We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rex Motel, a hidden gem...shhhh!”
Review of The Rex Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rex Motel
Ranked #1 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rex Motel, a hidden gem...shhhh!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

What a fabulous place.

My husband and I drove 8 hours from Mackinaw City in Michigan to Niagara, and we arrived quite late about 9pm, but it wasn't any trouble at all.

We arrived, got a key and didn't even check out the room before heading to the falls for some food and fun. It's a very short drive, and being brits, we could've and would've walked it, but it was so hot, thought better of it.

When we got back to Rex, we were greeted by Emile and she told us about the room, Jamaican theme, and it was absolutely stunning, comfy, cool, clean. What more could you want.

We're newlyweds so she said to come back again with our kids, and as long as this family still have the hotel, we will! What a fabulous place.

I would recommend it to EVERYONE!

Room Tip: Any room is a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetset1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    186
    31
    14
    4
See reviews for
131
445
28
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I picked out this motel from the reviews, because I wanted to stay at a totally Canadian property at least once on the trip. Hah! The landlady couldn't have been more forthcoming. We were allowed to pick out our room. Each room was individually decorated. She had also baked us a welcome dessert.

Now for the fun part--the storage space was poorly designed, and there were NO HEAT CONTROLS. The room was absolutely freezing, and no extra blankets. The king bed would have been comfy, but were were too cold to enjoy it.

Room Tip: Make sure you have heat controls in the room, or at the very least a supply of extra blankets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hroneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The most striking thing about the stay was the friendliness of the owner. She is of Bulgarian heritage and in the evening brought by a warm cheese pastry as made in her country of origin. Price very reasonable and room was just fine. The room we stayed in had been redone in a "Paris" theme and that turned what might have been an average room into a bit of fun.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fricky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Warm, friendly and helpful proprietors. Rooms are uniquely decorated and clean. There were fresh pastries in our room for us...they were delicious. Level parking lot,so great for motorbikes. Not close to the falls, but nice quiet place.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

When we checked into this motel Emily wanted to take us to the room befoe my husband did the complete check in. She showed us the room and when my husband went to check in she told him the history about how the room was decorated - it was caled the Bulgaria Room. He came back with fresh out of the oven pasty that she had made for us. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. It is about 1.5 miles from the falls and Emily did give us some places to park.
Our thanks to Emily for making this another wonderful stay in Niagara Falls.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2012

No wonder this motel is ranked #1. IT IS THE NUMBER ONE!
Convenient location, warmest and cozy design rooms(each of them decorate different, and each of them accomplish with fridge, coffee machine, and flat TV) , friendly, helpful and polite owners, lovely breakfast and enjoyable outdoor area, the best price which you can get ever, plus an wonderful time in one of the most remarkable place in the world! What else you need to enjoy yours perfect vacation!
When I return to Niagara Falls I would have no hesitation in staying at the Rex again.
Thank you again Emi, Moni i Zdravka.
Ivelina

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivelina z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The Rex motel is a gem! Its located a little ways away from the falls but in a nice area with some great local resturants. It is a family run motel where the family lives onsite. The rooms were clean and had good sized bathrooms. We could really tell that the owners took good care of the place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the yellow room and the bed was very comfortable. All the rooms open to the outside so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSisoyIsgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.0 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#2 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Motel

Property: The Rex Motel
Address: 6247 McLeod Rd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rex Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rex Motel in Ontario, Canada is only within a 5-minute drive of the breath taking Niagara Falls, MarineLand and the Niagara Convention and Civic Center. Also it is in a very close distance to most of the city attractions, theatres, restaurants and attractive shops.The Rex Motel is a family managed and operated business and it is open for its guests all year round. Our selection of 15 boutique rooms with individual unique character, fantastic budget rates, convenient location and peaceful surroundings will definitely make your stay a memorable one.The motel is providing its guests with a free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia and HRS so you can book your The Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rex Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing