We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Niagara Falls KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Niagara Falls KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Very clean...very quiet. 2 gorgeous outdoor pools and 1 indoor. Nice little bar w/ a snack bar. bathrooms were nice and clean...There was a shuttle bus you could catch that cost $10 p.p. for a 24 hour time period. It would take you to the Falls and other places. You could ride it over and over w/in the 24 hour time frame. Staff was very helpful with information.Overall an\ very nice place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockinrobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 220 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have stayed 3 times so far with my family this summer. We get the value sites in the back that offer good tree canopy. It is also where the trains go by, but that is why they are cheap and we do not mind. The kids even run to the peep holes to watch them go by.

The staff is awesome. They are accommodating and ensure that there is no noise after midnight. Very pet friendly, with a little off leash park. Two outdoor pools, one indoor, a bounce pillow, good park and above average sites. They have always been accommodating if we were assigned an unsuitable site.

Great family fun.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadianCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

A Warning about this place and the idea of CAMPING:

This place is not for "Camping" or "Roughing it". This is a sort of mini resort like area where you can bring your own shelter along with you like tents, trailers, RV's or rent one of their cabins. It's very close to the city, right on the bus route which will take you right into the Niagara Falls attractions and tourism areas. There are motels on either side of it, train tracks at the back and a 4 lane main city street in front.

You most definitely do not go here to commune with nature. However, there's lots of opportunity to have a great time here. Especially if you have kids.

We stayed here Civic Holiday Weekend. It was quite busy on weekends, so book and set up your site early.

Kids

The wife and I don't have kids yet, and we weren't thinking of that when we booked our campsite, but we were quite impressed at all the activities for kids. They had this sort of rubber bouncy trampoline thing built into the ground for the kids which they all loved. Kiddie and Adult outdoor pool along with an indoor pool. The water was great. They were unsupervised, but they were decently maintained. A karaoke session on the weekend with almost everyone (mostly the teens) at the camp going and belting out their favorite songs. There were also 4 wheeled bikes for the kids to ride around the campsite. Every kid we saw there was having a blast, even in the pouring rain.

Our Campsite:

We stayed at T20 - tents with no electricity. There was plenty of shade and a fire pit. The site was missing a picnic table, but we called the staff and they were there in 15 minuted and grabbed us a new table no worries. We didn't have any problems with the site.

Essentially we used the KOA as a place to hang our hat while we went into NIagara to see all the different tourist traps. We had no problems with the security of our property while we were there, nor were we worried about it. Everyone seemed quite friendly and cheerful.

Food

We didn't eat here, other than our own food. However, we noticed that there was a small bar/restaurant at the main entrance of the camp. On Sunday morning it had a buffet going. It looked tempting to try, but we didn't have much time.

Bus Route - Getting into Niagara from the KOA without your car

It's very possible and quite convenient, if you don't mind waiting for a bus. We parked the car at KOA and took the bus into town for the attractions. The Bus stop was across the street and it cost around $11/adult for a day pass, which you can buy at the KOA office along with other attractions in and around Niagara Falls. It is important to note that this bus is the Niagara Falls Bus service and not the Niagara Parks bus service, so if you're going to see the Falls attractions and want to use the Niagara Parks People Mover, it's a different fare (another $12 for each adult for a 2 day pass). The bus across the street from the KOA - the RED Line takes you right into the heart of downtown Niagara Falls Tourism area as well as drops you off at one or two different Niagara Parks attraction hubs. The drivers seem friendly enough. Our one-day pass was well worth it.

Going to see the Falls?

Try the Niagara Parks People Mover. If you bought a package to see 4 or more Niagara Parks Attractions, then you'll want to take a seriously look at the People Mover. It's pretty convenient, runs every 15-30min and makes its stops at the attractions with a guide announcing interesting points on the way. The People Mover really saved us a lot of hassle in parking. While there is free parking around the attractions, there's not much of it, and tourists are walking all over the place, so it makes it a bit of a scramble to get a spot. The People Mover doesn't cover EVERY attraction - Laura Secord House, MacFarlane House and The MacKenzie Printery are out of luck for the people mover. However, there is plenty of parking in those locations and I found them to be somewhat more subdued/quiet and with much less foot traffic. Meanwhile all the main attractions are covered.

We paid $12/adult for a 2 day pass. It was worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smythers00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The location of the camp grounds is perfect in terms of getting to and from Niagara On the Lake or the Niagara Falls. It was mainly the reason that we choose this destination.

The campground was busy, their registration desks were also used to cash out purchases from the general store which meant long line ups especially during the long weekend. Many activities provided by the campground such as karaoke and movie nights went on late into the evening. That's why we were very surprised that their night time security guard seemed to have pinpointed our group as "troublemakers" and would passby our cabins regularly to tell us that we were too loud and could be heard from far away. Meanwhile other campsites were equally as loud (sometimes more loud) as we were and he would pass right by them.

He also did not speak to us very professionally, quite rudely in fact. He really ruined what would have otherwise been a perfectly fun vacation.

I don't think we will be visiting this camp ground again.

Room Tip: Better for smaller groups, as they are very strict with noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pixstix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We went on a week-end get-a-way with my wife and kids and a good friends with their infant. Overall everything here is family orientated, bathroom were clean and the best is you did not have to pay for hot water for your showers. Both myself and friends rented the camping cabin - same as all other for the double bed and bunk beds for the kids (we bring foam as these are a little to firm for us) these one also had a mini fridge which was awesome.
Lots of activities daily for the kids and a beautiful play ground for all ages, even us grown ups had a blast on the giant jumping pillow.
Down fall was the train that ran every 15 min, it was so loud and startle the baby - not so pleasent to try and sleep through aswell.
The pool kind of drove me nuts as it is not that big so when you trying to play with your kids there are bigger kids doing cannon balls, extreme splashing and what not. There is another kiddie pool but it is not that much fun for my 8 year old that wanted to swim in the deep end.
This is also a quick stop for a lot of travelling families - the park can get very busy with lots of setting up and tearing down.
I would take my kids here again but we will also continue to explore other camp grounds.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We booked our trip several months in advance and read many positive reviews on camping websites. We were not aware we booked over the Canada Day weekend. That was a mistake.
The good: 4 miles from the falls; a staff that very clearly enjoys their work and who were very helpful; and the typical KOA services. Loved that they had full hookups, picked up the trash seemingly around the clock and had tons of activities. We had a snag with our credit card and the staff helped us resolve it.
The not-so good: the price was high; there were people everywhere and those people did not seem to get the concept of moving so vehicles could pass. Nor of keeping track of their kids. Or dogs.The roads are tiny and hard to maneuver with a 35-foot trailer. We had a horrible time getting out of our site and it was supposed to be a pull- thru. The bathrooms were clean, but ancient. My 5-year-old was freaked out by the dark showers. The activities were plentiful but LOUD. Live music til very, very late. The bar on site had music blaring.
We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reinitaHolt_Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Spent two nights there this week with 24 14 to 16 year olds. We had a great time. Close enough to the Falls without being in the thick of the tourist scene. I had one of the cabins (the kids camped) and the only negative was that it was hot in the cabin for most of the night, but this was no fault of the campground. It was in the high 80's at midnight. Don't know what the complainers are on about with regard to cleanliness. I did not see any trash anywhere.

I would go back there any time.

Room Tip: If you are not camping you might want to try one of their new "lodges". Fully self contain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilGrindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel
4.0 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#4 of 128 in Niagara Falls
6,311 reviews
3.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niagara Falls KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niagara Falls KOA

Address: 8625 Lundy's Lane, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2H 1H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Niagara Falls
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campground close to many local attractions ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Niagara Falls Koa Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing