We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, but not much else”

Miga Korean & Japanese Bbq Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 1,661 Restaurants in Mississauga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Korean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto
Level Contributor
361 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Good value, but not much else”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Have eaten here a few times over the year since my wife and daughter like the place, but feel it's going downhill. The sushi was never anything special, but the Korean BBQ and dishes were pretty good.
However I felt on our latest visit that the food quality is declining. Prices are good and they give you small dishes as starters, but everything was kind of bland and not great quality. Service was fine, atmosphere is eh, place generally looks pretty well worn. Suspect it needs a pretty thorough refresh and we'll wait until after that to return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Real_FoodieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    32
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Don't stop, keep going”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The menu has both Korean and Japanese items on the menu. The prices are on the high end for this kind of restaurant. Unfortunately the food is substandard and tasteless. We ate only a portion of our meals and left hungry and disappointed. There are many other Korean and Japanese restaurants in the area that are much better value. I will not visit again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank my2cents4free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY . . .or just go to Mandarin instead”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went here for my 40th b-day with 12 family members.
The GOOD : . . . . . .

The BAD: No one to greet customers at door.....service very very slow and several mistakes with drink, even food items...I was given a salmon roll instead of a lobster roll and even when brought to servers attention, they claimed I didnt know the difference..turns out it WAS wrong...
BEST PART - oil (or something) was dripping from ceiling into my daughters food ! ! ! When brought to their attention, they suggested half of my party go into another room!!! NO DISCOUNT ON BILL FOR ALL OF THIS......I suggest ANYWHERE else...I feel like I turned 41 waiting for the food...VERY over priced - they claim to be a japanese place but only have a few japanese options in the appetizer section...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moldy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No more lunch buffet”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This by far is the beat Korean BBQ restaurant in mississauga and maybe in the GTA. Quality of food, amazing service and selections are second to none. Previously lunch was an all you can eat, with table service (you order off the lunch menu and they keep bringing your orders to the table) they had Korean lunch dishes along with fresh sushi. A real delight. and very reasonably priced $16 per person. We went this week and they stopped the lunch buffet, so one has to order alla carte from the menu, which can make a business lunch or casual lunch very expensive. Dont get me wrong the food is AMAZING, as is the service, but we loved the mix of Korean and Japanese cuisine for lunch, which we cannot have anymore :(
if you want quality, this is the place and never dissapoints. try it you will enjoy the Korean cooking tables

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eugenio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great Korean BBQ without going to downtown TO”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Miga is very easy to get to; just get off the 403 at Dundas St and head east, and it's just past Winston Churchill Blvd. They have a wide selection of prepared Korean dishes; but if you want a fun night out, go for the BBQ. You can order separate items for the BBQ, but I suggest that you order the combos for your first visit. They have combo sizes for 2, 3, 4, 6, and 8 which include a variety of marinated meats, traditional side dishes, miso soup, and rice and the combos have enough food for the number in the group. They also change the grill often so that you can have a clean cooking surface. It's a great, authentic experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miga Korean & Japanese Bbq Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Miga Korean & Japanese Bbq Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing