We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't live up to the hype”
Review of AG

AG
Reserve with OpenTable
AG is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 560 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ellen Ave.
Description: Located in the Sterling Inn & Spa in the heart of Niagara Falls AG Inspired Cuisine serves regionally and seasonally inspired cuisine. This acclaimed fine dining restaurant is consistently rated one of the best in Niagara Falls. Chef's menu utilizes the freshest local ingredients, and is constantly changing to offer the best of Niagara's Produce. To complement the regional menu, the wine list at AG is 100% VQA and represents the best wineries of the region. The intimate dining room at AG is best described as chic and romantic, and is the ideal choice for couples looking for a romantic dining experience. The unique atmosphere at AG is posh and refined, while still being the perfect place for a casual gathering of friends for dinner or drinks. Two private rooms can accommodate groups of between 8 and 50 and may be reserved for special events and larger groups. Contact the restaurant directly.
Somers, New York, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the hype”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying that I feel very badly that I can't rave about this restaurant. I read that many liked the ambiance . I found it very dark. It had white furniture and red walls, not sure what they were going for. There is no host or bartender, the wait staff does it all, took a while to get my drink. We got the bone marrow and salad as appetizers. One bone had almost nothing in it and salad was average. Did not like the amuse bouche at all, trout tartar. Main courses were good, parparadelle and beef Wellington. The beef was $37. I'm sure the filet is expensive but that was a bit shocking. The location is good and has parking. Unfortunately we were not that impressed with this restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Avery V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,258
    221
    67
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Miles from NYC, a meal worthy of distinction”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Sterling for a night and, instead of walking around looking for a restaurant, decided to stay right where we were. Great call on our part! AG was a true culinary masterpiece from the non-alcoholic libations to the service, everything was perfect. We enjoyed some of the local delicacies that Niagara had to offer and were pleased with how the chef pairs them with seasonal notes. The setting was warm and comfortable and everyone seemed pleased to help. The only minor flaw was that it took a server about 15 minutes to greet us, but after dining here, that was quickly forgotten.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank faithm225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just a bad night?”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have visited our local 5 diamond restaurant (Herb Farm in Seattle area) several times and in comparison I guess the one diamond makes a big difference? We weren't in any hurry for the meal but it was really awkward at the beginning because we were completely unacknowledged. We couldn't figure out if it was the area we were seated at but the server would come down the aisle and see us looking at her and literally turn and go the other way. We thought maybe we weren't sitting in her area.
Apparently we rubbed her the wrong way because she was indeed our server after all was said and done and we were told finally that she would be over shortly to help us and when she came we received a cranky comment on if we were in a hurry or not. Honestly all I wanted was some water since we had been walking around a lot during the day. We spent a lot of money that night which made her significantly nicer towards us but we watched her with a family a few tables away and she was extremely interactive with them, overly helpful and very friendly. For us, service can make or break a meal and in the end, the food was pretty good and I've always loved the farm to table approach but I would never choose to go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mungsprout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchville, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing like this in the world!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are going out as a couple and want a meal that is remembered, come here...NO kids here, only couples! If you look at the menu online, you will see what they have to offer! We had the Ontario duck and rabbit and rib eye steak! What they put with it would shame all those restaurants that put frozen veggies on your plate! There is nothing like what the chef made! My husband would have licked the plate if it wasn't bad manners! The gravy and potatoes with the steak was THE BEST he'd ever had and well worth the money. You can request a song from the live musicians to make it even more romantic! They bring you home made everything from the venison sausage appetizers, cinnamon raisin bread, to the salad made with fresh herbs and special cheeses! IT IS WELL WORTH THE MONEY YOU SPEND! The person who fixes the tables did it meticulously to make sure the table cloth was straight and fresh for the next person. They have individual table waitresses who tell you what you ordered in a very fancy way. You will feel like you are a millionaire! Want to impress someone, take them here! Make a reservation though or you won't get in! No shirt and tie required but nice casual! They even call you to confirm your reservation to the place isn't over crowded and your food comes as quick as you eat the course (of COURSE is is a 5 course meal that has dessert!) Our final bill was over $100 for 2, including dessert (no wine) A bit pricy, but we only do this once a year!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“'Best of Ontario' Dining”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Outstanding service, best-of-Ontario, farm-to-table restaurant. This was the perfect place to have a nice dinner for our 28th wedding anniversary. The AG is a fine dining experience, not cheap, the place to make that special occasion one never to forget. This is not merely a place to eat, but a place to "have an experience" of fine dining. Extraordinary cuisine, detailed service, civilized to the max.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AG also viewed

Niagara Falls, Ontario
 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to AG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing