We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depressing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glengate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glengate Hotel
Ranked #67 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Depressing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

I should have read the TripAdvisor reviews before I booked a night in the Glengate. As others have pointed out, the photos and info on the Glengate website are misleading at best. Our room (king with a balcony) was shabby and dirty. My wife and I both woke with mysterious itches. The breakfast was a joke. Definitely the low point of our visit to Niagara.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianMcW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    29
    16
    28
See reviews for
27
54
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

The hotel wasn't what I expected but the staff tried to do whatever they could to make the stay a decent stay the bed was hard and the breakfast wasn't saying much

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmann6699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Glengate for one night. It was nice, but I found the room a little dirty, the bathroom, and juccuzzi tub were not very clean, and the bed was a little hard. The contenental breakfast was gross, all that was available were some stale bagels and muffins, we ended up going out for breakfast. And there are only a handful of parking spaces, so if you go out and return late there may not be any parking available on the property. It was good for the price we paided, but I would not pay more than I did, ($89 Can) for the honeymoon suite. If your looking for an average place for good value then I would recomend the Glengate.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaGillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

After arriving from Marine-Land for the day with my wife and two children, I checked into the room I had already reserved for two evenings and everything was good. The A/C wasn't working as cool as we wanted it, but to be fair, we were there during a heat wave. Well, everything was good until the next morning when we noticed bite marks on our children's legs. I mentioned it to the manager and he said they were probably bitten by mosquitoes or something while we at Marine-Land. I agreed as my wife and I were fine and knew the kids were all over the place the day before in their shorts near the water. I asked if the housekeeping staff could change our sheets while they were making our room which he immediately agreed.

The second evening after taking my family to the Butterfly Museum and Water park, we came back to the room and the outside temperature was a lot higher than the night before and we were all sweating as the room was very warm. We all went to bed normally but thins night I woke up at 3am with an itch on my neck. I turned the light on and seen a black bug on the sheet the size of an apple seed. I turned all the lights on and didn't see anymore. I went on to YouTube and found how to look for them; I looked at the mattress seams and seen all the black speckles they showed on YouTube. Let's just say it was hard for me to go back to sleep. The next morning we were all covered in bites (even after I killed the one one I thought doing it!) and my kids were crying to leave even if they had to use the bathroom at the gas station. I took my family home the next day and bites didn't go away for two weeks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We were two couples staying one night. For high season, I wasn't expecting to find much for $150/night. The Glengate was a lovely surprise. Very clean, super courteous, easy to find. I have no complaints.

For those looking for a hotel right on the strip, this was a little further out (but still walking distance - we walked everywhere). And the Intercontinental Pancake House was a block away, and also a good score.

Overall I had a great trip and I thank the hotel for their service.

Room Tip: It might cost more, but ask for a balcony. We didn't and wish we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenitaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Looks nice at first glance. The comforter had stains on it the bathroom is old chips in bathtub and sink they skimp on shampoo and soap no microwave or fridge in room although you are welcome to use the communial microwave.
Price was 130.00 night for a Saturday night I think it was a little high for what you get it wasn't horrible but not nice. It needs updating and they need to clean all the little details. You are about a 20 minute walk from niagara falls and all the bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaphillio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel was very nice and clean inside. The rooms were a nise size. The hotel from the outside did not say what it is inside. I would stay there again.The people there were vey nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.4 mi away
The Diplomat Inn
The Diplomat Inn
#74 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ritz Inn Niagara & Wedding Chapel
Ritz Inn Niagara & Wedding Chape...
#60 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near the Falls
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near th...
#32 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#45 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Inn Near The Falls
Kings Inn Near The Falls
#22 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knights Inn By The Falls
Knights Inn By The Falls
#44 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengate Hotel

Property: Glengate Hotel
Address: 5534 Stanley Ave | Ontario, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Glengate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a distinguished guest of the Glengate Hotel and Suites, immerse yourself in the city that is known as a Honeymoon capital of the world. Just steps away from our famous doors in the heart of Niagara Falls is an exciting mix of activities and attractions that will leave you exhilarated. Within a walking distance to many popular attractions and restaurants in the Fallsview Tourist Area including the Skylon Tower, Imax Theatre, Fallsview Casino, Clifton Hill and of course the Mighty Falls- Horseshoe, American and Bridal Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Glengate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengate Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing