We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at the Falls” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview
Ranked #31 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Orono, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Falls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

We had a great stay at this property. It is an older property with lots of historical charm which is lacking in other properties in the area. It is right across from the falls with a beautiful view and close walking distance to everything. The staff was very friendly and let us check in early to our room since we were going shopping across the border for the day. I personally did not eat at the restaurant but a fellow traveler did and said it was "fantastic food". This is good hotel is you want a quaint and more personal experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    513
    344
    186
    152
See reviews for
644
723
57
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

I can't tell you how disappointed we were staying at your Crowne Plaza hotel…and man do we ever regret it! It will never happen again!!

First of all my daughter booked the all couples package for our 23rd Anniversary...which included wine testing coupons (which was nice a $10 per person tour), spa discount of $40 but had to spend at least 150-200 dollars to get the discount. Dinner at Massimos restaurant that we didn't take advantage of cause it was book all the time..and heard from another couple that it was very over priced and the food was tasteless. A coupon for 2 free cocktail at the Hard Rock Café, which they didn't honor because they said cocktails are beer and wine. My husband and I don't drink beer or wine but regardless that the voucher says cocktail and not drink like beer or wine. The waitress said that beer and wine are the only thing that you can get for free, but she will ask the manager if you can get cocktails. We waited for over 10mins and nobody showed up to say anything to us…the place was empty so I can't see how they couldn't come back to us and say something for almost 15mins. We didn't even order my husband was so upset that we ended up leaving and they didn't even care.

Once we got back to the hotel we went to the desk and explained all this to them and all they could say is "cocktails are beer and wine", but clearly on the voucher it said cocktail and they couldn't do anything for us. One of the ladies said that she will address this to the marketing department that prints the vouchers and that was that! We paid over $100, if not more, for the couples package and we didn't get anything that was even close to worth it. Once they gave us our room cards, we went in there thinking "cant wait to see the view they promised" cause we asked for a falls view. When we walked in the room it was so tiny that we had to put our luggages on the table. There was a bad smell in the air , stains on the carpet the toilet was tasty and had black ring around it, the air conditioner was making a ticking noise the sheets were all wrinkled and looks like a kid made the bed and the window over looking the falls was a joke...it was the size of a jail cell window. We were so upset that we called and mentioned our concerns to the desk. They said they will move us to another in a few minutes, they would call us back. This tech guy came and looked at the air conditioner...we asked him if somebody else was coming to give us our new room card and he said "I'm just the tech guys, ummmm..I don't know??!" that was so disturbing that he could talk to us that way?! After a few minute another guy came to give us our new room keys…he just handed them to us and that was that. No apology, no "may I help you to your new room". He just looked at us like a bunch of idiots. He ignored us completely and just went to see the tech guy. My husband mentioned to him that the toilet needs to be changed because its not that its dirty but it's scrubbed so much that it's turned black and all he could say was ahha! What nice service…unbelievable! When we got to our "New" room it was exactly the same excluding the black toilet stain and the air conditioner wasn't making any noises. The sheets were the same, the stains on the carpet were even worse. Also your towels were as hard as sand paper. I can't tell you how disappointed we are!

I have received better service from motels than from the "Crowne Plaza"! Our room was over $640 dollars for the 2 nights?!!! sooooo over priced!!! I can't get over it and the service was unbelievably disappointing. I will never ever, ever stay in another Crowne plaza! Can't believe the service and the accommodations!!

Just to let you know that we stayed at the Hilton Fallsview in August and the hotel and service was amazing and we paid half the cost. We love Niagara Falls but I will make sure I stay at the Hilton from now on!

Your disappointed customers!!

Room Tip: Disappointing, dirty, not worth the price, service was bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Effie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Effie T,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry that you received service that was less-than-satisfactory and regret any inconvenience that your experience has caused you.
We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

I recently had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Had booked a room with two double beds, but when I showed up at the registration desk and asked about a room with two queen beds (much more comfortable for my family of 4!), the friendly hotel staff upgraded me to a suite level room, with queen beds in separate rooms, and an outdoor terrace overlooking the falls. They also let us make our entry passes to the attached waterpark effective next day, which meant we could take advantage of it longer. Could not have had a more enjoyable experience or more helpful staff. Hotel is older, and as a result, somewhat quirky (ex: had to take a second small elevator to get to the suite level, and that elevator wasn't working when we were there!), but in my view this just adds to the hotel's charm. Great place to stay with family.

Room Tip: Ask for falls view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We spent one night here while on a road trip. We checked in early in the morning, so our room was not ready, which was fine. We had a tour planned, so we did the tour and returned to check into our room. When we arrived we were told several other people with our surname had checked in and they weren't certain if they gave our room to them. The manager then told us that he would upgrade our room for the inconvenience. We had a nice king size bed with a balcony overlooking the falls! What a surprise!

The hotel is older, but is impeccible. The room was clean and very comfortable. This was the type of experience that you wish you could have stayed an extra day, but we had other obligations.

The location is close to many of the the attractions and walking distance to restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UnoMasFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Hotel had great views, close to everything and nice interiors. However, the Crown Plaza’s staff needs to be better trained in customer service. Every time I tried to ask for directions, to use the business center or just a general question it felt like I was being a bother. In order to get attention I often had to interrupt the staff conversations and information given to me was either wrong or solid no without any suggestion to fix the issues. I might have been because I am young (early 20’s) or because I stayed in the hotel right after the summer tourist rush, but still it was unprofessional.

Other things I didn’t agree with in this hotel were:
- Internet cost $10 a day to use
- High staff traffic and loud surroundings in the business center and lobby
- Unhelpful staff

I would stay at this hotel again however my expectation for excellent customer service will be lower.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elephantmanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Got a free upgrade upon arrival to a suite with a spa. No complaints here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mel_emerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
395 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Formerly the Brock Skyline, this historic property has great views of both falls. Gorgeous interiors, nice restaurant on top floor. Complimentary wine for platinum members? Yes! 10/10

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bensagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.9 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
1.0 mi away
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview

Property: Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview
Address: 5685 Falls Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 6W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Niagara Falls
#8 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic elegance at the Falls. The AAA/CAA rated 3-Diamond/4 Star fallsview hotel is located directly across from Niagara Falls, in the heart of the tourist district. The Crowne features indoor connections to Casino Niagara, Fallsview Indoor Waterpark, and the attractions, entertainment and dining options located on the 20 acre Falls Avenue Resort. A getaway at the Crowne is a rewarding experience in part a result of first class amenities, spectacular fallsview guestrooms & suites, and exquisite fallsview fine dining at The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview Hotel Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing