We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place owned by lovely people who take pride in their work”
Review of The Rex Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rex Motel
Ranked #2 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Bulgarian couple who run this place are clearly in the business for all the right reasons – having a successful, fulfilling business by prioritizing the experience of their guests, making sure that they are able to have a wonderful time away from home, rather than just not having anything to complain about. The cleanliness was thorough and excellent, the availability of the owners and their willingness to inform and advise was a treat, without being forcefully present. The rooms had enough character to not be generic, but our comfort was not impeded by this.

All in all a fantastic place to stay – I wish there were more businesses out there like this one. We found it through TripAdvisor and I am therefore writing my first review here to help others make the same excellent choice we made.

We even went carless, and the walking into town was not too much. Even had we taken cabs, it would have still been cheaper than staying closer in, so: do it – stay here.

Enjoy...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 768 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a reasonable place to spend the night as we had come down to visit our daughter. Lots of places to stay but not that many I would consider reasonable. After reading reviews on a couple of places, settled on the Rex Motel and glad we did. One consistent theme through all the other reviews is the cleanliness of the rooms and we can vouch for that first hand. Rooms are not as large as some of the bigger chain hotels etc, but friendliness of owner and cleanliness of room top notch. After booking the motel, my wife was a bit apprehensive about staying, but once opening up the room and checking out the bathroom she was quite happy. Will certainly stay here again next time we come down.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carguy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

On a trip to Ontario this past January we spent a couple days in Niagara Falls. I was trying to find the most inexpensive place to stay that would still be a good place to stay and the the Rex Motel showed up on TripAdvisor as the #1 place. I was hesitant because the winter rate was only $45 a night. While that price sounds amazing, typically that price would turn me off from a place because I automatically assume that something that cheap won't be very nice. But I read the endless 5 star reviews about this place so we decided to give it a chance. It was definitely as wonderful as all the positive reviews say it was!

First, to be clear, if you're looking for a 5 star resort, this isn't it. It is an old roadside motel that from the outside looks like an old roadside motel. Upon first glance, its a place I would probably drive right by because it wouldn't look very welcoming. But the owners have turned this place into a wonderful. welcoming motel that is nothing at all what you would expect a roadside motel to be once you get inside. I only point out that it isn't a 5 star resort because even with the wonderfully decorated and clean rooms, they are still smaller rooms that you would expect from a roadside place.

The rooms, while not huge, are absolutely spotless. Each room is decorated with a different theme and when we got there we were able to choose between two rooms. We ended up choosing the medieval room. It is very obvious that the owners have put a lot of time and effort into making these rooms look welcoming. Every day we came back to the room to find a towel folded into a swan and the extra roll of toilet paper folded in a flowery design. It was little things like that that added an extra touch to the place, especially when you realize that the owner is doing all of this herself. I am not sure how it runs in the summer, but in the winter, the owner was the one cleaning and preparing every room each day - there were no housekeepers doing the work.

When we first arrived, the owner asked us if we needed any advice on where to go in town. We told her that we had friends in Buffalo, NY that we were planning to see and a day later when those friends arrived at the hotel to pick us up, they ran into the owner as she was leaving a room and she immediately cheerfully greeted them and asked them if they were the "friends from Buffalo"! I'm including that little tidbit because I was amazed that she had really listened to us and remembered what we had said when we first talked to her. She obviously really cares about her guests and the entire place. She definitely goes out of her way to make this place a wonderful place to stay and to make every guest feel welcome.

If you're considering the Rex Motel and the lower price is making you hesitant, I'd say to listen to the positive reviews! You'll get a clean and comfortable room and welcoming owners who go out of their way to make sure that you have a good stay in Niagara Falls! I have already recommended this place to a friend who is considering a trip to the area and the next time we go back to this area, this will be my first choice of a place to stay.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Brooklet425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were weary of trying to find "the perfect place" for our stay at Niagara Falls. With a small travel budget and long vacation planned, we came across The Rex Motel. It was amongst the top best places of anywhere we stayed on our 2 week long New York vacation. The rooms were adorable, super clean, and the hosts extremely helpful and friendly. We would stay here again, and recommend this motel to everyone who is reasonably minded, because it will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

As first time visitors to Niagara Falls we could not have been more pleased with our accommodations thanks to the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. Emilia, the owner of the Rex Motel greeted us warmly and was very helpful in directing us to the Falls and a local restaurant The Syndicate, which was fantastic . The hotel is decorated beautifully, is clean and very quiet and close to the Falls, but away from the touristy area. The Falls are a short (5minute) drive from the hotel and parking is reasonable ($5 per day at the Fallsview Casino) or free if a bit further away. Emilia directed us to the parking which is easy to find. We are so pleased with the hotel and it's owners that we highly recommend it to anyone traveling to the Falls. On our next visit to the Niagara area we will definitely be returning to The Rex Motel.
Sincerely
Two Math Teachers from Massacusetts

Room Tip: We loved the king size room #15, decorated beautifuly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaB1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed with Emi and Simeon at the Rex from July 19-21, 2013. We choose them because of the reviews and we were met with a very clean, comfortable and personable stay. We got in late, the rooms were ready and waiting and there was a small snack waiting for us which was welcome after a long trip. We will stay with them again and would recommend this motel to anyone if they want quality, cleanliness, hospitality and a convenient location all in one well priced package with free WiFi and parking.

Thanks Emi and Simeon,
Hippy

Room Tip: They have queens and kings and a family suite. Our duaghter stayed in the princess room, not sure i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SXHippy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Nice little 1950's motor court that has been updated recently and kept clean. I picked this motel based on the reviews and was not disappointed. The motel is on a relatively busy street but is quite because there are not semis rolling by, so road noise is minimal. The two double bed room felt recently updated, very clean and came with coffee maker, microwave and small refrigerator. Parking was not a problem. I was glad to be away from the tourist area of the falls.

Staff was friendly and helpful in suggesting things we might want to see during our short stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaldoLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.7 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#1 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,635 reviews
1.0 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.9 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Motel

Address: 6247 McLeod Rd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $44 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rex Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rex Motel in Ontario, Canada is only within a 5-minute drive of the breath taking Niagara Falls, MarineLand and the Niagara Convention and Civic Center. Also it is in a very close distance to most of the city attractions, theatres, restaurants and attractive shops.The Rex Motel is a family managed and operated business and it is open for its guests all year round. Our selection of 15 boutique rooms with individual unique character, fantastic budget rates, convenient location and peaceful surroundings will definitely make your stay a memorable one.The motel is providing its guests with a free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rex Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing