We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel with only a few hiccups” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Hotel & Suites
Ranked #86 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Good hotel with only a few hiccups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel last week for 3 days as a honeymoon we never got to take when we got married in Nov. Two of those days where paid for by a third party group rate. When I called to reserve, a man named Peter was more then helpful with me and also squeezed us in on a very busy weekend for them with a great room! i will admit we where definately scared after reading all these reviews but where pleased and had a great time. Alot of things written on this site about this hotel are true but exaggerated. The bed seemed old and noisy if you catch my drift but was clean. The pillows are flat and lumpy but we did ask for more and was given as many as we wanted. TV is an old tube with very little channels but we barely needed it as this hotel is right in the middle of all the excitement and we where out alot. Towels where thin but clean. I would say that it all matches up to what you are paying. We decided to stay a 3rd night and where going to try a different hotel but the woman at the front desk was very accomidating and lowered our rate for the 3rd night without us even asking which i thought was very nice.
It is a great location and our room had a view of the falls which was nice as I thought we would be a little too far away for it.
There where no bugs, no stained furniture, no dirty elevators and customer service was quite good.
My main issues where....the walls really are thin so you can hear people in the next room but unless you make a point of listening, you barely notice it.
The parking....not good...you have to pay to park in the hotel parking lot. We paid $10 a day which seemed pricy compared to the other lots close by that where $5 or $3. We had trouble finding a spot the second night and was not impressed. the parking lot is not just for guests of the hotel, anyone can pay to park there and it fills up fast on weekends and evenings. I believe that if you are a guest of the hotel then parking should be included as free and then just make the other people using it to park to walk down to Clifton hill or to the many restaurants/attractions/stores pay. We will defiantely think about staying in this hotel again when we come back next year :)

Room Tip: #605 is a nice large room, can see the Falls but windows a bit filmy. Bed area and also a small sitt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessSavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecpete, Manager at Imperial Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
JessSavage,

Thanks for writing your review letting us know about your stay!

We appreciate the comments about "It is a great location and our room had a view of the falls which was nice as I thought we would be a little too far away for it.
There where no bugs, no stained furniture, no dirty elevators and customer service was quite good". As we take pride in our customer service and friendliness, it is nice to have such comments posted.

You stayed with us during a very busy time (Lobster Feast in our Steakhouse Restaurant) and a hockey tournament in the hotel. I understand parking issues may have arose. We charge for parking because of our superb location in proximity to the falls, casinos and attractions. We do offer an overflow lot that the front desk staff should have directed you to! I apologize if they did not. Our fee of $10 plus tax daily is actually on the low end of parking fees in the city. The $3 and $5 parking lots you mentioned are "pay for the day" parking lots. They are not for overnight parking and are not patrolled.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We would be happy to have you return!

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    153
    132
    100
    139
See reviews for
244
194
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schomberg Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

From the first time I talked to Peter on the phone I felt good about the Imperial. I also talked to Jen and Daniella who were both a delight and very helpful. They were able to tell me everthing I wanted to know about the hotel and info about sight seeing. Never book this hotel through a third party res call direct. When you call they say that they dont have falls view but we were on the 9th and 10th floor and had a great view without the big expence. I have no complaints about this hotel. It was clean, friendly staff and the breakfast was great. We would come bck again. When I booked they were giving away free tickets to the magic show right behind them. It was awsome. Give this hotel a chance you will not regret it. PS I read every review and read reviews about this hotel. Some said it was dirty, well if you drop garbage and dont pick it up then thats your falt. TRUST ME!!

Room Tip: Best views are the front and high floors 9 and 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

We have been staying at this hotel for the past 10 years. It is not high-tech or luxurious but it is very clean and comfortable and good value for your money. The Golden Griddle in the hotel has a very good breakfast buffet but you can also order a-la-carte. There is a nice sized pool, a hot tub and gym available, along with a small games room. Mostly we love the location and the front line personnel at the Imperial. Starting with Joe the Manager, Peter, Sandy, Barb and Jen, there is no high turnover in this hotel, the staff have been working here for many years and are like a family. It is very refreshing to have friendly and attentive staff that know you and make a point of calling you by name. We have stayed at other hotels in Niagara Falls, but keep coming back "home"! We'll be coming back in June!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecpete, Manager at Imperial Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Franca! Thank you so much for your kind words! We do enjoy having you and your family stay here. Over the years you all have become like cousins to us!! Thanks again for posting the review and see you in June! Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

This has to be the worst hotel in Ontario Canada and should have their hotel licences revoked! Lets start with the beligerent front staff , dirty rooms, (check out the dust on top of the sitting room tv and find my name in the dust of room 1004) no or non existing housekeeping( MELTED CANDLE WAX) all over the tables and floor ,smoke free rooms actually mean (you can smoke freely) as apparent from all the burn marks on furniture,toilets and tables. Not to mention the smell from the hallways. The curtains are so stiff and yellow from nicotine that if you moved them you really only need to inhale to get smoked! Hidden surcharges such as destination marketing and development charge ? Parking for guests is NOT included ( 10.00 plus tax per day) while just across the street is 5.00 all day . Sleeping, gum chewing waitress for the start of the day, yummy, miss informed wait staff at night, out of the daily all you can eat special . You must bring your own amenites as they dont supply them. They don't wash the linens everyday !YUCK!!!! Maybe the management should take the development charge and reimburse the guests that stayed there.
With the worst regard
Ms. Sandy Dionne
Resident Manager

Room Tip: room 1004 not good rom 301 not good dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank voldkasandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecpete, Manager at Imperial Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Sandy,

Thank you for your colourful review about your stay with us.

Please accept my apologies if your stay was anything less than fantastic.

Though we do normally take all guest feedback and ensure these issues do not occur again; I would like to take this time to point out what I found after your departure.

After speaking with the agent you dealt with at check-in, I was informed that you were somewhat misled by the internet company you booked with. Apparently, you were under the impression you booked a Jacuzzi Suite room. When you were told that you had in fact not booked a jacuzzi, it is clear that no matter what we did on this end, you would not be satisfied.

Yes, you were checked into a smoking room with two queen sized beds. You were moved shortly after to an upgraded room - a Family Suite. My apologies if you found dust in the room, housekeeping has been dealt with accordingly. Please note, as stated on your reservation, when you book a room through a 3rd party site, there are no room preference guarantees. Should you have some requests, we always reccomend calling the hotel directly after booking, to guarantee these requests for you.

In your review you mention the Destination Marketing Fee. However since you booked on a 3rd party internet site, you would have pre-paid the reservation to them, and not paid the Destination Marketing Fee. As stated on all websites we do charge $10.00 per day, plus tax for parking. So you would have known before arriving here, and would have been told at check-in. Noting that "across the street" they charge $5.00 for parking is untrue, which I, myself told you at check-out. The $5.00 is for a paid parking pass for people sightseeing for the day and is not valid for a 24hr period.

Regarding the restaurant - I am a little confused. Our restaurant is only open from 8am - 1pm for breakfast. If someone was chewing gum, I do apologize. Our "all you can eat buffet" is only valid on the weekends". We do not have any "night wait staff".

Room linens are changed after each check-out and every second day as requested for stayovers. You noted that there are no amenities in the room (such as toiletries). However our log book notes that you in fact brought all the toiletries to the front desk, and extras were brought up when you asked for them. We do supply shampoo/conditioner, bar soap, face soap, facial tissue and toilet paper.

All in all, it saddens me that you did not enjoy your stay and you felt that writing a review online, instead of saying something at checkout, would be a better idea. I would have been happy to discuss this issue with you in person, and this offer is still on the table. Please feel free to contact me at 1-800-263-2553.

Thank you for comments.

Peter Castrilli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstburg ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

The family stayed for three nights and had a great time.The motel was close to everything.The only thing wrong was the pool was to cold for my self and grandson to go in.Ireconmend this motel to every one.Will be back in JUNE.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecpete, Manager at Imperial Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Hello! Thank you for posting your review. We sincerely appreciate our guests comments such as yours. Now that you're in town, maybe we will see you again! All the best in Niagara Falls! Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Without knowing the area we were about to visit,the location was more than better than we expected, the room was absolutely gorgeous,the rate and service was spectacular, in fact our mini vaca was so fabulous, we moved here a month later! Now it's like we are always on vacation!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Tia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights.Had a very nice time here alittle dated but nicly located between both casinos.Great service helpful staff very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thedude61rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecpete, Manager at Imperial Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thedude61rules, thank you for posting your review. Happy to hear you had a nice stay! See you again! Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Clifton Hill Casino
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
0.1 mi away
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near the Falls
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Near th...
#32 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Niagara Falls Hotel by the Falls
Travelodge Niagara Falls Hotel b...
#39 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Stone Inn Boutique Hotel
Old Stone Inn Boutique Hotel
#34 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel & Suites

Property: Imperial Hotel & Suites
Address: 5851 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Imperial Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel And Suites
Imperial Hotel Niagara Falls
Imperial Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing