We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't even go in the parking lot! Unless you want a crazy lady to break your window!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rainbow Motor Inn
Ranked #104 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't even go in the parking lot! Unless you want a crazy lady to break your window!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We did not stay here, nor were we planning to... We had just left the Casino and decided to stop here to make a quick call before driving back home... Two minutes later, a old angry woman came out and starting knocking on our window really really REALLY hard! We put our window down and she starting yelling at us! She said that we needed to pay 5 dollars to park there... We did not even get out of our car!!! We told her we were not parking and that we were just making a call and she continued to yell and said we had to leave immediately or she was going to call the police. We were there of under 2 minutes!!!!!!!!!

This lady yelled at us and she did not even know if we were planning to stay there or not! What a way to scare off potential customers!!! Had I gone in with the intention of staying there, I would have left after such a 'warm' welcome.

I've never stayed in this place so I can't comment on anything other than the crazy lady who yelled at us. Either way, I would recommend you to stay far far far far far away from this place!!! I can't imagine the type of service one could get there! Stay somewhere else or even in you car... But do yourself a favour do not stay (or park) in this place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Biscayne, General Manager at Rainbow Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
I'm not sure as to the nature of this complaint. There is pay parking on site with a parking attendant. If someone comes onto the property and parks they are required to pay or leave. This is pretty much standard practice all over the world. There are also no stopping signs on the side of the street placed by the city of Niagara Falls. A person will receive a $50 ticket by the city even if stopped. If you have a room at the Inn then parking is usually free (a charge might apply during holidays)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    7
    5
    46
See reviews for
16
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canal Winchester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I would simply recommend that you do not check in to this hotel. We did, and then checked out 15 minutes later. The front lobby smelled like an animal had died in there. The room was filthy! Curtains falling down. Stains on the couch. The floor had not been cleaned, or vacuumed. There were cobwebs on the ceiling, and the refrigerator was dirty. The cleaning staff actually accused us of pulling the curtain down!!! The manager told us that this is what we should expect from a two-star hotel. I guess that I would at least clean! My recommendation is that you run from this motel, and run fast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Biscayne, General Manager at Rainbow Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
The Rainbow Motor Inn offers a 100% satisfaction guarantee. There is 24hr maid and 24hr maintenance service. If there is a problem with the room we will either fix the problem or change your room. If the customer is still not happy then we will give a refund (a 5 min. max time period given after check in). I'm surprised that the customer would still write a complaint and take pictures of fallen items after receiving a full refund. I guess the satisfaction guarantee is not satisfactory either.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We did not stayed there. But this morning on our way back home we had to stop somewhere to set our GPS as we cant do it while the vehicle is in motion. We had just stopped our vehicle and started to set the GPS when an older lady rushed to our vehicle and start claiming $5.00 for having stopped in their parking lot ( which was empty at the time ) . We tried to explained to her that we just stopped few second to set the GPS and we are leaving. She started to yell at us that this is a private property and we have to pay to park there.

kindly THANK her for her friendliness & hospitality & left to set our GPS somewhere else.

What a WONDERFUL way to receive tourists !!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank BigPAPAStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We have taken photos of our bed bug bites . We wish we could write something nice but after discovering over 60bed bugs bites on myself 40 of which were in a straight line on my back and 40 on my partners feet we have felt utterly disgusted. The place is very cheap but it's not worth it for the lack of hygiene and cleanliness! My partner has taken photos which we will upload. We could see the bed bugs when we peeled back the covers in the morning. We wouldn't recommend staying because of this. If u do stay here haggle the price and insist on the newer set of rooms on the left side as we did look at the ones on the right but they were very old and smelled horrendous. The guy on the desk was very friendly and helpful apart from that it was a dive. Just being honest! X x

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hellensmith27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Let's say this Motel has many downsides, and only 3 positives.
three positives are being close to the falls, to have free parking, up to 12 days later, and have free internet, then everything else is as described by other comments, though when I arrived the room was dirty, I get back from our walk we saw that the maid was gone, in my case, the bathroom was ok. the price is still high for a motel, ok we're in a tourist area in the summer, only recommended for a weekend visit to the falls.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

The first room we were given had ants in the bed, a broken a/c unit on the floor, a broken television and a working television, the phone had been ripped from the jack, and the headboard was stained.

When we asked for a refund we were told no refunds are given, and that we could change rooms free of cost.

When we got into our second room there were no ants, but stained headboard again, the smell of mold/mildew filled the room, and there was stains all over the bathroom. The shower/bath had not been cleaned and the towels were ancient and unusable.

The outside of the hotel was kept clean though, just the rooms were horrible.

We stayed here only because we had booked the Holiday Inn for 2 days and decided to stay a 3rd, but the holiday in, and most other hotels were booked since we were trailing into the weekend at this point.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn - Fallsview
Days Inn - Fallsview
#77 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ritz Inn Niagara & Wedding Chapel
Ritz Inn Niagara & Wedding Chape...
#60 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Fallsview
Comfort Inn Fallsview
#47 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#13 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Stone Inn Boutique Hotel
Old Stone Inn Boutique Hotel
#34 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Diplomat Inn
The Diplomat Inn
#74 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Motor Inn

Property: Rainbow Motor Inn
Address: 5581 Murray St, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 2J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rainbow Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation. Reopening summer of 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Rainbow Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Motor Hotel Niagara Falls
Rainbow Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing