We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Rex!!”
Review of The Rex Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rex Motel
Ranked #2 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Cute motel, amazingly clean rooms. My husband and I enjoyed two nights at the Rex and we would go back in a heartbeat. Loved the fresh pastries! This motel is a great value - free parking, low room taxes, very close to the falls and other attractions. Super friendly owners. Highly recommend the Rex!!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pkytravel978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 774 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2014

We were looking for a simple yet clean and comfortable option in Niagara Falls, and The Rex did not disappoint! The rooms are smallish, but very clean and comfortable....ours even came with a fridge and microwave (we had one of the two doubles). The in room wifi is strong and dependable. Oddly, our bathroom had a vent between the bathroom and the main room, and there was no exhaust fan on the bathroom, but opening the window appeared to do the trick. The woman that runs the Rex could not be nicer! If you are very sensitive to noise, this may not be the best place, since sounds do travel somewhat here. It's not really walking distance to the restaurants and falls, but a very simple 5 minute drive.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Doug46er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

This cute little hotel was just perfect! It was away from the hustle & bustle of the busy tourist area along the falls but close enough to drive to the falls in under 5 minutes (probably closer to 3 minute drive). We arrived a bit early and were allowed to check-in with no hassle. The owners are so friendly and helpful. We received a TON of information regarding things to do & see, places to park, places to avoid, etc. The entire room was clean, beds comfy, fridge & micro, tv in the room (but we didn't use it). We were in the olive tree room (I think that was the name) and it was just gorgeous. Fresh baked pastries every day! I would highly recommend this place. I would stay here again if I ever go back to Niagara Falls. First review I've ever written on here for a place I've stayed - it was just that great!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed at the Rex Motel in July 2014 for two nights. Rates were very reasonable for the high season and it is closer to Marine Land where my sister-in-law wanted to go.
Hosts were fantastic and very helpful with tips on parking, attractions and how to get around. Rooms were super clean. Small and older style but were each decorated in a unique theme and she showed us as many as we wanted & let us have our pick.
You need a car to get around but it is only a 5 minute drive to all major attractions.
We look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank countrygalontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in august just recently. We came in late and got complementry upgrade to suite. This is a very clean very nice motel . It is small and still a motel but is just a few minute drive from all attractions. If you have a car this is not a problem. Staff is very nice but most important price is fair and worth it

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank cosigin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Came 1day too early to our hotel in Niagra Falls. Checked in at the first hotel we saw on QER - The Rex Motel in Niagra Falls, Canada. The Rex Motel is a very nice, clean and welcoming motel. Each room has its own theam. The motel is located only 5 minutes from the falls. We can highly recommend it!!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Nellgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We only stayed 1 night unfortunately but it was an experience that we will never forget! From the moment we checked in, we felt welcomed as if we were visiting relatives! I had booked a king room but I didn't know that we would get a choice of several rooms! Each room was themed by country and each was beautifully decorated! We chose the room themed for French Country, not only because it was so charming, but it had a super big tiled shower! These owners have reinvented a plain old, worn out motel and made it a thing of beauty! These rooms are spotless and welcoming and when you open the door you can smell clean! Not disinfectant clean but home clean! I can't say enough good things! Yes, it's small but you know that you're not staying in the Hilton! This is better and a better value too! The bed was firm and felt so good after a long drive. Oh, I forgot to mention the freshly made pastry that our hostess gave us when we checked in. The owners were so helpful with suggestions for restaurants and information about the Falls! These are hard working people who keep a spotless motel and all the great reviews should be believed! We would come back again in an instant! Thank you!

Room Tip: Any room would be great but the king room had a great bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosemary1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.7 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#1 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,660 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
1.1 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Motel

Address: 6247 McLeod Rd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $46 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rex Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rex Motel in Ontario, Canada is only within a 5-minute drive of the breath taking Niagara Falls, MarineLand and the Niagara Convention and Civic Center. Also it is in a very close distance to most of the city attractions, theatres, restaurants and attractive shops.The Rex Motel is a family managed and operated business and it is open for its guests all year round. Our selection of 15 boutique rooms with individual unique character, fantastic budget rates, convenient location and peaceful surroundings will definitely make your stay a memorable one.The motel is providing its guests with a free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rex Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing