We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The best place to stay for visiting Niagara Falls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rex Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rex Motel
Ranked #1 of 135 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best place to stay for visiting Niagara Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

As this motel is ranked as the #1 choice there isn't much that we can add to all the raving reviews from all the other visitors. We will give you an overview of the reasons why we loved staying here:

1. Price/Quality: the rates compared to what you will receive is above expected. The rooms are of a fair size, the bathroom is complete and very clean, you will have lot's of channels to choose from if you plan to stay in your room and you will have free wifi.
2. Location: even though you will not be staying next to the falls we found the location excellent. A shopping mall and a grocery store are just down the street.
3. Visiting the Falls: you can buy a pass at the front desk which will give you access to the major attractions, yes maid of the mist is included and no you don't want to miss out on the maid of the mist even though it's a short trip with maybe a bit to many people and the guarantee that you will get soaked.
4. Parking: parking at the motel is free. To visit the falls we found cheap parking at the casino for $5 a day...and lost some money at the casino on our way back to the car ;-)
5. Hotel management: the motel is privately owned and we liked the personal approach very much. They will always help you with whatever you need and will give you advise on your trips if you want to of course.

One final comment: when you are still trying to make a decision on visiting the Niagara Falls from the US or from CA. We found that the Falls were easier accessible from the CA side. You can just drive by the falls and, with your window down, you will even be able to feel the mist. There is a lot to do in the environment everything is within walking distance and otherwise there is a shuttle service which will bring you to all the highlights. As we were returning to the US we decided to have a look at the falls from there as well. After finding a parking place we took a stroll through the park and then arrived at the falls. We did enjoy seeing it from the US side as well but found the CA side much more to be "into" the Falls.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CarlasReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    167
    26
    12
    2
See reviews for
125
400
24
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a family owned business, and the owner was very friendly. Check-in is not open 24-hours, but she called us when we were en route to tell us our room number and to let us know that the key was in the room.

The room was impeccably clean and very nicely decorated. We had a beach-themed room.

The motel is very-well priced, and only a short drive away from the Falls. Hotels closer to the Falls will definitely cost you more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roksta79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We were met by the owner and shown through a range of recently refurbished rooms. The bed was comfy and the room (which admittedly was basic in a homely kind of way) was clean and well serviced during our stay. The owner was very attentive and left fresh home-made pastries in our room each day, couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our stay at the motel and our time in Niagara Falls. Only downside is that the motel isn't walking distance to the falls, then again its suburban location made it very quiet at night. We're glad we followed the reviews on this website and made the trek over the border to stay at the Rex Motel during our visit to Niagara Falls and surrounds.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hirko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muskoka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We enjoyed choosing the theme room of choice - we chose the "Provence" a little bit of France in Niagara Falls. Very practically laid out, the shower is a European tiled stall, roomy and clean - the envy of many a higher end hotel/motel. The bed was very comfortable, and the owners friendly and informative, wanting to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. For the price and the service this is unbeatable - we will be back again, and recommend it to anyone traveling in the Niagara area. It is within easy distance to the Falls, St. Catherines, the QEW and the U.S. border.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MuskokaBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

How can a little motel off the beaten path get better reviews than the big 5-star hotels with views overlooking the Falls? Probably with attention to detail and a sense of pride in ownership that is almost impossible to find these days. Yes, there is street noise, yes the rooms are small, but there are real teacups on the little bistro table and home-cooked fresh pastries delivered to your room! Everything looks so clean I swear they must repaint once a month - without spattering a drop. If you are budget-conscious and looking at motels in this price range, this is the only one you should consider. Even if you are looking at expensive hotels, you should still think about staying one night at the Rex. I must admit, I would never have considered a motel when planning our trip to NF, but the reviews here were so compelling that I decided to stay here our last night. We were going to spend the day in Niagara-on-the-Lake anyway and basically just sleep here before our morning departure. This freed up my hotel budget so I was able to justify upgrading to one of the Fallsview hotels the other nights, but then again I don't mind hotel-hopping. Plus, we had a car so NOT having to worry about what we did with the car (and how much it would cost) for one night was very nice. We got up in the morning, our car was right outside our door so we were off in less than 5 minutes. It was a 30-minute production to check out and get our car when we stayed downtown.
The owner is so gracious and nice and eager to please that it is difficult to find fault with this place. Her restaurant recs were spot on. My husband is hard to impress, but even he commented on the careful workmanship and unbelievable cleanliness. A truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KMissyHMHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Observations about the Rex:
1. Each room has a theme. Among others there is a Paris themed room and Caribbean themed room.
2. The rooms were renovated within the last few years.
3. It is a 5 minute drive to the Falls. It is probably a 30-40 minute walk to get downtown.

Positives:
1. Our room was very clean and well-maintained.
2. The owner was friendly and took great pride in her establishment.
3. The price was by far the best value we found.
4. Hot shower with great water pressure.
5. The room had a refrigerator.

Negatives:
1. The room and bathroom are small.
2. The TV is very small.
3. The bed was not very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you get there early, the owner will give you a tour of a couple rooms and you can pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck_Bad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levack, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This is not your average motel, the owners are great and are very helpful with planning your stay and getting around. We got married while here and returned to our rooms that evening to a beautiful towel sculpture on our bed, a lovely card and wine glasses to go with the bottle of wine we brought with us.
Every evening they leave pastries in your room which make a great breakfast..we would definitely stay here again, it was great!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleoherazeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.0 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
1.1 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cairn Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Motel

Property: The Rex Motel
Address: 6247 McLeod Rd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rex Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rex Motel in Ontario, Canada is only within a 5-minute drive of the breath taking Niagara Falls, MarineLand and the Niagara Convention and Civic Center. Also it is in a very close distance to most of the city attractions, theatres, restaurants and attractive shops.The Rex Motel is a family managed and operated business and it is open for its guests all year round. Our selection of 15 boutique rooms with individual unique character, fantastic budget rates, convenient location and peaceful surroundings will definitely make your stay a memorable one.The motel is providing its guests with a free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rex Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing