We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos

Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos
Ranked #86 of 536 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Really fresh and tasty California-Mexican style burritos and tacos. Newer restaurant outside of the tourist zone, well worth finding!Everything homemade - awesome street eats. Not a chain... there's only one. Open 11:30am to 7:30pm closed Sundays
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

The beef burrito lacked flavor, ive had better burritos in chipotle and in newark airport. The servers DONT use gloves to roll out the burrito, and its the same server who takes your payment. The only thing I liked was they grill the burrito giving it a crunch, and lotsa hot sauce options.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alena_724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    46
    10
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service and choices. Very tasty.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The service was great. The two guys working there helped my girlfriend and I personalize our burritos. Many different and better quality choices than Chipotle or Qdoba. Although it's closer to a fast food place than a restaurant, I would have gladly eaten here all four days we visited. The owner appeared very interested in making us happy and I appreciated that. Only recommendation would be fountain drinks so they're easier to get. Their bottled drink selection was good though. I'd definitely go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ktaylor2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sooooo good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Relative of ours recommended Frijoles because they're from Niagara. We were in town visiting and ate there for lunch and it was delicious! I couldn't even finish my burrito.
It's really filling but definitely one of the best mexican places I've ate at in Canada. I would highly recommend it, especially if you're hungry. It's a little removed from the tourist area but still easy to get to.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CTraveller161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

People who are writing reviews condemning this restaurant because its not 'real Mexican' food are ridiculous. 1-If you look at the decor and signage, its obviously a Californian/Bajan take on Mexican food. 2- It doesn't say 'authentic Mexican cuisine', its a burrito joint. Reviewers who are writing that they have been spoiled by meals from food carts in Mexico should really get real, its a burrito joint. The restaurant is awesome, compared to a lot of stuff in Niagara Falls. If you've eaten at Burrito Boyz or the like, its similar. But the flavour is different and options are different (like you can put cabbage in your burrito, and they heat them up on a grill). Its a great meal on the cheap, lots of veggies and sauces. For 7 bucks you can get a ginormous burrito with the stuff you want in it. Or if you want 'authentic Mexican Food' or want to be spoilt eating at tacos carts in Akron, go there and eat authentic Mexican Food....or get real and enjoy your 7 dollar burrito.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank archaeologygenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Would not return here, and I dont recommend that you try it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you have ever had REAL mexican food in your life, do not eat here. If you think Taco Bell or Chipotle are real mexican food and you like those two, you will be fine here. In my opinion this place is terrible, and over priced. On its best day it does not even come close to a low end Chipotle.
Where to start. . .sure the staff were friendly, to the regulars they were friends with and the people they knew. Behind the counter amongst themselves there was poor communication and constant bickering about which customer was supposed to receive what, and how things were supposed to be prepared.
The food. . .like another reviewer stated, the chips and salsa/guacamole are a joke. They're 5 or 6 tortillas about the size of a CD overfried to a rock hard oily crisp with about 2 ounces of salsa or guacamole. For $4.50 this is simply ridiculous.
The tacos were disappointing as well, and the meat was not flavorful.
Maybe all my trips to Mexico and the numerous tacos carts in Akron have spoiled me, with $0.70 to $1.50 tacos, al pastor, cecina, steak, carnitas, cabeza, cachete, barbacoa, and chicharron - but still $24 for 6 tacos, chips and a coke at Frijoles was less than not worth it. I say dont bother coming here, your money will be better spent elsewhere.
I am really surprised this place has recevied so many good reviews on tripadvisor. I understand this is Niagara falls and options are limited and overpriced, but after reading so many raving reviews and then actually visiting and eating here, I was and am thoroughly disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bradley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos also viewed

Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing