We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chinese Restaurant with Clean Washrooms”

Summit Garden Restaruant
Ranked #119 of 1,664 Restaurants in Mississauga
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
149 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Chinese Restaurant with Clean Washrooms”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We picked this place because it was closed to Hwy 401; and the review was not too bad either.
It was Saturday round 11:30 AM. The parking lot was not full; and the place still had plenty of room. The service was very good. Ladies were pushing carts full of Dim Sum. A lot of them couldn't speak Cantonese.
Food quality was excellent. We ate everything that we wanted. Price was very competitive with other Mississauga Chinese restaurants. The real surprise was that its washrooms were maintained very clean and modern.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank watsonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    60
    15
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“BBQ counter NO SERVICE UNPROFESSIONAL, Inexcusable”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My family & friends are regulars here but after the rude, unprofessional manner I was treated when waiting atthe bbq counter to get 2 measly lbs of bbq pork, I will re-think this relationship. Neither of the owners, Ken or Lawrence, were there. I rang the bell for service twice in 5 min. No one came. I asked the tall, Chinese maitre d for service. He said they'll be right there. 2 more min. No one came. I asked him again. He rudely tells me all kitchen staff are having lunch & could I wait another 5-10 min.? He came across as if he didn't need my business! Maybe not for 2 lbs of bbq pork but what about 23 yrs of patronage to the restaurant with friends/ family? Skip this bbq counter. Food is only ok, nothing special. Service only decent when one of the owners is present. Too bad.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank familyfunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Big celebration; or NOT”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

After nearly 13 months of living in our new condo, we finally were able to register our Deed. So since we had waiting for some maintenance folks to finish up their work on our balcony, we headed out to Summit Garden. The tea was great but everything else was below average particularly since we arrived before noon when the food should have been perfectly fresh! The shell on the 4 deep fried shrimp was noticeably over done, hence tough to chew. The fung choy was not any better and made me wish we were back on Summerside in Ottawa where everything is made with love and skill NWS a few mouse poop on the baby's high chair. Try the one at mavis and eglinton where they know how to do BBQ pork. Well guess this enough for you to get the overall impression we had.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank finicula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Dim Sum”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I often go to Summit Garden for their Dim Sum. At lunch time it's always busy so visit early or little bit late to avoid the crowds!

Their dumplings made with seafood is delicious especially shrimp dumpling (Hao Gao) and also their pork dumplis are good too.

Don't forget to try almond puddings with fruits as they are absolutely the best! Pudding is very smooth and creamy and not too sweet, just right.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MihoKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible and rude service, dirty, food tasted ok”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Upon arrival it took a long time to be acknowledged. We used to go fairly regularly, but the last time we went a year ago the service was poor, staff rude, and food ok. We decided to give it another try because of the convenience.

Well, it was the same story again. We almost left because we were left standing at the door unacknowledged. Then we sat down, tea came and we were asked if we were ready to order. We hadn't had a chance to even open the menus.

The menu is hard to figure out, so we just went with the dinner for two. When the soup came, the pepper was put down so hard I thought we were at the casino and someone was banging their chips on the table. The meal itself was ok. Not great, not bad. For dessert, they didn't give us the choice that was listed in the menu, just brought us almond something that looked and tasted like almond paste or glue. We couldn't eat it. The bill was thrown on the table without a word, and worst still when we paid the bill the portion that came out of the machine was literally, not figuratively, thrown down on the table with a flick like it was garbage without a word. Not a thank you, good evening, nothing.

Considering they are in the hospitality business, it is hard to imagine how they stay in business.

If you are looking for a pleasant atmosphere and folks that appreciate your business - go elsewhere!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank achieve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summit Garden Restaruant also viewed

 
Mississauga, Ontario
Mississauga, Ontario
 

Been to Summit Garden Restaruant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing