We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cozy and Awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Gables Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Gables Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 66 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darien Center, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

This was our first time doing a bed and breakfast, and we weren't sure what to expect. Joe and Yvette were EXTREMELY friendly and kind. In the morning Yvette also cooks you a very delicious breakfast, with homemade yogurt! You can tell she is very proud of her establishment and she wanted to make sure we had a good time and enjoyed ourselves. Joe gave us directions of a local street fair which had art shows, live music, games, and other fair-like things, cheaper prices than the niagara falls area, and also gave us directions on how to get to Cliffton Hill in Niagara Falls Area. The place was adorable and in walking distances of pretty much everything. The house was beautiful, a Victorian Manor. It had a porch to eat on and a back yard to play and relax in. They also had a cute little pond with coyfish. The neighborhood was extremely quiet and had a country atmosphere (that is how quiet is was!). The neighborhood also felt extremely safe. it was a very great first experience at a bed and breakfast, and we are already planning our next visit at this same location with more people!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite has a jacuzzi, and fireplace. Also very cheap compared to other honeymoon suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    23
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
116
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We often stay in bed and breakfasts when travelling, and this one was great! Individual window air conditioner so we could control our own temperature was a highlight...our weekend was hot! Beautiful fish pond with birds chirping was a delightful change from the chaos of Clifton Hill...
Our hosts were very accommodating of our request to arrive early and park so that we could cycle to Niagara-on-the-Lake and back before checking in and cleaning up for dinner at the Falls.
Breakfast was fresh, delicious and served with coffee and smile. What more could you ask for?!?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HJEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

The mist off Niagara Falls is so cooling that even on warm day; it's pleasant at Blue Gables. Older Home, Bed and Breakfast, what else do you need to read. Ok, a few more things. It is an older home, but from what I witnessed all the B&B's in Niagara are converted homes. This one is easy to find, about 100 years off the river and about a mile or so into town. The rooms are nice, decent sized for an older home Bedroom. Some of the rooms have their own bath attached, others use a community bath. Bed was comfortable, place was clean and attractive. There is coffee/tea maker available for anytime drinks and 1 1/2 friges available to store your own purchases. There are seating areas outside beside the house with a Coy Pond. The owners are Yvette and Joe, it's Joe's Coy pond and he is very knowledgeable.

Both owners were very knowledgeable concerning the area, local delis, bike and hiking paths. Be sure to ask then for any thing you are seeking, they probably know far better than what can be found via an internet search. Yvette and Joe are an interesting pair, Yvette loves the company and is very, very talkative. Not in a bad way!

Come and go as you please. Was given a key to front door and bedroom, so was able to come and go at my schedule which included a late night and early, early morning visit to the Falls.

Blue Gables (BG) is a 5 based on price and location. There are some rather high prices for the area, but BG met all expectations and the breakfast exceeded some. Yvette makes her own yogurt, not too sweet and no bitter after taste. She also does mini muffins with a center that is put in halfway thru the cooking cycle. Sorry, Yvette I gave up your secret. There is a more complete breakfast after the yogurt and muffin.

Wi-Fi, very important to me was part of the package, so if you do have to stay in touch, you can.

There are other B&B's in the area so the environment is rich for comparison. BG was just what I wanted it to be, a clean place to spend the night, decent food and a relaxing attmosphere

Room Tip: There are several size rooms to choose from, #2 was fine for me, small shower only item I would chan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBZBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We researched a bit before we decided on this great place. Yvette was really hospitable and let us choose a room to our liking. Everything was well laid out for us and the jacuzzi in the honeymoon suite was very romantic. The breakfast time is very reasonable at 9am, and the homemade yogurt was fantastic as well as the breakfast, which was french toast with fresh fruit. We had our own private entrance and we never felt like we were being shooed out. We actually liked it more than the hotel we stayed at afterwards, and would definitely do it again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joram N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, ON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

My wife and our 2 friends just celebrated New Years Eve in the Falls and decided to stay at a bed and breakfast this time. We go to Niagara Falls regularly and usually stay in the middle of all the hype but this time wanted something different....boy are we glad we did!!
Yvette and Joe are the best hosts you could ask for and treat you like family right from the start. The rooms have just very recently been renovated and they are just beautiful and very clean. Each room has their own private bathroom, so no sharing required! The "coffee room" upstairs for the early risers is a great addition as well. This bed & breakfast gives you full access to most of the house with a livingroom on the main level which is nice if you are travelling with family and friends to get together relax. The beds are comfortable and each room has a TV and alarm clock so you don't miss breakfast !! Renovations have just been completed as I mentioned and pillows may still be on the list of upgrades. So if you are fussy on your pillow, you may want to bring your own.
Yvette gave us a heads up that she was going to have homemade yogurt in the morning to start with, however, it was more than just regular yogurt!!! It was AMAZING, I would describe it as "heaven in a bowl"!! She also made us a very special "New Years Day breakfast" that included stuffed crepes, slow roasted back bacon and fresh fruit plus croissants and fresh from the bakery, Cannoli.
We took a cab to the festivities for New Years Eve and for less than a $10 ride we were right down by the Falls. It would be a very nice leisurely walk during the summer months I'm sure.
This is a great B&B for anyone looking for a worry free stay in a place where you feel at home.
We will definitely return....if not for anything else, the homemade YOGURT!!! :)

Room Tip: All rooms have their own private bathroom, however 1 room the bathroom isn't located in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhotoGuy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

my husband and i spend a wonderful weekwnd at blue gables.The hostess Yvette is very pleasant andvery helpful.The breakfast is just dilicious,good quality of food.Yhe bedroom are nice and clean and verybright and roomy.Just a nice walk to the fallsVery relazing athmosphere,I would recommend it to everybody,great experience.

Room Tip: room with a view and lots of light
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Blue Gables Bed and Breakfast ...Yvette the hostess was extremely pleasant felt right at home and at ease i will be returning for sure ...breakfast was delightful ...extremely clean which was very nice couldn't be more pleased i would recommend this B&B to everyone ..very satisfied

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynnGe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
1.9 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast
Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 66 in Niagara Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accommodations Niagara Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Always Inn Bed & Breakfast
Always Inn Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 66 in Niagara Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Gables Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gables Bed & Breakfast

Property: Blue Gables Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4305 Simcoe St, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 1T5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Gables Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic B&B, built originally in 1876. Twenty minutes walk to the fall. We have four large bedrooms, each with queen size beds, air conditioning and private baths, two cozy sun rooms, one large dining room, and an inviting family room with fireplace to relax in. Come to see and feed the fish in our tropical koi pond! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Gables Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing