives, listed above. But we only stayed there one night and we did not feel as though we wasted our money. I will probably try the other Marriott on the falls next year. If they update the decor throughout the hotel, fix that madness in the bathroom, I would give it 4-5 stars.

Room Tip: Falls view room is worth the few extra bucks if you can swing it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClairAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    1,037
    482
    238
    146
See reviews for
956
1,269
42
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (924)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camby, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our room was amazing! It was upgraded to a suite as our room wasn't ready. Nicest hotel room I've ever stayed in. Even had a fireplace. I never take a bath in a hotel but the tub was huge and clean. We even had the nicest bathrobes.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Daytona, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hotel was nice. Good location. Would have given 5 stars but the pay for wifi was horrible..slow, had to keep resigning in to get it to finally kick in. The WeGo bus schedule they provided was a copy of a copy of a copy, etc...you get my drift...so hard to read, faint print, crooked. They should have these easily accessible rather than making us wait for 10 mins in line just to get schedule and a map of area.

Room Tip: We had a city view and did not feel we needed a falls view. By the time you have spent the day at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sncw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Princeton, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Hotel room was clean with great view of the falls. Felt like in between a Courtyard Marriott and a Marriott. The staff was very friendly. The hotel location is a 15 min walk to the falls. It is closer to the incline which is a plus. The hotel entrance was not as busy as other hotels which was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boodkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I booked room 1807, overlooking the falls for three nights for just my son and me for his birthday. I debated on spending the extra money on a room for all three nights overlooking the falls and I am SO GLAD I did!! In the summer, they light up the falls from 9p-midnight. The first night that we got there we were exhausted from traveling, so took carry-out to our room and had a WONDERFUL dinner overlooking the falls. The next morning, we had our coffee (and hot chocolate, which I brought from home) overlooking the falls in our pajamas. What a wonderful way to start a day!! We ended up having a nightly ritual of watching the lights with a snack (once a cookie from the Hershey store--yum!) and waking up with breakfast in the room. The hotel does not include breakfast with the room and Canada is EXPENSIVE (we're from the US), so since the room had a mini fridge, we picked up a box of cereal and milk from a local convenience store and had that for breakfast. The hotel has a very small pool and hot tub and there are LOTS of families who stay there. This was great since my son made friends, but would not be so great if you were trying to have a romantic getaway poolside. We didn't eat at the hotel (again, very expensive). Free wifi in the lobby/Starbucks, and wifi at a cost in the room. One thing to note is that this hotel was the closest hotel to the Horseshoe falls--which was a perfect location for seeing both the Anerican (and Bridal Veil) and Horseshoe falls. The "Wego" (public shuttle/people mover) has a stop just out front of the hotel, which made it easy to get places. However, to get the Adventure Pass (which includes free 48-hr Wego passes), you have to walk to Table Rock (an easy, downhill 10-minute walk). The hotel is not close to Clifton Hill, which I did on purpose because we were there to see the falls and not the touristy attractions on the Hill. I loved the location of our hotel!! There is an inclined rail thing that will cut down on the walk that will be back up-and-running in Aug 2013 (they are converting it to an all-weather rail). The travel desk was helpful, but closes early. The front desk help was great! Good customer service. We were very happy! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aplatn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We enjoyed staying here. It's a large hotel at the end of the main commercial road in Niagara Falls. Reasonable room rates. I used the business center for the internet (I could even print at no charge) which was easy. The gym was updated and large by most standards. The beds were comfy.

2 comments: 1/ we got a weather wake-up call at 7:15AM without having asked for one that woke us all up for the day. 2/ i noticed that when I looked up the room rate (i've never done that before) for the 2nd night in the am of our second day there, it was lower than what it was when I booked so i got them to adjust it to the lower price - I'll try to remember to do that in the future, i saved $20 which can pay for 1 day of parking.

Room Tip: It might be worth paying for a falls view if you plan on spending time in your room - we did not and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliandjulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and 4 days (Aug1-Aug 4 2013) for our first stay at a "destination" Marriott Hotel. The room was booked through Hotels,com website for those who are interested.

We chose the falls view side of the hotel for a much higher price. Yes the room over looks the falls and the view is spectacular BUT....the rooms are small and decorations are mid-90's? What's up with that? The room did have a flat screen TV. The bathroom is small; the beds were a little too soft for our comfort; NO microwave in the room, the coffeemaker in the room had coffee packets that did not fit the coffee maker(it has square plastic trays to insert in the coffeemaker but the coffeemaker required the disc style bags) sooooo the coffee was very tasteless. I did notify the desk and they brought up a different coffeemaker.
The AC unit was noisy when it turned on so our sleep pattern was really broken...

There is a pool and Jacuzzi available but we did not take advantage of it because we were out
t seeing the attractions.

This should actually be rated a 2-3 star hotel because the price does not match the services and amenities provided. As I got my Starbucks in the lobby, I heard several other people expressing complaints about the hotel. it varied from parking issues, security issues to the cost of the $5 bottle of Gatorade in the gift shop.

They did have a Starbucks in the lobby that opens at 7am.
One safety issue of concern that I reported
The hotel has maintenance issues. Some lights on the elevator didn't work and one morning when getting Starbucks coffee, the ride up was a little scary...I was actually thinking we might plummet to our death or be stuck or something disastrous when the car started the ascent to the 8th floor. The car jerked and then stopped, then jerked again then shuddered...then took off. I told the guy next to me I hope we make it out alive. :(

Room Tip: I would actually book a different place. instead of trying to explain what to do to get a better roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IchyRichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Niagara Falls Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls

Property: Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
Address: 6755 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W7, Canada (Formerly Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls Hotel is the ideal place to stay for your next leisure getaway. The hotel serves as hub spot to all of Niagara, and its recent $15-million renovation and upgrade offers our Niagara Falls hotel guests a modern and trendy travel experience. For guests looking to experience the best that a Niagara Falls hotel has to offer, the Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls hotel is situated in the heart of the Fallsview Boulevard district, minutes away from area attractions, world-class wineries, golf and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Gateway On The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Sheraton Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing