We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special”
Review of Glengate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glengate Hotel
Ranked #71 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Our room was nothing special, a little dark - every morning we walked by staff cleaning other rooms and we would peek inside, ours was an average room but some of the other rooms were bigger, brighter. Parking was odd, it was under the hotel and the hallway leading to the elevator had a moldy coach sitting by the ice machine. Staff were friendly, a little far from the hustle and bustle but not a bad walk in cooler weather.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosebudli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    28
    32
    18
    29
See reviews for
29
58
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto,Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

we stayed 2 nights never again we got bites all over us and were itchy the next day
dirty room. stay away....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2009Londonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

My wife and I stayed there for 2 nights ($74 per night), the front desk was nice and helpful, the room was generally clean but the I couldn't stand the bathroom. The tub and the toilet were chipped off in places and was old and rusty, I felt sicken if I stared at it too long.
I saw other people complaint about the entry of the underground parking and the location of the hotel, I could see those could be issues but it didn't bother me too much.
Also, the clerk refused to give us back the signed credit card slip for security deposit, I saw another guest complaint about it as well as I checked out, the clerk's explanation was it was not a charge but a hold and it would automatically cancel in a week or so, up to the bank that issued the credit card. I was not sure whether it's the norm now so I didn't argue with the clerk since they were polite and assured us that nothing they could do.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2010

the mattress they had was very bad and the room was dirty the towel had hole on it and the bed had rice on it from the people that was staying in the room before us i would never stay there again AND AFTER ALL THAT THEY CHARGE ME TWICE FOR THE ROOM

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CtGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We just got back from our six night stay at Glengate and we were very pleased. I read several negative reviews about the parking and location. We parked next the building and had no problems at all. We also had no problem with the location. Personally id rather be alittle farther from all craziness. The hotel is still maybe only afew blocks away from downtown. My wife wasn't to excited with the outside of the hotel but once she got in the room she completely changed her mind. The room was clean, spacious, came with a jacuzzi for under around $70 a night for a week. Great value

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matymil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

The front desk staff was polite and tried to be helpful but that could not make up for the fact that the bathtub was covered with short coarse hair. Although housekeeping was asked to clean the bathroom a second time, the bathtub was still noted to have hair.
The airconditioner kept shutting off during the night.
The A/C in the other room we had taken also kept cutting off.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summer789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Fantastic Price, Stayed in the Honeymoon Suite with heart shaped tub!!! Best value for money plus more. Clean, quiet, friendly staff, helpful, ect. Wish we stayed the entire trip!!! Parking garage is TINY, hard to park up front, lots of room in empty lot next door. Recommend this to anyone on a limited budget. $109 per night for honeymoon suite. Nothing in the area is comparable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gngcrzy4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Niagara Falls North
Super 8 Niagara Falls North
#57 of 128 in Niagara Falls
680 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#14 of 128 in Niagara Falls
819 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Niagara Falls Near Fallsview District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Diplomat Inn
The Diplomat Inn
#77 of 128 in Niagara Falls
340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls
0.3 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#48 of 128 in Niagara Falls
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengate Hotel

Property: Glengate Hotel
Address: 5534 Stanley Ave | Ontario, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Glengate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a distinguished guest of the Glengate Hotel and Suites, immerse yourself in the city that is known as a Honeymoon capital of the world. Just steps away from our famous doors in the heart of Niagara Falls is an exciting mix of activities and attractions that will leave you exhilarated. Within a walking distance to many popular attractions and restaurants in the Fallsview Tourist Area including the Skylon Tower, Imax Theatre, Fallsview Casino, Clifton Hill and of course the Mighty Falls- Horseshoe, American and Bridal Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glengate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengate Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing