We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let negative reviews get inside your head”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Imperial Hotel & Suites
Ranked #84 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Arthur
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't let negative reviews get inside your head”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here as a family, husband, myself & our 2 yr old daughter. I'll admit I didn't go w/an open mind, I let some negative reviews stay in my head. What a mistake?!?!?! PROS:comfy beds (we had 2 queens & a double pull out. At home my daughter rarely sleeps all night but for some magical reason she slept 9 hours straight, what a blessing!), very spacious room (room 312) (lots of room for my daughter to run around), friendly service at check-in & check-out. CONS: may sound lame but no pen/notepad in room (I think I looked around a few times for them, but no success), hallway had a smell BUT the room itself was perfectly fine (which matters the most cause that's where you spend your time), very limited amount of tv channels~no cartoons; watched LOTS of sports :(, phone didn't work BUT one call to front desk & it was fixed in no time :). Would recommend this place to friends. Never did find the pool though, didn't really look either.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmmurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecpete, Manager at Imperial Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
bmmurch,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us - and that your daughter slept through the night!

We would be happy to have you stay with us again,

See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    158
    132
    101
    140
See reviews for
247
194
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We just returned from a two night stay at this hotel.

It is a bit run down but the rooms were very clean. We did not require a lot of communication with the people that worked there but the service that we did receive was great.

If you are expecting a high end hotel, this is not the hotel for you. If you are just looking for a clean place to put your head at night and a great falls experience, then you have found the right place.

They do charge 10.00 a night for parking which is par for the falls. The one thing they don't do is ensure you that you have a spot to park in when they sell their spots to the general public. This was a bit of a pain because we were in and out all weekend for a hockey tournament.

The pool was clean (beware there is a musty smell in the hallway leading to the pool but it is no way indicative of the state of the pool).

I have two complaints about the trip...

1) the hand / body soap in the room was horrible. Bring your own.

2) we were charged a fee (though minimal 1.00) for having the ability to have a safe in our room. We did not use the safe and did not authorize the charge. The entire cost of our two night stay including parking was just over 200.00... which is great... I just hate hidden costs.

The hotel is a max. 10 min walk down Clifton Hill to the falls. If you are runner, this is a great place to run.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hckym0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecpete, Manager at Imperial Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
hckym0m,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. We are happy to know that our hotel was accomodating for you and your family, and the team!

We appreciate your kind words. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked our reservation 5 weeks in advance for 4 nights stay and requested two nonsmoking rooms, a ‘Family Suite’ and a ‘Junior Suite’.

Sadly the revulsion and disappointment began as soon as we opened the door to our ‘Family Suite’.

Literally we all gagged as it was impossible to breathe due to the intensely concentrated stench of mildew odor and the strong smell of cigarette smoke as well. When looked around found the ledge on the window sill and the area around the AC/Heating unit filled with heavy coating of mildew.

Furthermore, there was no ‘nonsmoking’ sign posted on the door as other rooms had and the overwhelming smoke smell in this room was further evidence that this could not have been a nonsmoking room. However, the front desk clerk insisted that this was a nonsmoking room and to make our night comfortable he offered us a can of Febreze to keep spraying throughout the night to suppress the nauseating musty and smoky smell. We asked if our room can be switched and he said that they were fully booked, and we can talk to the manager the next day.

The room did not have windows that can be opened to get fresh air in, so we paid $ 191.33 plus Taxes and Service Fees just for the first night and forced to spend the night in a room filled with noxious atmosphere indisputably posing a health hazard.

The next day we had to wait for someone to check out and for the hotel to clean up the room before we were switched over to another ‘Family Suite’ which was not any better.

To our dismay we found both rooms disgustingly filthy, dirty and dusty, with noticeable large stain marks on the walls, curtains, chairs and couch. In many spots the wallpaper on the walls was torn and there were holes in the walls. The popcorn ceiling was filled with cobwebs and small balls of dust fuzz. In addition to dirt and stains from wall to wall, the carpets in both rooms had dried chewing gum stock all over them.

The breakfast was another disappointment. We paid extra for breakfast when booking the hotel but we were not told that breakfast is limited to four items only, out of which some were not available because they had ran out of them at 9:00 am. Breakfast is served at Golden Griddle which is attached to the hotel. This is another horrible filthy place with rude employees and food quality much, much worse than any street vendors’ food cart. As a result we paid again to have breakfast somewhere else, while the hotel refused to refund the breakfast cost that they had charged us.

Prior to booking this hotel I wish I had read the reviews that spread over a 10 year time span, with hundreds of the same nature complaints, from filth and dirt to bed bugs and anything in between.

All those people’s complaints could not be unfounded.

Room Tip: Would not recommend for anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Papuyanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecpete, Manager at Imperial Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Papuyanni,

Thank you for your candid review of your stay with us.

It is obvious that we were unable to satisfy your needs as a traveller. Being a family friendly, budget minded hotel, we appeal to that clientele. Those looking for 5-star accomodations at a 3-star price, may chose to book elsewhere.

You noted that your room was a smoking room. This is false, as all of our Family Suites are 100% non-smoking. Not all doors have "non-smoking" signs. This is no way indicative of the room being smoking.

You noted that you had moved to another room the following day. My apologies for saying this - however, obviously the room was occupied by other guests, that did not complain about a thing. i'm sure there was no issue with this room.

Once again, i'm sorry we were unable to accomodate your needs. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I just arrived home last night after staying 3 nights here. It was great from the get go! The staff were so sweet, putting our bags away until we could check in so we could go check out everything. We asked for extra coffee cups so we could have tea in the evening, no problem. They were attentive and polite the entire stay.

I read on here after I booked about the rooms smelling...NOPE! I walked into our room and not only did it not smell bad, it didn't smell at all...no cleaner smell or anything.

We have found a new place to stay when we visit the Falls.

Room Tip: Get a 24 hour Ride pass for the WeGo System and eat on Lundy's Lane to save a few dollars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie_Luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecpete, Manager at Imperial Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Laurie_Luke,

Your kind words about your stay mean a lot to us! I will pass them along to the staff!

Happy to hear we were able to provide you with a great place to stay. See you and your family, next time.

We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Check in on Monday 03/06/2013, check out on 05/06/2013. From the beginning the impression was really good concerning the service to the reception. Very polite and courteous service I could say. The room 707 was clean and well prepared for guests. The only less good think is the windows cleanliness. The breakfast was good, the only problem was with the… missing fruits (even if in the menu was specified like present). Comparing the prices from the neighborhood I find the Imperial Hotel offer good services for decent prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecpete, Manager at Imperial Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dan T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!

I inquired with the Restaurant Manager regarding the lacking of Fruit Salad. She noted that sometimes in the shoulder season, because it is fresh fruit, it is ordered closer to the weekend. In high season it is stocked daily.

Once again, thank you for review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great value, 5 minutes walk to Falls.Clear and well equipped rooms. Excellent restaurant down stairs. Very friendly reception staff and helpful.Plenty of parking (which you pay extra for which I don't agree with if you are staying at the hotel). All in all a great choice of hotel.

Room Tip: The Maid of the Mist is a must. There is an option to buy a 4 attraction pass but this is not really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked a family suite over the long weekend for a group of six adults for a casino/shopping weekend and had a fun stay. The room comprised of two queen beds in the bedroom and a semi-private living room area with a double pull-out sofa. The room has 2 TVs, safe for valuables, an ice bucket, full length mirror, hairdryer, and i think there was an iron/ironing board too but we didn't use it. The best part of the room was that the vanity mirror/basin was outside the bathroom which makes a big difference when there's a lot of people trying to get ready at once! When we arrived (about two hours before check-in time), our room wasn't ready however they arranged for our room to be cleaned immediately, which we really appreciated! The location is great, just a 5 minute walk down through Clifton Hill's main road to get to the falls, and there's a liquor store a block away as well as a multitude of restaurants/bars nearby and the Falls View casino is a short walk away. Unfortunately the spa was way too hot to sit in for any longer than five minutes and there were no pool towels at the time we went so we had to use our bath towels - however we called reception when we got back to our room to have our bath towels replaced and they arrived to the room in a matter of minutes! It would also have been good to have a couple of chairs in the room - as it was, we only had the 2 seater sofa which was being used as a bed. But considering the price, location, service etc, you really can't go wrong with this place. I will stay here again on my next trip for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peachesandcream81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Clifton Hill Casino
0.3 mi away
Old Stone Inn Boutique Hotel
Old Stone Inn Boutique Hotel
#31 of 129 in Niagara Falls
1,005 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near the Falls
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near th...
#32 of 129 in Niagara Falls
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#14 of 129 in Niagara Falls
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel & Suites

Property: Imperial Hotel & Suites
Address: 5851 Victoria Ave, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Imperial Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel And Suites
Imperial Hotel Niagara Falls
Imperial Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing