We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Par for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rex Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Rex Motel
Ranked #1 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Par for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The pluses: price, location, helpfulness of the staff.
The minuses: location, cramped, noisy one of 2 nights.
The motel is on a main thoroughfare, so traffic can be a problem in a one story place. The owners were accommodating, friendly and gave good tips about parking in town, but you have to drive to e attractions. The room was clean but cheaply appointed.
As value goes, you will get what you pay for. Is is not a negative, just don't expect any fancy amenities or convenient location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieGT203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    185
    29
    13
    4
See reviews for
129
441
28
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the Rex Motel while vacationing in Canada for our 10th wedding Anniversary. Our room was breath taking when we opened the door. We felt very safe and enjoyed our chat with the owner and very thankful for the map she provided us to help us get around Niagra Falls. There were fresh baked pastries waiting for us each day and we were delighted! When we visit Canada again we will definately stay at Rex Motel!

Room Tip: Each room is decorated and named.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Unique motel only a few minutes from the falls via McLeod & Stanley. We stayed three nights in early September. The price was very reasonable and we were more than welcome and taken care of . Rooms are more than adequate but don't expect a Hilton. They have everything you need and if they don't the owners are more than willing to supply you needs. Each room is decorated seperately and we had out choice when we arrived. There are restaurants in the vicinity - one across the street, a Tim Hortons a few blocks away and an excellent Chinese restaurant a few blocks from there. Lundy's Lane is not far away where we enjoyed "Oh, Canada", the museum and our favorite The Flying Saucer restaurant. Thank you, Rex Motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralphieohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed 2 nights late September and would highly recommend the Rex.Lovely, clean and nice sheets. Great little gem of a Motel. Would stay again. We were glad of the quieter night location with only minutes to the centre of town and the beautiful Falls and parkway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We booked into the Rex Motel for one night in September and extended it to two nights upon arrival. The owner of the motel is very welcoming, friendly and helpful and personally showed us to our room. We were given maps of the local area, advice on the best place to park to see the falls and generally what to do in the area.

Upon entering our room there was a lovely clean aroma, fresh washed laundry which was lovely and something you don't always get. The room was immaculate, not a spec of dust in sight and it felt like you were staying in a friends guest room rather than a motel. The bed was very large and comfortable and the room was decorated and furnished very tastefully.

The bathroom was again very clean with a shower over the bath and plenty of toiletries provided. The microwave and fridge (with a separate freezer compartment) were both clean and useful.

A couple of fresh home baked pastries are left in your room each day which are yummy and it's a really nice touch. Also, as we didn't drink coffee we were left with a variety of tea-bags instead.

The falls are about a 5 minute drive from the motel. The motel is just off the main road however, you don't hear any noise from the road and it feels very safe.

I cannot praise this motel enough, the service is excellent and the owners put a lot of effort in to keep it all spic and span which is appreciated by the customers. I would not hesitate to stay at the Rex Motel again and am glad we chose it for our stay, it's excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

My mother and I stayed at the Rex for two nights to celebrate my birthday. Thanks to tripadvisor reviews I decided to stay there and I was not disappointed. The owner is a wonderful woman and service and care is number one on her priority list. She knew my name and brought me the keys to my room before I even got out of the car. The room had wonderful personal touches and was everything I needed. I will definitely be returning to the Rex. I just wish I had taken a picture with Amelia and her family before I left so I can put it in my photo book. I can't wait to see them and stay there again. By the way, I knew I was going to be impressed the moment I booked the room. I explained after booking that I was celebrating my birthday and there was no better way to celebrate than with my mom. Emilia called me (I booked online) just to say she was happy that I love my mom so much and that she could not wait to meet us. Her call made my day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FutureChef316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife, 2 kids an I were visiting Niagara Falls and selected the Rex following the great reviews here, and we were glad to discover that everything is true. The room was comfortable and clean, the owner was out of her way to make us feel welcomed. She even treated us with a fresh Bulgarian pastry every evening. The location is great, with easy access to the falls, and very close to supermarkets as well (Walmart, Basics)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilcohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.0 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#2 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Motel

Property: The Rex Motel
Address: 6247 McLeod Rd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rex Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rex Motel in Ontario, Canada is only within a 5-minute drive of the breath taking Niagara Falls, MarineLand and the Niagara Convention and Civic Center. Also it is in a very close distance to most of the city attractions, theatres, restaurants and attractive shops.The Rex Motel is a family managed and operated business and it is open for its guests all year round. Our selection of 15 boutique rooms with individual unique character, fantastic budget rates, convenient location and peaceful surroundings will definitely make your stay a memorable one.The motel is providing its guests with a free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rex Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing