We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food!”
Review of Red Chateau

Red Chateau
Ranked #147 of 572 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: French, German, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Hours - Open at 5:00 P.M. See Actual Menu Only in Our Website.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous food!”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Wonderful Central European restaurant, and don't let the exterior fool you. Everything is homemade -- the meat is smoked on premises, the herbs and many vegetables are grown in the garden, the pickles, sauces, and bread are all homemade,as are desserts (including the ice cream), . . . . We had pickles, a salad, smoked meat, beef stroganoff, chocolate torte and apple struedel. It was delicious, particulalry the smoked pork (no nitrites). Jarmilla is the consumate hostess, and I am so glad we found this place given our limited time in the Niagara region. We'd come back in a heartbeat. Some may consider it pricy, but to a foodie it's well worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    17
    4
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Birthday Experience Ever!”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We were in the Niagara Falls area for my Birthday and going to Red Chateau to celebrate my dinner was the best idea ever! Red Chateau is nestled in a residential area away from all the tourists and sightseeing craze. It is perfect for a private dinner for two and has the perfect ambience.

We had not made any reservations however it is advised that you do make one. The hostess/server/chef (all in one!) was extremely accommodating even though we has just called 30 minutes earlier to let her know that we are on our way. The property was built in 1850 with the main floor being the restaurant (dining and a small bar). I was amazed with all the history that was passed down to us by the hostess. She was wonderful.

The iced wine, 2 chicken entree dishes and the torte for dessert (with a scoop of ice cream and 2 little strawberries from her garden) made my night to remember. It was such a private setting that I thought I was having a home cooked meal.

I highly recommend the Red Chateau and will definitely visit again in the future.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sssingh2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique and Delicious”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Despite the French name, Red Chateau serves wonderful East European food. The owner, who is also a hostess, a server and a chef, creates a very unique and intimate dining atmosphere - you are not a customer in the restaurant but rather a guest in her house. The food is superb; hearty, homemade East European dishes prepared with a depth and sophistication of a professional chef. You can’t go wrong with pretty much anything on the menu. Deserts and appetizers are also prepared in house. Most ingredients are locally grown/produced, many by the owner herself. It was definitely one of the most memorable dining experiences I have ever had. Not cheap, but worth it! If you like good food, be sure to go there. Call to make a reservation because there are only a few tables available per night.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Guru T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pound Ridge, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NOT French”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I visited Niagara this past week, and read that this was a French organic restaurant. NOT SO.. this is a goulash house... we have a great one nearby in Danbury, CT, where you can get a meal for 4 at roughly $10 / head. This is NOT a French restaurant or anything like it. This is place that serves tasty food, at an absurdly high price. We ate in Niagara on the Lake at the Peller vineyard, a 5 course tastings menu for LESS!! Absolutely no atmosphere... good solid organic food, perhaps... but pricing is not in line with reality. We spent $115.00 for two main courses, one piece of cake to share, a few bottles of Perrier, and two coffees. RIdiculous.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jkjdkcpoundridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood (Montgomery County), Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Home Cooking”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

On a Monday night in April, we called the Red Chateau around 8:30 p.m. to see if they were still open. Jarmila, the proprietor, cook, and waitress, told us she would stay open if we could get there soon, and we ended up with the cozy home all to ourselves. Everything is homemade, organic, and delicious––she grows much of her food in her garden. Try the mulberry drink; it's mulberry syrup with soda water. For appetizers, we had the garlic bread, which our 9-year old daughter loved. The cheese triangles and feta salad were terrific. For the main course, we had chicken paprikash with Czech dumplings, the veggie plate, and buttered pasta for our daughter. Jamila first offered a kiddie version of the weinerschnitzel. For dessert: a crepe with ice cream and the chocolate torte. With a glass of wine and a coke, the bill was $150. Not cheap, but certainly the best home cooking you will get in such a tourist destination. Very unpretentious but very real. Assuming she lives upstairs, we truly felt we were guests in her home.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tromba61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Chateau also viewed

Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 
 

Been to Red Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing