We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Stone Inn Boutique Hotel
Ranked #32 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, average hotel”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My huband and I stayed here on a Sunday night in April for our anniversary. We were looking forward to our stay since this is our first time away from our kids in a long time and were in need of some good R&R. When we arrived we were able to get early check-in. The front desk clerk was very nice. Our room on the top (3rd) floor was very spacious and nicely updated. The bed was really comfortable and I was pleased with the amount of pillows on the bed so we both found one we liked. The tub/shower had very good water pressure and temperature. I had asked upon check-in about the pool hours and the front desk clerk told me it was from 10am-10pm. Since we figured we wouldn't have much time the next morning we tried to visit the pool that evening. That is when things took a downturn for us. We were very disappointed when got down there. The water level in the indoor pool was way below what it should be and there was debris in the bottom of the pool which may have included some sort of large dead insect and drywall that had peeled off the ceiling from around the skylight (see pictures). There were also no towels available and the hamper of wet towels still remained there the next day. The tile deck around the pool did not look clean. The whole room looked like it was lacking maintenance and it was strangely open to a main hallway with no door which I had never seen in a hotel before. My concern is that could pose a safety issue with children, speaking as a mother of youngsters. We also noticed that where there had previously been an outdoor pool was now filled in with gravel, and where there had been a hot tub was now tiled over in different tiling. We never went to the restaurant at the hotel so I cannot comment on their food and service. Other things we encountered were the ice AND Coke machine on our floor were both out of order and the signs on each of them referred you to use the ones on the 1st floor. We were told to use stairs on check-in (although we found out later there was an elevator on the other side of the building) so this was not convenient. Also the carpeting was dingy, the hallways and main entrance were dark and dim in our coming and going (aren't entrances supposed to be bright and inviting?) The peeling ceiling in the pool area was disconcerting. We could clearly see the drywall hanging and peeling from a few places in the pool atrium from our room window. on checkout I mentioned our disappointment with the pool and the front desk clerk said it had been an error by their caretaker who accidentally hit the lever to drain the pool when he was adjusting the chemicals. I wasn't sure about her story since the water level was the same the whole time we were there and didn't see any action taken at the pool and we had a first hand view. She offered no incentive.
We were happy with the proximity for walking everywhere we wanted to go. We visit the Falls quite often. We were very close for walking to Skylon tower (we take advantage of the early dinner special there and we love it!), Fallsview casino resort and Clifton Hill and the falls. This is the main reason we decided to stay here for a great jumping off point. I don't think I would stay here again unless they improved their maintenance and amenities of the hotel. If you are just looking for a great, clean comfortable room in a good location then you could consider staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms are updated, spacious and comfy. Pool area and rest of hotel are not updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    296
    212
    124
    112
See reviews for
270
530
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

When I've seen the pictures I've figured something original. I wasn't. The room was ok and clean but old, the TV reception was really bad.
During our stay we've had noisy neighbours. The soundproofing isn't really good.
Except that it was ok for the price, wifi and parking were complimentary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I booked this hotel one month ago by internet. A couple days after I booked the hotel I called them to confirm the booking. At first they could not find the booking so we spent about ten minutes trying to find it. While I was on the phone I decided to confirm the total payment due for the cost of two nights. Everything seemed good so I gave the person I talked to on the phone my credit card number to prepay for the room.
Just a couple days prior to leaving for the trip I noticed that the payment for the room had not been taken off the credit card. So I called the hotel to confirm my reservation one more time. Once again the person I spoke with on the phone could not confirm the reservation so I had to once again go through a ten minute process to find it. I then requested that they take the payment in advance, however I was told by the lady on the phone that I would have to fax a number of documents in order to process the credit card. So I decided to opt to pay for the room in once my girlfriend and I arrived.
However I get a e-mail notification about one hour after the conversation with Old Mill Inn that they had attempted to take nearly double the amount of money for the room off my credit card.
I immediately called to find out what was going on and why they were trying to take so much out even after they told me the couldn't withdraw any money from my card without these documents being faxed back and forth. They replied that it was an error and apologized.
So on the day that myself and my girlfriend arrivied and started the check in process we were informed that we had to put either a cash deposit or a credit card deposit of $200.00 dollars on top of our room fee if we wanted to stay.
I have stayed at several hotels in my life and have never had to give any upfront money on a room only a copy of a credit card in case the hotel discovered any additional expenses or damage to a room after I left. We were told by the man behind the counter that this is common practice at all hotels. I know for a fact it isn't.
I have been looking forward to this trip for sometime and wasn't about to let this deposit ruin it so we gave them the money and proceeded to our room.
Part of our request was to have a room that overlooked the atrium swimming pool area. When I looked out the window we had a view of a white wall and the corner of the swimming pool. We also had an amazing view of every staircase and hall directly across from us and anybody on the other side had a great view of us. So no privacy unless we had the blinds closed. This wouldn't have bothered me so much if every single room in this hotel had guests in all the other rooms facing the atrium. However every room was empty.
The one thing that has really prompted me to write such a bad review is the fact that when myself and my girlfriend decided to retire for the night as we pulled back the blankets we discovered hairs on our bed. We know that these hairs did not belong to us as I have no hair and my girlfriends is red. To add even more to the story we discover a rather large stain on the duvet cover and asked for a new one. We later discovered that the cover was just put back on the bed.
I have many more complaints about the service of this hotel including a additional charge at check out but would make this review way to long.
I think this hotel has some great potential as it is elegant and has some real charm. However I feel that the experience that myself and my girlfriend had is not worth it. I want my money back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron,Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel has very nice rooms and the location is excellent.I took my wife there for two nights April 3-4 2013,and we really enjoyed our stay.We had a delicious dinner in the hotel restaurant and the Fallsview casino is only one block away.The Falls are about 10 minutes walk away and there are alot of shops just a short walk away.Their indoor pool looked nice, but we did not get a chance use it.The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 310 and it was very clean and had newer carpet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith12552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

rustic elegance and shabby chic completes a comfy stay. We were give adjacent rooms and it senior friendly considering all the suites are in 1 floor. it invokes a unique character in the middle of the hustle and bustle of a busy touristy area. stands out amongst from the usual big hotel chains that surrounds it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mirrenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights over new years eve, the location was excellent. We could walk to the Fallsview casino, Clifton hill and the concert in the park was so close. We got a good deal on Expedia. The staff were friendly and the hotel was beautiful. The rooms were a good size, very clean and comfortable, our room overlooked the pool, so it was very quiet, there's a nightclub across the street so I was first concerned about noise, but it was fine. The pool area was ok, the water was warm. We didn't eat there, I had a drink in the lounge, it was great, but closed at 10pm even on new years eve, it was warm and cozy with a small fireplace, lots of charm. I would definatly return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gumbygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you are looking for something different but yet elegant try this hotel - you won't be disappointed. Very gracious and helpful staff, great room and superb food in a rustic but yet classy hotel. Location, location - close to all the sites and sounds of Niagara without paying the big bucks for other big name hotels. This is well worth the stop and stay!

Room Tip: it's a maze in the hotel with add-on's but all rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#14 of 128 in Niagara Falls
831 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel & Suites
Imperial Hotel & Suites
#83 of 128 in Niagara Falls
632 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls - By The Falls
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls - By T...
#24 of 128 in Niagara Falls
918 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Niagara Falls
Courtyard Niagara Falls
#12 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Stone Inn Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Stone Inn Boutique Hotel

Property: Old Stone Inn Boutique Hotel
Address: 6080 Fallsview Boulevard corner of | 5425 Robinson Street, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Stone Inn Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Old Stone Inn Boutique Hotel, an exquisite three star property located in the Entertainment District on Fallsview Boulevard in Niagara Falls. This remarkable venue blends classic historic character with elegance and well-thought design.Luxury is fragrant throughout the Historic Hotel with well appointed bedrooms and dining options to spoil you. Just short distance from many international airports including Buffalo-Niagara, NY, Niagara Falls International, and Toronto Pearson Airport is wonderfully convenient yet retains a tranquil and undisturbed setting. As one of the most distinctive and truly welcoming hotels within Niagara Falls, the Old Stone Inn Boutique Hotel is the perfect choice for a weekend break, relaxing escape or exploration of Niagara's finest wine country. We take great pride in welcoming not only our guests but their fury loved ones as well. We offer pet friendly services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Stone Inn Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Stone Hotel Niagara Falls
Old Stone Niagara Falls
Old Stone Inn Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing