We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Normal Motel”
Review of The Rex Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rex Motel
Ranked #2 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2011

this motel from outside looks like many motel in the USA and Canada ... but it is different.

The staff take care of you for example explaining what to do in the Niagara fall area without any interest (they did not ask me to tell to the restaurant I was coming thanks to the Hotel).

The rooms are clean and nice ... they are different one from the another and even if the forniture are cheap ... they looks preatty.

In few words .... Not a Motel even if it look like and excellent quality vs price

Room Tip: Call the guest
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luka67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for The Rex Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 765 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2011

We we're just looking for cheap motel to crash in after an event in St. Catharines (all there were $90 plus) and this was perfect find. The rate was great, the room was better than average (for a motel) and the delicious pastry Emilia delivered was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

this was an unexpected find. a motel at the fall with a reasonable price. the owners are very freindly and super nice people. this is truly a family business. Even their mom baked us fresh pastry of our morning coffee. I will look forward to my next stay at the REX Motel. kevin and nancy

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank novomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Hello! I needed accommodations back in my home town of Niagara Falls, Canada - somewhere near my parents, and a walk away from a grocery store, so I could mind my pennies while back in town. The Rex is PERFECT. Having grown up in the neighbourhood, I was curious to see how the renovations transformed the place, and did they! Each motel room comes complete with everything they promise on the website. The kitchenette is a life and money saver, wifi is free and excellent (I work from room), free cable TV with tons of channels and really big TV in my room and free parking right outside your door! Super clean, cozy and bright, with the owners Emily and Simeon available and responsive with any request! Clearly the best rates in town if you need a weekend away, transition home, cool neighbourhoody place! Would stay again in a heartbeat and am sure I will be back! Thank you Rex!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MannyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

If you are not high maintenance and if you don't mind driving a few kilometers into the center of town, this motel is great. The owners are a major part of why this is place is a winner. This couple is super friendly and pays attention to detail. The grandmother even gave me homemade food such as pizza during my stay.

They offered to let me choose between the 2 available rooms that they had after showing me each one. Each room is decorated w/ a different theme, a nice difference from the standard motel room.

The motel is older and has some tired furniture so a high maintenance type may prefer to stay elsewhere. The room included a kitchenette. I need to have a fridge available when for leftovers, etc. when I travel so the kitchenette was more than enough.

Internet service was free and reliable. The place was clean, had hot water, etc., etc.

Stay here while in Niagara Falls, Ont., it's a great bargain.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
2  Thank brnpelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

One of the nicest motels I have ever stayed in!
The motels are uniquely decorated. Free WiFi and cable. Microwave and fridge. Very clean, including the bathroom. The hosts are very nice and are willing to help you with whatever you need, they make sure to check in on you and make sure you have everything. Definitely will go back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cleo288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Niagara was my second stop in Canada and I was so thrilled to have stayed in Rex Motel. The rooms were neat, clean and nicely decorated. WIFI service was also included which kept me connected.

Emily and Simeon are hospitable so many ways. The nice cookies and pastries we found everyday in our room, recommendations on where to go and even giving us a lift to Mandarin to have this awesome Chinese buffet around the vicinity.

The only catch about staying there is that the easiest way to travel around is by cab and each way is USD 8 per trip. It also tends to be a little quiet in the motel but it's fine with me.

I would recommend others to stay there if you are in Niagara. It's well worth for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summerxuelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.0 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#1 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,618 reviews
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Motel

Address: 6247 McLeod Rd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $50 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rex Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rex Motel in Ontario, Canada is only within a 5-minute drive of the breath taking Niagara Falls, MarineLand and the Niagara Convention and Civic Center. Also it is in a very close distance to most of the city attractions, theatres, restaurants and attractive shops.The Rex Motel is a family managed and operated business and it is open for its guests all year round. Our selection of 15 boutique rooms with individual unique character, fantastic budget rates, convenient location and peaceful surroundings will definitely make your stay a memorable one.The motel is providing its guests with a free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rex Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing