We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room, few amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 66 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Small room, few amenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights and were disappointed by the small bedroom, and lack of amenenties like coffee in the morning before breakfast. Helena was very nice and helpful, and breakfast was very good but not outstanding. Room was clean but bed was quite hard.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fllyover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    33
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
44
242
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Helena was so welcoming and a great resource for places to eat and see and do in the area. Her style and the rooms are gorgeous. Best part was by far the all star breakfasts. Helena is a trained gourmet chef and her professional and imaginative culinary skills are obvious at 9 am (when bfast is served)! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agora1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Niagra Falls for the Canada Day long weekend. Once we arrived, we were greeted by the Innkeeper, Helena. She was so friendly, and very informative. She showed us our room, which was very clean. The decor and atmosphere of the place is really nice. We spend most of our time out, but when we came in the evening we would sit at the front porch which was just great. I didn't particularly love breakfast, but I am a picky eater. My boyfriend loved breakfast there. Whenever we asked Helena for info, she was just on the ball. She really knows the place very well.

If you want to get away from the business of downtown niagra falls but still wanna enjoy it. Definately go there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmt007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We love loved this place. Cant wait to go back! It was spotless and the food was just excellent. What a treat!

Room Tip: there is no bad room:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonibologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Helena is a fantastic host who is a wealth of information on history in the area; her stories really added to our enjoyment of our Niagara weekend. She is also a skilled chef and served 2 fabulous breakfasts in a beautiful dining room, enjoyed with company of 6 other guests. Breakfast is at 9 am, which allowed time to sleep in, go for a walk in the morning hours to enjoy the quiet neighbourhood, or enjoy sitting on the beautiful wrap-around verandah. We slept well in the O'Keefe Room, very tastefully decorated with beautiful sheets and antiques and eclectic furnishings/decor that really added to the charm of this home. Air conditioning was available with a window unit and the bathroom ensuite was modern (no bath/just shower). Location was excellent - close enough to walk to the Falls and Niagara's attractions, yet far enough to be away from the noise. The only thing that could have made it better? A suggestion: self-serve coffee/tea available especially before 9am to enjoy on the verandah would have been perfect. We will definitely return when we are next in this area.

Room Tip: O'Keefe room is at the back of the house; very quiet. Room with a view is not necessary because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda2011_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We recently stayed with Helena over the Canada Day weekend and were very pleased with our experience. Her hospitality was genuine and her accomodations were extraordinary. A large older home with a 10 minute walk to the falls and a beautiful view of the gorge. We booked the Wine Cellar room as I believe its called which is a large suite in the basement. The room was gorgeous and allowed us private entry to the home through a door off the back garden. The common room where breakfast was served was spacious and the breakfast itself was outstanding. The breakfast very easily would compete with high-end hotel restaurants and Helena's service was very personable. She also provided invidualized suggestions for outings during our stay and was spot-on with her recommendations.

Overall, we had an outstanding time at her B&B, and would have no problem returrning or recommending her place to family and friends. We left feeling like we had re-discovered Niagara despite having been several times before and staying in hotels. A very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPH_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We decided to spend some time in Niagara Falls for a few days, and I'm glad we picked Lion's Head Inn. The hostess, Helena, is as gracious, knowledgeable and helpful as you could ask for. She is happy to give you guidance on things to do beyond the main tourist attractions, if you're interested. The Gauguin room was charming and well-kept, with a view of the gorge. The breakfasts were delicious, like Eggs Benedict or French toast with this amazing berry sauce.

It's about a 15-minute walk to the Falls (keeping in mind the weekend crowds as you get to the touristy parts), but luckily much quieter than expected.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrouNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.6 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast
Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 66 in Niagara Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Accommodations Niagara Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Redwood Bed & Breakfast
Redwood Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 66 in Niagara Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Niagara Grandview Manor
Niagara Grandview Manor
#13 of 66 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton on the Falls
Sheraton on the Falls
#7 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5239 River Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E3G9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning luxurious bed and breakfast with a fabulous location overlooking the spectacular Niagara Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing