We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst service of our trip/mediocre food to boot.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra

Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra
Reserve with OpenTable
Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 549 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Canadian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Falls Avenue
Description: The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra (located at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Niagara Falls - Fallsview), features an unparalleled view of the majestic Falls and a rich history steeped with elegance and excellence extending more than 80 years. Offering an exquisite contemporary Italian menu, the Rainbow Room blends the playful spirit of Chef Massimo Capra and the on-going commitment to fine dining that has seen it play host to hollywood stars and International Royalty. To enhance the experience above the Falls, the Rainbow Room offers one of Niagara's best wine lists. Join us for Niagara Culinary Experiences-a series of showcase events featuring Chef Massimo Capra, special 5-course dinners with wine pairings from renowned wineries. New events just announced for 2015/2016. Visit our site for more information.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst service of our trip/mediocre food to boot.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were greeted by a very loud and unfriendly server who asked if we were using a coupon (we were), and loudly explained what the limitations and term were, to us as well as to every diner within a 20 foot radius. When we waited several minute for her to return to take our order, she informed us that she was ready to bring us drinks only and we would have to wait to submit our entire order (w/ our 3 hungry children). The kids' meals were brought our promptly, but my husbands and mine took another 20 minutes w/no apologies or stopping by to explain the delay. No one came by to ask if everything was ok and 3 snarky hostesses hung out at the front station and didn't even make eye contact when we left. I emailed the management our concerns but got no response. This is supposedly very high-end dining (read $35 and above per entree), and the food was mediocre at best. Skip it and try the Milestones at Marriot Gateway instead. At the very least they give you a cocktail and wine list and actually come back to take your order.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spgjmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    127
    62
    40
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT VIEW, SERVICE AND FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very clean, polite courteous server. Food was delicious. Had a window seat which gave a fabulous view of the Falls.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dianne644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edsion, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Awful service, go next door fallsview resturant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had our first day breakfast at falls view restaurant, it exceeded our expectations. Next day we wanted to try Rainbow room. Restaurant has last seating on 10.15AM, we arrived close to 10 AM. We met with most unfriendly waiters and hosts. Food was OK, not so much selection as in Falls view restaurant. We were still eating and staff started closing the counters and announcing that every thing will be closed in 5 min. Staff takes more than 5min to make 2 omelets, and when you have 10 omelet, it itself takes close 25 min. When with kids it takes close to an hour to finish breakfast. We have to feed kids and then ourselves and of course kids have there own washroom breaks. Over all the experience was not good, we were rushed and could not enjoy food nor the view. Had to ask many times for coffer, water, and juice.

Also note than window seating for two, if you are family and want window seating, go next door Sheraton hotel.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterBuEdsion_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not For Lunch”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Waited without breakfast to have great lunch here. When arriving we found out all tables facing falls were taken and set up for a tour coming in 1?2 hour after us. They had told me no reservations. Once again, they ha left menus in our room, but nothing on the menu is available if there is a tour. Only a buffett type meal where we did not eat. No sandwiches here

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cavegirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, awful service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I'll start by saying the food was good, not great, but better than average. The lamb, while good, was not worth $44. What made this whole dining experience just terrible, however, was the service. We had a 9:00 reservation and were not seated until 9:30 even though there were at least 5 empty tables that we could directly see. The wine list is very limited and when I sent back my pinot grigio (as it did not taste like a pinot grigio) no suggestion was made for a different type to replace it. When we were finally seated it took over 10 minutes until we had to flag down our server and then he became incredibly rude to us. It was apparent that he did not want to spend more than 5 seconds at our table. When I ordered a glass of wine he practically threw it on the table with such force that the wine came out of the glass. Finally we had to speak to a manager regarding it. One drink was taken off of our bill due to this treatment. One drink. I dont mind paying $150 for a nicer meal, however this was absurd. I cant believe Massimo Capra put his name on this place. Choose a different restaurant in Niagara Falls, this one is not even worth the view.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank curioustraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra also viewed

 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing