We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Falls were amazing, tour was average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of King Tours

King Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Over 20 years of experience! We are the only Niagara Falls tour operator that offers pick-up and return from ANY Toronto location. Our Niagara Falls tour is available all year round, each and every day of the year.
Emerald, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Falls were amazing, tour was average”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The day started with an early pick up, I was very surprised to get a phone call from our hotel reception informing us the tour operator was there 25 minutes before our allocated time as per the confirmation email. We rushed to finish our breakfast, feeling terrible we might be making the driver late for other pick ups ... We should have taken our time. Once in the car we then proceeded to drive around to 3 different hotels to pick up other passengers who weren't actually there!! There was clearly poor or no communication during the pick up despite our driver spending most of the drive talking on the phone (without hands free!) We arrived at the office an hour later without picking up anyone else quite frustrated then waited another 20 minutes before getting on the bus. The rest of the tour was OK, but if you want a good amount of time to spend at Niagara falls the choose another tour. With all the accessory stops we didn't get to Niagara falls until 2:30pm!! The 2.5 hours at the falls was very very rushed if you want to do any activities you really need more time. The commentary on the tour was nothing groundbreaking, you are made to feel that 15% tips are compulsory and overall I don't think we got value for money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank ZWhite89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    111
    52
    29
    37
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great family experience”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

It was a group of 7 and we had the experience of a lifetime. Salim was a great tour guide made it all a wonderful experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value for a day tour to Niagara”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Salim was our tour guide and he was absolutely fantastic. Because of the construction we ran late so we were rushed on most of the stops but Salim made up for it by his personal recommendations. He really is an amazing tour guide. Bus is dirty and old but worth it. I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank canadianwannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Poor experience with Kings Tours - no bus & no tickets”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Having researched and only having 1 day available to us to go to Niagara, we booked with Kings Tours after reading lots of reviews. On the day we got picked up at our hotel, actually ahead of schedule, but it all went downhill from there. We were all taken to Kings office, then told 1 of the 2 buses had a flat tyre so couldn't take us. Half the people stayed on the bus and the driver told us he wouldn't go anywhere until the replacement arrived, after about 15minutes and no word from anyone....he drove off.

We went inside and complained and were told another bus was on its way....eventually it turned up....Grayline Tours, which turned out to be a blessing as the tour guide on Grayline was lovely and we even got free bags with snacks & water in.

The fun of Kings Tours continued when we took our little slip of paper that Kings office had given us up to the ticket kiosk, only to be told they hadn't seen this before....we then realised a number of other people we recognised from our original kings tour - we asked what was going on, and a Niagara rep told us that Kings Tours had ran out of credit!!!!! We were given complimentary tickets, luckily, and continued our Niagara adventure (totally amazing and worth all the annoyance). Grayline took us back and we're dropping us back off at Kings but after everything we didn't want to risk it, so got off downtown.

I don't know if this was just a bad day/experience or what, but I'd advise looking at Grayline as they seemed a better company all-in-all.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Goodtimetraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Manager at King Tours, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
One of our buses had a flat tire the morning of the tour. This unfortunately does happen, even with new vehicles. In a situation like this, we use one of our other buses from the fleet or we work with other tour companies to assist. The community of Niagara Falls Tour Operators works closely together, and we do our best to help out stranded passengers. In this situation, we responded as quickly as possible and had you on another the tour bus in about an hour.

The blue tickets that you were issued were "King Tours" tickets, and not actual "Hornblower" boat tickets, so naturally you were not allowed admittance on the Hornblower boat cruise. We called Hornblower cruises, explained that you were travelling with another company and they were able to issue you complimentary tickets. In the future we will do a better job of letting the Hornblower Company know, so that they can anticipate and prepare for arrival of passengers in your circumstance.

I know that you were very disappointed with us. We apologize and we promise to be better prepared in future situations such as this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
“Niagara Tour”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The tour was fabulous with so many things to visit with a friendly and knowledgeable tour guide, Salim. He planned a visit to a winery as well as a short visit to the beautiful city of Niagara-on-the-lake. Salim has a lot of information about Toronto, Niagara-on-the-lake, and the falls. the tour contains a sweet pick-up from any point at downtown Toronto as well as a cruise on the falls with the Horn Blower. the only down side to me was the time we wasted to pick-up just two guys who had paid for the Helicopter tour.

Generally a fantastic tour and a friendly tour guide.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing