We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 69 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My wife and I needed a weekend getaway and we could think of nothing better than Lion's Head B&B. This is the second time we have stayed there. Helena was an awesome host as usual and the two breakfast meals we had were absolutely fantastic. I would highly recommend Lion's Head B&B to anyone who are looking for a great breakfast and a relaxing stay. We will be going back!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailormanGuelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 435 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed at the Lion's Head B&B for just one night in the French quarter suite, but it was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. The suite we stayed in was beautiful and had plenty of room. It was for sure better value than anything you would get for the same thing in a hotel. The host, Helena was very friendly and gave us lots of interesting information about the housel and surrounding area. She also recommended an excellent place for dinner. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, the best pancakes I've ever had. Would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted a weekend get away and came across the Lions Head Bed and Breakfast. Halana was great and was able to meet our needs. She gave us great recommendations for dinner, winerys, and places to see. The breakfast was great and we would definitely come back!! It was a relaxing get away....

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Helena is a wonderful host: personable, accommodating and helpful. Her home and rooms are beautifully furnished. She has a very eclectic and interesting collection of antiques. My partner stayed in the Gauguin room. It was gorgeous. The room was spotless, super clean. Our bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious! We felt very comfortable here and look forward to coming back for another weekend getaway. Staying here is a real treat! I definitely recommend this B and B!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBak111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

It was my first time at a bed and breakfast and i was i little against the idea. But This was great.Changed the way i see bed and breakfast. Helena ( the host and owner )made the whole thing. She is great. She is an educated world class chef. Her breakfast is amazing. She knows all the best restaurants around the area and where to find the best wine. I was blow away by every place she sent us too. On top of that she is very wise about the history of niagara and the history of her own house. Great stories..The house is great. I loved it. Cant' say anymore, you have to experience this..I will definetly be back..Love ya Helena..

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isaac c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This house is stunning! The rooms were furnished beautifully and I loved looking at all the antiques everywhere throughout the house - it really is a treasure chest! We stayed in the french quarters which was very spacious and lovely beds! The breakfast in the morning was amazing! I dont understand how anyone can fault the breakfast.. french toast, syrup, bacon and icing sugar - delicious! The hostess is a fantastic cook and I always looked forward to breakfast each morning as she would change it each day (pancakes were my favourite).
The area is perfect, close to the falls and surrounding villages which are worth the trip as they are very pretty and great food! Ask helena for suggestions as they were spot on and delicious food!
Thank you for an amazing weekend!

As for all the negative reviews - your crazy! The reviewer who said they only wanted to stay for 1 night and give their friends the room the next night ( which can I point out the host could not do for hygiene reasons) - go to a hotel for a night not a B&B and stop complaining!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Just read the previous person review of this property and cannot believe they are talking about the same place that we stayed in.

We have never stayed in a B & B before but decided that rather than staying in some souless hotel chain that we would like to experience the world of Bed and Breakfasts. We travelled from Australia where we have been living for the past six years to celebrate my daughters 21st birthday in New York and then travel up to Niagara. I thought the French Quarter was just perfect as we hired the whole floor so that we were all together and Helena had warned me when booking from Oz that there was only a claw bath in the room. My daughters boyfriend who is 6ft 4 did not have any problem in the bathroom cleaning his teeth!!!

Helena was the most entertaining host I have encountered with the added bonus of being a fantastic cook. We have extensively travelled the world and we all love food and live to eat!! and found the breakfasts amazing. Her local knowledge of restaurants were spot on. She recommended a restaurant in Niagara Fall Village which looked very ordinary from the outside but upon entering was a fantastic cordon bleu restaurant with fantastic food, wine and ambiance.

The ice winery at Inniskillen was a great find and we managed to get all our purchases plus the reidel wine glasses back to Perth in One piece going via New York, London, Dubai and finally Perth.

Thank you Helena for a wonderful two days and our first experience of B and B's.
If you are ever in Perth, please give us a call, I left my card on the dresser
Deborah

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#1 of 127 in Niagara Falls
1,691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast
Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 69 in Niagara Falls
774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Niagara Grandview Manor
Niagara Grandview Manor
#9 of 69 in Niagara Falls
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Two Rivers Bed & Breakfast
Two Rivers Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 69 in Niagara Falls
249 reviews
1.7 mi away
Absolute Elegance Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Chestnut Inn
Chestnut Inn
#18 of 69 in Niagara Falls
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5239 River Rd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3G9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $111 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning luxurious bed and breakfast with a fabulous location overlooking the spectacular Niagara Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing