We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“fast and authentic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos

Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos
Ranked #86 of 536 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Really fresh and tasty California-Mexican style burritos and tacos. Newer restaurant outside of the tourist zone, well worth finding!Everything homemade - awesome street eats. Not a chain... there's only one. Open 11:30am to 7:30pm closed Sundays
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“fast and authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Great mexican food, good service, great selection, best Mexican in Niagara Falls, good selection of Hot Sauce to try as well, can't wait to return

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_Goes_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    46
    11
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great service and delicious food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had this on our list of restaurants to try while in Niagara. The only Disappointment was actually trying to find it. We stayed at the four points sheraton on fallsview blvd and the portage road we sawnaround there didn't lead us to where we needed to be.

We accidentally stumbled on the road when we stayed for a day at Great Wolf Lodge which is closer to the Whirlpool Falls. When we saw the road we were excited we would actuakky get to try it out.

Service was incredible. My daughter had a very specific request as a picky eater and the staff went above and beyond to accomodate her.

The food was delicious. I too thought it would be like Chipotle which is a favorite of mine but it was actually better.

This place was worth the hassle to find it. Hint: map it before you go.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HokieEngineer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Chipotle's Northern Cousin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We recently checked out Frijoles in search of a quick Mexican fix. Its not authentico by any means but it is tasty and filling. After reading some of the reviews I just wanted to mention a few things:

Bland- to me the meat had good flavor, as did the corn salsa and sauce. The black beans however were very bland and overwhelmed the other flavors. So if you find it a bit bland, either skip the beans or head to the hot sauce station on the wall by the counter and adjust the flavor. They have everything from Franks to my fave Yucatecan hot sauces.

Watery Sauce/Cream- the sauces/cream itself isnt watery. Its the liquid from the meat, beans and salsas combining with them that makes that watery sauce. Either ask them to drain it well, or learn to hunch when you eat.

Service was great. The owner was taking orders and was super friendly. Overall it was a decent meal for a decent price. The only real complaint I had was they had little/no A/C and not even a ceiling fan to break up the heat. Hope that changes!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annath70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We go weekly !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

California style, not Mexico
Many hot sauce choices,family owned, great people,not fast, but its not a fast food place! It's awesome!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ylime79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Amazing food. Huge portions for a small price. I make three meals out of one burrito! The couple that owns it are the nicest people and always very welcoming, their staff are just as nice, and always help with a smile!
A great place.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jvk89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos also viewed

Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing