We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average large pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Failte Irish Pub

Failte Irish Pub
Ranked #248 of 1,648 Restaurants in Mississauga
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Irish, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
“average large pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

over crowded, no dance floor, awkward layout in stage area. Good service, but expensive, not having coat check can be awkward when there is no where to sit. popular meeting place to be a sardine at night time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    8
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Level Contributor
369 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 584 helpful votes
“Failte a Failure”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a local pub which has been around a LONG time and caters to the daily business office towers in the neighbourhood. It is probably also busy with the weekend pub traffic as it offers an interesting Irish decor.
In the dark it would appear to be quite quaint and unique but the daylight reveals a bit of a worn out facility with a menu which is surviving on its past. The food is mediocre at best and doesn't warrant any future returns from our group.
The servers are prompt, polite and courteous but what they bring from the kitchen is now below standards of the usual pub grub fare.
Philly Cheese Steak sandwiches, although presented nicely were bland tasting at best. The roast beef was flavourless and did not pick up even after a serious application of salt and pepper. The fries were fries but the onion rings were NOT "...the best..." as touted by our server. They were over fried and had a tasteless breading.
The steak sandwich was served on stale, hard bread and not crisp, warm and crackling as fresh would be. The steak was tough, served on the rare side of medium-rare as requested and had a big chunk of gristle in the centre. Technically, our bad, as we SHOULD have sent it back.
In the future this place ranks an "Erin Go BYE BYE" from us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bad food, bad beer”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I decided to have lunch here on a Friday afternoon. We ordered some local beers and pub fare. Our beer had gone off and tasted like the taps had never been cleaned.
Our food was almost as bad as the beer. The fries were soggy and under cooked. Very disappointing.
Strongly recommend trying a different restaurant in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank KatieLynn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friday Regular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

A friend and I have found this to be our favourite place to unwind on a Friday after work. Good selection of pub fare, decent pints, not too pricey, and lots of alternatives if you're not in the mood for anything deep fried. The same staff have worked there for as long as I've been a patron, and there is sometimes live music, plus various holiday and sporting events. They also have happy hour deals on select appetizers and drinks daily. My workplace uses Failte's to host staff parties several times a year and they have never disappointed! It's friendly, comfortable, and the service is consistently reliable! The back room is a nice venue for a small "catered" but more private party. My only caution would be: go when you aren't in a rush and have time to sit and enjoy. It is not a face-paced venue, so if you are looking for a quick "in and out" pint and meal, this probably isn't the right place for you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DellaSauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Irish eyes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

great irish pub with good food and excellent service. Has that
great irish atmosphere about it. Good entertaninment in
the evenings.

Helpful?
2 Thank julian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Failte Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Failte Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing