We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated rooms but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Niagara Falls Fallsview
Ranked #61 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed as part of a tour so I am unable to comment on value for money. What I can say is this hotel is in a great location, just a 5 minute stroll from the falls. There are plenty of bars and restaurants with a few minutes walk.

We were 'upgraded' to a honeymoon-type suite and I have to say that this room would not look out of place at the Playboy mansion - about 40 years ago. The heart shaped jacuzzi was right next to the bed, the television was huge and outdated, the air-con was very noisy and the shower cubicle was like a 70s space capsule. Basically the room hadn't been decorated for many years and the paper was peeling off the walls.

BUT the bed was clean and comfortable. We only stayed for one night so it wasn't an issue and we came back with a great tale to tell. If we'd been staying for longer I'd have asked to move rooms. Our friends stayed in a regular room and it seemed more modernised.

I would recommend this hotel if you're on a budget but just ask for a regular room.

Room Tip: Don't take an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,082)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

room dirty aircon very noisy "tatty" unkempt dissapointing, chosen by cosmos not me,

Room Tip: It has been said that all rooms are different, well we got one overlooking the indoor pool, cracked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warren k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have a room in the building across the driveway from the office and while parts of it are clean, parts of it are falling apart. The roof is falling down in the bathroom, the bathroom door will not shut and there are mold spots and some areas not clean. The beds are lumpy and the curtains are ripped and wall paper is coming off the wall. We got a discount price and they must save this room for those who get a discount from the internet. Would not recommend. They do have free internet though.

Room Tip: Room 21 is not a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

It may be an old hotel, but very well kept, all the amenities (pool, hot tub, tiny tiny fitness center). Within walking distance of the falls and Clifton Hill. Great place to stay for a more inexpensive rate.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bennettlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

If you’re looking for a reasonably priced hotel within walking distance to the falls then this is a great choice.
This is not a chain hotel where every hotel room is the same. At Michaels every room is different and some of them are decorated in the 80’s style but that is part of the charm. I found a great price on priceline and decided to take a chance and book a room. I was very happy with my decision.
The hotel looks a little run down from the outside and the lobby is undergoing renovations so it’s a bit disheveled.
Check in was efficient and the staff were friendly. The halls in the hotel were clean and there was no musty or smokey odours. The area you exited off the elevators at each floor was huge. You really got the feeling of space in this hotel.
I had a room on the second floor facing the parking lot. We weren’t planning on spending much time in the room so the view wasn’t important to us. I did look at a room across the hall that had a balcony facing the Niagara river, it was nice so if you are planning on spending time in your room you may want to upgrade. Our room was very clean. The room was decorated in the 80’s style. All of the furniture was in good working order and functional. The room had two double beds and was bigger than a lot of rooms I have stayed in. The beds were extremely comfortable and the pillows were fine. One thing about these older hotels is that they are built well. The room was very quiet and I couldn’t hear any noise from any of the rooms surrounding me.
The air conditioning worked great but it was a little disturbing when it would turn on, if that sort of thing bothers you you should take some ear plugs or turn the air off . I found it was good “white” noise. We didn’t use the pool but we looked at it. It was a little small but the kids that were swimming seemed to enjoy it. They charge for parking. I was only there for 1 night and they charged me $10 so I don’t know if that’s per night or per stay (most likely it’s per night). Most of the hotels in Niagara charge for parking so that is not unusual for this area and $10 for parking in Niagara is a good price. We didn’t eat at the restaurant so I can’t comment on that. All in all we were very happy with our choice. The hotel is in a great location, the staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and the prices are reasonable what more could you ask for?

Pro’s
Excellent location -5 minute walk to the bottom of Clifton Hill, Maid of the Mist, HardRock Café, and Casino.
Friendly staff
Affordable parking
Clean
Comfortable beds

Con’s
The ice machine didn’t work on our floor.
Showering during the “busy” times the shower went really hot then really cold so be careful.
TV was old and there weren’t a lot of channels.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoTopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Very near to the Falls and safe and comfort.
Lovely staff!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikoo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I do not recommend this place at all. Our stay was ok but the next morning we had a broken window in our door. There was a rock inside that was clearly thrown and broke our window when we were out. We called the management and had them check it out. They came up, inspected and told us that they would look after it. Then, on our credit card appeared a $500 charge for the door that we DID NOT break!!!! We contacted the hotel and spoke with management. They said the we were being billed for half of the glass replacement because they could not necessarily determine how it was broke!! ARE YOU KIDDING ME??? We are trying to contact the hotel still but are now getting the run around. They keep saying they are still discussing this and will call back and now the person who is supposed to call back has been out etc etc!!! Save yourself the time and money....DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeatherMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Niagara Falls Hotel by the Falls
Travelodge Niagara Falls Hotel b...
#42 of 128 in Niagara Falls
632 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Niagara Falls/Fallsview
Ramada Niagara Falls/Fallsview
#45 of 128 in Niagara Falls
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Fallsview
Comfort Inn Fallsview
#50 of 128 in Niagara Falls
765 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#14 of 128 in Niagara Falls
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Niagara Falls Fallsview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Niagara Falls Fallsview

Address: 5599 River Rd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3H3, Canada (Formerly Michael's Inn Fallsview Hotel)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $54 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Hotel Niagara Falls Fallsview 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is just a 10-minute walk from the Canadian Horseshoe Falls and Casino Niagara. An indoor pool, hot tub, and sauna are available. All rooms have free Wi-Fi and a cable TV is provided. Michael's Inn Fallsview offers a fitness centre for guests' convenience with a 24-hour reception desk. The entertainment area of Clifton Hill is within a 10-minute walk of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Niagara Falls Fallsview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s Inn By The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Michaels Hotel Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Michaels Inn
Michaels Hotel By The Falls
Michaels Inn By The Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing